In and out [of the cooking mojo]

Writing my intro after finishing the remainder of the post – typical – I’ve decided you don’t really care about long intros on What I ate Wednesday - and Vegan Wednesday – in anyway. And I know at least Courtney agrees with me here and I hope Jenn won’t mind less wordiness and more talk about food, either. Thanks for hosting either way!

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2About the cooking mojo … Way back when I was still in school reading issues of the single one women’s magazine [the only actually interesting one on the market] my mum would buy occasionally there was one topic that surprised me. More often than once I’d find advice for working women feeling ‘too busy or stressed to grocery shop and cook after work’. Not feeling like cooking after work? Really?! Unbelievable. Who wouldn’t want to come back home, head into the kitchen and chop vegetables for a great meal made from scratch? The answer nowadays: me, too. Yes, I can relate. No, that’s not to say I’d become best friends with the delivery services around or that my idea of dinner was a bag of chips. It just means I’ll go for simple, quick meals for office lunches that I can easily prepare while simultaneously cooking dinner. Like … soup.

Chickpea cabbage soup

Luckily, my worries about losing my kitchen mojo completely were unneccessary when I found it again last weekend. First off was Friday’s afternoon snack after getting home from work earlier. I’d been eyeing Becky’s mug cookie for a while and decided it was a better – read: more interesting –  option than going for straight-up chocolate chips.

Coconut flour mug cookie_I

More interesting, yes, and more filling. The only changes I made were using vegan chocolate chips instead of M&Ms, subbing baking powder for soda and adding less of it. On a very random note this goes to show I know zilch about baking chemistry. Swapping baking powder for soda might make a decided difference but I don’t have a clue. Feel free to enlighten me if you know better :) . What I do know, though, is that – powder or soda – this turned out to be a very photogenic snack. Becky knows what she’s doing so if you happen to have some coconut flour sitting around you might want to give it a go.

Mug cookie_II

The highlight of my cooking weekend, however, was a creation of my own that helped me tackle two fears in one: Eating Pfannkuchen – no, not calling them pancakes [that’d be the direct translation but I feel it’s off] but I’ll explain that in the recipe post! – and Pfannkuchen-making. As in: not having tear apart what were actually delicate crepes apart when trying to flip and transfer them onto a plate. Doesn’t that always happen?? Luckily, I had the crepe-flipping powers on my side for my first batch of them after years. Not that it’d have played a role, here, though, because I had much better plans than eating them as is.

crepes

Both gluten-free and vegan these weren’t the Pfannkuchen I grew up with but a take on the classic that will see a repeat more than once in the future. Filled with a spicy vegetable mixture and baked with a quick vegan cheese sauce these were amazing. I’ll try to post the recipe as soon as possible. For whichever reason I had to think of a certain blogger while making these so texted this creative chef to let her know I’d channeled my inner Davida ;) . So while I haven’t found the ultimate cure for losing my cooking mojo every once in a while looking at blogs – or in this case: just vaguely thinking of certain bloggers :) – can help get it back. Emily knows I have a feeling one of my next bigger kitchen adventures will be influenced by her. Just wait for it …

crespelle_IV

For now I hope all of you are having a delicious and happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: Good conversations with friends.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What do you do/cook when you feel you’ve lost your kitchen mojo?

Which was the last recipe you created?

17 thoughts on “In and out [of the cooking mojo]

  1. That mug cookie does look fab. If I am correct B.Powder contributes to texture (rising,fluffiness) and Soda to taste (saltiness)..buuut don’t take my word for it since I am one of those individuals who has yet to develop my cooking mojo ;).

  2. In the summer I ALWAYS lose my cooking mojo! It just gets too dang hot, and I have zero desire to sweat in my kitchen while Im cooking. BLEH. Not a fan of that! Which is why I try to do crockpot meals or something super quick like a loaded salad..

  3. I am def a fan of fast dinners.. I often come home from work tired but don’t want a crappy meal. That soup looks goooood !! Also i LOVE microwave cookies.. you should use baking soda because it helps the cookie rise… common tip here baking soda is always used for cookies and baking powder is always used for cakes soooo really either one would work but I always go with the soda if im doing a cookie !!

    • Thanks for the baking powder versus soda explanation! We use baking powder on its own for both cookies and cakes much more frequently than soda or a combination of both over here. And I was actually looking for more of a cake-like outcome when trying the recipe so that was great. But I’ll keep what you said in mind for further experimentation.

  4. I love looking through my Instagram feed! There are so many inspirational recipes and ideas that always gets me back in the kitchen! Not to mention surfing though these WIAW’s are always great too!

  5. Oh man! Those crepes look amazing, girlie!! And that mug cookie! I definitely need to try that out…you said it’s on Becky’s blog? (the link’s not working) For the record, I don’t think it makes a HUGE difference swapping baking powder and baking soda when it’s in small amounts, but I will say that using soda instead of flour for my peanut butter mug cake made it SUPER fluffy!! You know, of the kind that I could die from! ;)

    • Thanks for mentioning the broken link. I fixed it now so you can get your mug cookie baking – or better yet: microwaving.
      Fluffy you say?! Okay, I think I need to become best friends with baking soda and stop cheating on it with baking powder. Because that’s a sub I’ve admittedly made a lot of times in the past.

Leave a Reply

