Double-desserting [Peanut Butter & Jelly Crumble]

If it wasn’t for Davida’s Valentine’s Day Bake-Off I may or may not have pretended today was like any other ordinary Friday. Given how many other bloggers will address the fact that it’s the day of love [okay, I kind of did yesterday, too] you might not even have noticed. Or maybe I’m making things up here. I’ll have to admit I’ve never given Valentine’s Day too much of a thought – it would still catch me by surprise every year if it wasn’t for giant advertisements all around the blog and ‘real’ world.

Strawberry crumble

Simply because I’m a member of a family where Valentine’s Day  has always been considered a consumeristic holiday made up by the chocolate and florist industry. Thanks to my parents for not making me appreciate it ;). While I still can’t get all excited about the day itself by now I can get excited about desserts. More specifically: single-serving desserts. Technically, yes, this makes two single-servings. But it could also serve you, times two. Why not?!

Crumble_X

After seeing everybody else’s creations for the Bake-Off so far and knowing the day-dreaming around desserts I’d done before posting this: no, it’s not a real dessert. More like the well-behaved little sister of the sugar-filled amazingness around. Yes, I like sugar. Long story short: this crumble is perfect for when you want to double-dessert – not to be confused with double-dating. My idea of the former is: having my chocolate as the more indulgent ‘real’ dessert and these as a healthier treat. Bingo!

Rummaging through my mum’s cupboards for decorating materials I came up with those adorable homemade pompons and several tea  lights in just the right colours. I know I’ll miss these secret hidden gems once I’m back at my apartment.

Crumble_V

Calling these “Peanut Butter & Jelly” might be a bit of a stretch. But can you really blame me considering anything that combines some kind of berries and peanut butter a PB & J anything? I’m German after all :D.

 Peanut Butter & Jelly Crumble

The “Jelly” part:

  • 1.25 cups [180 g] frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 1 tbsp honey [for vegan option see below*]
  • 1 tsp vanilla powder
  1. Add the thawed strawberries to a small pot with the honey and let melt together on medium heat, stirring occasionally. The honey will make the mixture thicken without the need of any additional thickening agent.
  2. Stir in the vanilla and divide the mixture into two single-serving ramekins.

Topping:

  • ¼ cup [30 g] of peanut flour
  • 1 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • about 1/4 of a small banana, not too ripe
  • Salt [to taste - amount depending on your preference]
  1. Mix the peanut flour, oats and salt.
  2. Stir in the peanut butter and knead in the banana to for crumbles.
  3. Top the strawberry mixture with the crumbles and bake for 15 minutes at 320 °F/160 °C.
  4. Serve with a dollop of soy yogurt, [vegan] whipped cream or ice cream.

Crumble_II

*Note: To turn this into a vegan dish you may sub maple syrup or brown rice syrup [stickier] for the honey.

For breakfast, a snack or at whichever time you’re feeling like a sweet little something: There’s really no wrong way to eat a crumble. Did I mention these reheat well, too? Only there might be nothing left to reheat.

Whether on Valentine’s Day or any time, really, crumble is delicious so I’m linking up Healthy Vegan Fridays, RecipeFriday, Wellness Weekends and Strange but good. 

Happiness inducing today: Working on the puzzle with my mum and a walk.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What’s your favourite single-serving dessert? Leave a link if you know of any awesome recipes worth trying.

Are you a fan of double-desserting, too?

28 thoughts on “Double-desserting [Peanut Butter & Jelly Crumble]

  1. I love the classic peanut butter and jelly combination. This sounds like the perfect treat to have. I’ve never had a crumble before, so I am going to take this out for a test drive and see how it is. I bet it will taste amazing. You got yourself a winner girl. :)

    Happy Valentines day! <3

  2. Pingback: Filling the food memory blank | Let's get living

  3. Pingback: Thinking out loud #11 | Let's get living

  4. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Fridays #6hello, veggy!

  5. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Friday #6

  6. Pingback: Frozen! [Healthy PB & J Frozen Yogurt] | Let's get living

Leave a Reply

