Inspiration versus Imitation

You can’t please everyone. The fact that this holds true in the blog world, too,  was shown to me when I received a comment by an anonymous reader recently. He asked whether I had set out to create a blog that was – I quote – a “BAAADDD” imitation of Amanda’s. At first I felt sad and offended. My mind – which is used to me overthinking in anyway – kept churning this for hours. But at the end of the day I was calmed down and had found positivity in this.

Why? Because the commenter inspired me to think about the thin line between inspiration and imitation.Talking to Amanda who assured me she didn’t feel offended by my blog – thanks for this, Amanda!

 Adapted version of the Pumpkin Coconut Rice from Peachy Palate – one of my favourite sources of recipes.

I know for sure I didn’t intend for my blog to be a – bad or else – copy of Amanda’s or anybody else’s. What I can say, though, is that her blog is truly inspiring to me – as are others. She’s a talented writer and I enjoy that her posts are touching deep, thought-provoking topics rather than being shallow. Whenever I write something I intend for it to be something I’d enjoy reading – be it an article, a letter – yes, I do still write them – or a blog post. So that’s why it might seem like I was trying to imitate the one or the other person’s style while I don’t mean to. I’m sorry if I offended anyone with my blog. Please let me know if you feel this way!

Finally got to enjoy one of my favourite Fall desserts again: Single-serving Apple Crumble adapted from Liz’ blog. My picture doesn’t do it justice.

I don’t mindfully try to imitate a certain writer’s style but rather develop my own style taking inspiration from here and there along the way. Be it an article in the newspaper, a book I read, the language of somebody I talked to or a blogger. While I think I’ve – more or less – found my own style in my mother tongue it’s like starting completely anew in English. My German style of writing and speaking has been in development ever since I was a little girl.  I couldn’t tell you how many writers and other people – starting from my parents – must have influenced me even if I wanted to. It’s entirely different in English, though, as I’m not regularly reading English newspapers and – unfortunately – am only getting the chance to talk to English speaking people every so often. Therefore I get my inspiration mostly from the blogs I read.

Crumbling once more with a creation of my own: A savoury vegetable casserole topped with vegan cheesy crumbles.

Fitting in with the theme of inspiration versus imitation the pictures in this post show dishes I had lately. One “imitated” as in following somebody else’s recipe, on inspired as I adapted it and one being my own creation. Sorry for the overall bad photography – I’m still learning.

Inspiration from others isn’t limited to the way I write or speak like. It can be found in every part of daily life. Whether it’s in terms of clothes – I’ve been known to address people on the stress asking where they got a certain piece of clothing from –, food or general way of life. As for the latter I don’t aspire to be like any famous person. The most inspiring person in my life? My mum – always has been, always will be.

Where do you get inspiration from – be it in terms of writing, food or else wise? Have you ever felt like touching the line between inspiration and imitation?

Who/what is your biggest inspiration in life?

15 thoughts on “Inspiration versus Imitation

  1. I just found your blog and my gosh…. where have I been! I’m a new fan! Ill definately be following you and offering anything I can! All my best xoxoxo. Ps. Do u have twitter or facebook?

  2. Hey there! I just found your blog and I love it. We are soooo similarits scary.! Ill be following and hopefully ill be able to offer you any help I can. Your blog hs already been quite a source of insight and comfort for me.All my best xoxoxo ps do u have facebook or twitter?

  3. That’s a really hard question about imitation vs inspiration. I always have to ask myself that when I try out someone’s recipe and I change a few things but I don’t know if I can actually post it on my blog as my own recipe. I love trying out new recipes but I don’t want to seem like I’m copying someone!

  4. this is a great post girl! I think that inspiration is a GREAT thing and it’s kind of unavoidable in life. We are inspired by our parents’ way of talking so we follow them in that sense, or we can be inspired by a painter and choose to start painting and become great at it! It’s all about letting ourselves BE ourselves, yet gleaning bits and pieces from other people. :D And I love your blog layout, it’s soooo cute! And oman I love polka dots…your polka dress looks adorable and I really wish I could see the whole outfit. ;)

    • Aww, thanks, Ellie! Maybe I’ll post the whole oufit one day. Once I get more comfortable with myself – and get a proper mirror :D!

    • Thanks, Brittany! I’ll definitely try to keep your advice in mind. I think I’m just too easily agitated by comments like that.

  5. oh man! i have gotten so many terrible anonymous comments! it comes with the territory of having a blog! I try to take what I can that may be constructive criticism, but otherwise I just try to DO ME, and forget about the rest. that’s all you can do! there will always be people that are jealous and mean!

    on another note! great dishes! the single serve apple crisp sounds delightful!!!

  6. Don’t mull too hard over this…just write whatever you feel and all else will fall into place. The question of imitation vs. inspiration is a tough one, and I honestly don’t think there’s a clear distinction between the two. We shouldn’t need to make a distinction anyway! If there was no inspiration in the blog world then there wouldn’t be very many blogs out there, right? So ignore that mean comment and be happy that you have a beautiful blog with lovely blogger friends :) Great post!

Leave a Reply

