Call me the soup lady!

Hello there!

It’s been back to the grind for me these past weeks which means most of my day’s spent in an office. Which in turn means just one thing food-wise: soup for lunch! Luckily, soup isn’t soup so there’s still been some variety on this end. Be prepared for a lot of soup pictures in today’s What I ate Wednesday and in weeks to come. Just to spice things up a little – and because I’m nosey to see others’ office day meals and snacks, too – I’m giving you a peek into my usual packed eats. I hope Jenn‘s a soup lady fan, too. [Edited to add: I know she is – at least if balls are included.]

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2_soup

What I do know, though, is that Jenn’s a fan of well-stocked freezers. Unlike other people I don’t have a freezer [or anything worth mentioning unless shoebox-sized counts] stocked with all kinds of amazing leftovers to resort to for quick workday lunches. However, soup comes together almost as quickly – okay, that’s a lie and I’m jealous, Sarah and everybody else ;) – and is easy to prepare in larger batches. Because as much as I like cooking and bringing my own lunch I’d rather not spend hours on it after work. Call me the lazy soup lady.

Chickpea dumpling stew_office version

Above is a modified version of my Chickpea Dumpling Stew/Casserole

which turned out to be not exactly office lunch/thermos-friendly. The dumplings obviously sank to the bottom and I didn’t have a spoon long enough to get them out until the end when hardly any broth was left. Easier to eat was this Chickpea Noodle Soup below that was yet another little recovery win. White pasta was a huge no-go for me and I didn’t have it again after my first meal at Vapiano. But for whichever reason I felt like having udon so I bought a package – end of story. Granted, I was a little disappointed at their taste because the nutty taste is the real reason I prefer whole-wheat pasta. Maybe one day I’ll get a chance to prepare this recipe I’d been eyeing for ages for a larger crowd because store-bought whole-wheat udon isn’t available over here.

Chickpea Udon Noodle Soup

A typical office lunch bag consists of – you guessed it – soup and a variety of snacks to [hopefully] satisfy whichever cravings will hit me throughout the day. For me it’s key to mix different flavours and textures to feel content with my eats. Always something fresh and crisp, something creamy/starchy, something savoury and a litte somethin’ somethin’ sweet. Today that was an apple [fresh & crunchy]

apple

Call me odd but: chickpeas [starchy + savoury/salty] because I’ve been craving them like crazy lately. And they hardly ever fail to satisfy. If you think it’s weird: it’s the lazy version of roasted chickpeas and those aren’t an odd snack to bring to work, right?

chickpeas

… and one of my Peanut Protein Cereal Bars [salty and sweet] plus some unpictured chocolate [sweet]. It’s either something I didn’t notice before I started working or didn’t experience before but I get the need for something sweet in the afternoon slump [read: 3 or 4 PM] just about every.single.day. Previously I wasn’t comfortable with eating chocolate that early in the day – don’t ask me why, ED logic isn’t logical at all – but the little sugar kick is a savior for my nerves some days.

snack bar

Not to say I hadn’t thought the bars were good right after preparing them but I may or may not actually like them even better after a day [or two] in the fridge. An added bonus is that they got the sign of approval from my roommate, too. She’s a bit fussy about carbs at times but they key here is to stress they’re healthy and rich in protein ;). Which is funny because I tend to shy away from mentioning the ‘healthy’ aspect of whatever I’ve prepared unless people ask. Why make a big deal about it only to hear the ‘tastes good for being healthy’ when a dish just tastes good as is? Healthy or not: for more pictures of delicious food hop over to join the Vegan Wednesday link-up, too.

Happiness inducing today: Getting to take a short walk during my lunch break which sadly isn’t possible every day anymore.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Tell me: what does your lunch and snack bag for work look like?

And help a girl out: What are your favourite filling vegan or vegetarian* soup recipes [preferably ones that don’t require a full restock of my pantry/lots of special ingredients :)]?

Do you feel the afternoon slump, too? How do you combat it?

* Sorry for anybody making non-vegetarian suggestions before I edited this. I still appreciate you taking the time to brainstorm ideas for me.

29 thoughts on “Call me the soup lady!

  1. Loving your soup! I have been making batches of soup lately too to enjoy throughout the week. It makes packing a lunch sooo much easier! I don’t freeze my leftovers, but I probably should because I never eat them all before they need to be trashed.

    • I’m vegetarian so chicken noodle soup’s not an option and hence the chickpea noodle version in this post :) but thanks for the suggestion. Having the chance to eat at your apartment has to be great.

  2. For lunch, I usually have some fruit, nuts, and a wrap of spinach + turkey + avocado + tomato. It usually holds me over. :)
    I have yet to find a filling soup.. I love soup, but I always have that “not full” feeling afterwards.
    I combat my slump with some chocolate or sweet yogurt dots *shocker* ;)

    • That’s interesting because I’m the other way: sandwiches don’t fill me at all :) .
      There’s nothing wrong with working your way through the slump with some sweetness. What are yogurt dots, though? I’ve never heard of them before.

  3. Chickpeas are awesome..I love them the most baked in blondies ;)
    The noodle soup looks hearty and flavorful. Its starting to get cooler here..but weirdly I am drawn towards smoothies rather than soups! I’m hopeless at soup-making but I always enjoy a hot veggie packed bowl when Mum makes :)

  4. You have given me nostalgia for Germany – I am completely obsessed with the lunchboxes you have. When I stayed in Germany for an exchange, the host mum would pack me off to school with the best packed lunches and I thought the containers were just perfect. I’ve never been able to find anything as good since!

    • Well, I’ll continue to give you more reasons if that means you’ll actually come here so we’ll get to meet ;) .
      I just got these BPA-free little containers after searching for some of these for ages so I’m pretty smitten with them, too.

  5. Chickpeas! I always puree them with some spices and spread them on a few veggies. So good. Oh, and I feel you on the sweet craving – lately it hits after breakfast and I admit that it makes me feel guilty to eat chocolate early morning.
    I am not a big soup fan – I like some crunch or something to chew on :-) But if I do, I love to make purees out of sweet potato, broccoli or cauliflower.

    • Completely smooth soups are not my kind of dish at all, either. Something – or better: a lot! – to chew on is a necessity for me. I’ll probably take up on your puree suggestions – and mix in chickpeas :) .
      Ah yes, the guilt when the chocolate cravings hit “too early”. I try to tell myself there’s a reason and just go with it. Good for you not denything them.

  6. I don’t know what I’d do without my freezer!Actually I’d be less of a hoarder, probably a good thing! I love hearty soups with butter beans and chorizo and tomatoes… the chunkier the better!

    • Winter’s equivalent of making lemonade?! I’ve never thought of it that way but it’s a great equivalent :) . French onion soup has been on my list of foods to try for a while.

  7. I never, ever make soup and I have no idea why! It’s something that I always enjoy but never think about. I also never use my crockpot…le sigh. It’s so convenient but I forget about it!
    I love that you’ve been snacking on chickpeas– roasting them is one of my favorite treats!

    Happy Wednesday, pretty lady!

    • A crockpot – something my family has never owned and isn’t popular over here at all – has been on my wishlist ever since becoming aquainted with its magic through the blog world. So you’d better put yours to good use or mail it to me ;) .
      Roasted chickpeas are awesome but that’d mean planning ahead so I’ve been going the lazy-girl unroasted route. Still tasty.
      Happy Wednesday!

  8. I would have never thought to eat chickpeas just as they are! That’s actually a really great idea because they are inexpensive, tasty, and packed with nutrients! I wonder if they would pair well with peanut butter…hmmmm :)

    • Wonder no longer ;) : I’ve tried it and peanut butter + chickpeas is an awesome combination. Even prior to work day snacks these days I’ve been eating chickpeas as they are forever. To say I was slightly addicted is an understatement :D .

  9. First of all, we MUST find you some “iced tea spoons.” I bought some at a thrift store years ago because they have enormously long handles and are perfect for eating out of nut butter jars (and thermoses, but my primary purpose is always the nut butter jar). Secondly, I was just reading a Women’s Health magazine recipe today that used actual chickpeas–not just the flour–to make pizza crust, and I wonder if it’s really not just a dumpling recipe in disguise. [Granted, I have yet to see the chickpea dumpling soup recipe you used/made, but I’m going to right now, because I’ve been craving ANYTHING doughy and bread-y lately!] I realized last week that I have made shockingly few batches of soup this year…and not just because I live in a warmer climate. I’m a huge fan of soups and stews, because I always found catharsis in chopping vegetables. I, however, think I ‘hid’ behind soup as a way of calorie restriction for awhile, so maybe as I’ve let go of that, I’ve let go of the need to make soup as often? [This is NOT what I’m saying you are doing…my ‘soups’ were broth and veggies and not much else, truly. They were tasty, but where is the fun in that?] And YES to something sweet, always. I have a sweet tooth, a salty tooth, and a tooth for everything in between!

  10. Pingback: In and out [of the cooking mojo] | Let's get living

  11. Pingback: The full scope of randomness [Thinking out loud] | Let's get living

  12. Pingback: It’s all [edama]me to me | Let's get living

  13. Pingback: WIAW: Going back to classics | Let's get living

Leave a Reply

