Happy New Year and setting [realistic] goals

Happy New Year to all of you! Orchids

First off, I want to thank each and every one of you. 2012 was the year I finally brought up the courage to start a blog – I was afraid nobody would want to read – and I don’t regret it a single bit. The blog community is full of amazing people. I’m so thankful to have gotten to know all of you. Thanks for your sweet, supportive, encouraging and inspiring mails and comments! Each of them brought a smile to my face, made me feel understood and gave me strength when I needed it. Especially following through with my Christmas bucket list was a lot easier knowing I had your support so thanks once more.

Christmas starts

Yes, I know I might be a bit late but I’d still like to chime in on that one topic: New Year’s intentions. Making resolutions and setting goals to work towards isn’t per se a bad idea in my opinion. It’s the details I needed to rethink.

In the past I’d set goals like “getting rid of my ED” or “become an organized person”. I’m an all-or-nothing person: It’s either doing it all the way or not seeing it as an achievement. Unsurprisingly, I failed on them. Striving for smaller goals never seemed enough for me. But too ambitious or unrealistic plans set you – or at least me – up for frustration. You can’t plan on when to be fully recovered or when to reach a satisfying degree of organization.

Garden

 

Does failing to achieve your goals at the end of one year mean I’ll never reach them?  But really, what else but the beginning of a new month does January 1st mark? Yes, way back in time somebody decided that it also marked the start of a new year. But like Amanda said in yet another great post: I’m still the same person in this new year. The goals I set still exist and can be followed over the course of however long it takes me to reach them.

Granted, I won’t be able to make up for my failed attempt at winning an Olympic Gold medal in 2013 ;). [Hey, nobody told me procrastination wasn’t an Olympic discipline yet!] But at least I got to interview an Olympic Gold medal winner while interning at a fitness magazine so maybe that counts :D?

Leaving the safe harbour to get to know new sights and places.

Leaving the safe harbour to get to know new sights and places.

Also, I might not have gotten rid of my ED yet but I did move on in recovery. It’s the little steps that count. Every one of us has his own speed in life and that’s perfectly okay. Comparing how far I’ve come with somebody else who had a completely different initial situation won’t get you anywhere but closer to frustration. Take your time to achieve your goals. Falling back into old habits temporarily is normal and okay. Just keep pushing on.

My plan for 2013 is to set smaller, realistic goals for each month which will include tackling a food bucket list. I know I’m up for a lot of change [which I’ll talk about another time] so setting huge goals for the whole year wouldn’t work out in anyway. Let’s see what 2013 has on offer for us!

 

Tell me: What did you do on New Year’s Eve? I spent mine very low-key at a good friends’ house catching up, eating delicious food and watching her family’s 30-minute firework shenanigans :D.

Did you make any resolutions or what’s your take on them?

Do you have any big plans for 2013 already?

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year and setting [realistic] goals

  1. I completely agree with your take on New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t really make them anymore, mostly because, like you, I am an all or nothing kind of person and would feel like a failure if I didn’t accomplish them. However, I do plan to continue working to become healthier and happier. I hope that 2013 will bring lots of good health and happiness to you!

    P.S. I am so glad you decided to start a blog this year because I really enjoy reading it!

  2. I’m wary of setting New Year’s resolutions for the exact reasons you described. I just hate the idea of stressing out over unrealistic goals set in the spirit of January 1st. Plus, people change and what seemed important in January may not be as important in July. I LOVE your idea of setting month-by-month goals because that way you are so much more in-tune and “up-to-date” with what’s important at the time!

    I’m glad you started a blog too :) Happy New Year!

    • You’re so right about priorities changing throughout the year. That’s why I’m trying to work on monthly goals and should get mine January posted soon.
      Thanks for your sweet comment on starting my blog!

  3. I am so glad you took the plunge into blogging!! It’s been one of my favorite things to do for the past while! I don’t have any resolutions for 2013, but my one main goal is to complete 4 half marathons! YAY!

  4. I love your idea of setting smaller monthly goals–I think it’s a more realistic plan and it’ll feel good to cross those goals off! I also like that you’re doing a food bucket list, I’m considering making a cooking bucket list for myself for this year so I can break out of my food ruts and try new things!

Leave a Reply

