Let’s get happy!

Hi everybody!

Sorry I haven’t been posting in over a week. I meant to but then life got busy and kept me from writing a post. Hope all of you are doing well!

 

Life can’t be all sunshine and rainbows every day – that’s a truth we’ve all learned. But that doesn’t mean we have to silently accept this. Recovery from an ED, stress in university and life in general can put a damper on my life. I have, however, found some ways of self-therapy. Let’s get started!

Running

I just love the colour of these shoes!

While I do know that some of my earlier motivation to run came from my ED it has changed. I’m no longer dragging myself out when I’m exhausted. When I do, it’s not mainly because of the physical effect – though it sure is a nice benefit – but because of it being a great way to relax, sort out my thoughts, find inspiration and new ideas. Running simply makes me feel good.  And can I just say I love wearing running gear?

Baking

Not the prettiest of all ovens but it’s getting the job done just fine.

I love to bake. Ever have, ever will. My earliest memories go back to the days of cutting out simple sugar cookies – and fighting for the best cookie cutters with my sister – during Christmas time. Decorating them with way too much icing and colourful sprinkles was necessary.

What’s not to love about freshly baked cookies? Tasting the dough might be my favourite part of baking, though.

Whether it be cookies, muffins or bars: The oven will get even more play during the the colder months. Nothing like the intoxicating aroma of freshly-baked goods to brighten my mood. It undoubtedly is the part of my therapy my friends (and the occasional prof in uni 😉 ) enjoy the most.  Nussecken, anyone?

Making myself feel special.

One of my favourite fragrances of all times.

I usually save perfume for special occasions but some days I just apply some to show myself appreciation. In addition with wearing pretty dresses it makes me feel special and … what can I say? I’m a woman.

Chocolate.

Mmmh! Can’t say no to good chocolate,

While it certainly can’t bring world peace or solve every of my problems chocolate is the best first aid for days I’m feeling down on. Yes, I might feel a tad guilty after eating it at times but noticing how it can lighten up my mood eases my anxiety at the same time.

Family and Friends.

A walk with a friend can brighten my day in no time.

Most important and certainly some of the best therapists one could ever find. Accepting me the way I am, forgiving me more often than I’d deserve, offering to come over with chocolate when things are getting complicated. While going home spontaneously isn’t always an option during the semester I love being able to count on my friends. I’m so glad to know them!

Handmade by the best pen-pal ever.

How could I not like people giving me gifts such as this cute little guy? Thanks, Caren!

Let me know: What are your favourite ways to brighten your day?

What’s your favourite fragrance?

Random: Which bands, singers and songs have you been liking lately? I’m getting bored with my playlist and would love to hear your recommendations.

10 thoughts on “Let’s get happy!

  1. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    I completely agree with all these! I find that running (when I don’t push myself too hard) immediately makes the day seem a bit better. I am more positive and happier in general. Cheap therapy! I love running clothes too…they always make me feel pretty 🙂

    I think many people don’t realize that chocolate actually has a positive effect on the body. I always make sure to eat chocolate daily! A day without chocolate is a bad bad day…

    And finally, above running and even chocolate, family is the best mood-booster. I found that the older I get the more dependent I become on the love and support I receive from them. You are lucky to have such great friends and family!

  2. Kat says:

    I love this post! As you know,I am really trying to find good ways to compenstate for school and everything,but of course,everything that’s coming to my mind is exercise… And,uhm,nothing.
    Obviously,this isn’t the best choice all the time since I sometimes am simply too exhausted to do workouts,so I am glad you’re mentioning so many different,not exercise-related alternatives here! 🙂
    All of them sound wonderful,and I especially agree on the baking one… I love baking – the smell,the mess,the everything. I wish we could bake cookies together,like,real gingerbread men with icing and decoration and stuff! That would be SO fun for sure!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Gingerbread men? That’s an awesome idea! Feel free to come over for baking :). Really, though, it’d be such fun it you could mamage to come here for the Christmas market. Keeping my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

