Regret – it’s what you make from it

Another Monday, another fresh start with a clean slate after the past week. Time to evaluate what went well and what could use improvement which we might follow up by setting [smaller or bigger] goals to change things. And yes, Mondays are indeed a marvelous chance for reflection. Having just moved back into my apartment after several months at my parents make this a special occasion for some long-term evaluation.

MiMM_new

Do you ever feel like running in circles completely overwhelmed but with no way out? And then it just takes somebody asking the very right questions to make you notice you’ve already known the solution or at least the root of the problem all the time? Whether or not you can relate [anybody?] it’s been just like that for me lately. long with my move – already in the days, weeks even, leading up to it – came the return of an old acquaintance. And one I didn’t welcome back with open arms: Regret.

Looking back at the past months of living at my parents’ house I suddenly felt so much regret. Regret for opportunities I didn’t take. Questions I didn’t ask. Decisions I didn’t make. In the end, though, regret is about realizations which in itself can be positive and actually help us progress in life. Regret focuses on the past and we can’t change that anymore  – however much we want to and if we like this fact or not. What we can influence, though, is the future. By choosing not to regret [as much] anymore and preventing ourselves from regret in the first place.

Saying all that my goal is to regret less and have less reasons for regret. The latter might be even harder than the former for me, admittedly, because it means taking opportunities when offered. I’m stressing the less here knowing myself and that I don’t feel able to say yes all of the time for now. Just taking invitations and stepping out of my comfort zone every now and then would be an improvement already. Focussing on a certain number of ‘challenges’ per week will only set me up for failure in the first place – and with failure comes regret. Nevertheless, I know it’ll take some pushing from the outside, too, and I think there is a number of blends out there [you know I mean you] that are more than willing to be just that encouragement :).

It’s interesting to see how my non-resolutions [unintentionally] find their way into my life and the smaller changes I’m striving for. Even though I actually didn’t look at the post again since and hadn’t thought about which tangible everyday goals I might derive from the as the year would progress back then. Maybe destiny knew and influenced my choice? Either way I feel life has its way of giving us hints on where we should head. And for now I guess that’ll mean back to the grind for most of us – though rumor has it some of you are experiencing the joy of a long weekend? – so:

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness inducing today: Enjoying a relaxed Sunday morning.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Do you feel regret often?

How do you handle it? Let it get you down? Use it as a chance for change?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Regret – it’s what you make from it

  1. Love this post! Especially because I know how much you struggle with this. It’s so refreshing to see you take a positive twist on it though. While I wish no one would have to deal with regret I do agree that it has the positive effect of influencing the direction of our future. It is never ever ever too late.

  2. Changing your outlook on regret and using it to your advantage is fantastic! You captured your feelings surrounding it so well in this post :) . Regret is on and off for me..I notice the more I think deeply about life I will experience regret, so I TRY to stop myself from dwelling on what was and live in the moment. Because some things can’t be changed immediately..and you have to make the best of it :)

  3. You’re post was great. I think we all feel regret at times but as your post pointed to it’s what you decide to do once you know what you’re regretting. I personally try to look at what it is I am regretting and figure a way to fix it. It may not get me to the ideal situation there would of been had I don’t whatever it was from the start, but it’s at least trying to make something of what was nothing – the regret.

    • It’s true we might not always be able to completely undo what happened. But taking away a lesson of doing things better then next time is good enough in my book. If life hands us regret there’s a way to turn it into something positive.

  4. Great outlook.
    It’s also worth mentioning that in order to succeed, we have to fail sometimes. It’s how we learn. Take so many of the countries multimillionaires for example. Almost all of them have declared bankruptcy at some point. While money isn’t everything, the point is they tripped along the way do. We all do so don’t be afraid to fail. Its natural, normal and how we grow.

  5. I have had the same experience you had when you realized about living with your parents, but mine was due to my own actions. I need to learn how to step out of my comfort zone and just live life. We only have one, so we need to fulfill it with as many memories as we can!

  6. This is so beautifully written and I couldn’t agree more.
    We all deal with the feelings of regret sometimes, it’s part of life. But- like you said- there’s no use in dwelling on it because we can’t change the past. It’s just a matter of implementing the things we’ve learned into our future.
    Sending you love, beautiful girl!

Leave a Reply

