Let’s get into the holiday spirit …

… by watching Christmas movies again.

Today’s going to be a short post because I’m tired after a two-day seminar in university – not exactly the best way of getting me into the Christmas spirit ;). But I wanted to join Jenny’s Christmas Challenge so there you go!

Christmas challenge

Your favourite Christmas movie.

 

Oooh, that’s a good one already – and an easy one as well. Though I can’t say I had seen too many Christmas movies so far I already have a favourite: Love, actually. Come on, how could you not like a movie starring all of the great British actors from Hugh Grant and Keira Knightley to Alan Hickman,  Emma Thompson, Colin Firth and Rowan Atkinson? And let’s not forget about the stories showing all aspects of love from funny, sad, playful to – obviously – romantic. “Love, actually” displays love in all stages of life: a shy little boy trying to impress his first crush, the secret love of a man to his newly-wed best friend’s wife, intercultural love and the love between a prime minister and the girl who serves his tea.

I’m generally a huge fan of movies starting out in several different stories that merge into one in the end. There were a few of the single stories I liked better than others but it all evens out. It’s hard to keep the content of the stories to myself but I don’t want to give too much away in case you haven’t seen it. If you haven’t: Watch it! You can thank me later :D. Oh, also: It’s best watched with friends while eating chocolate fondue – trust me, I know from experience.

Have you seen “Love, actually” before? Did you like it?

What’s your favourite Christmas movie? I’m open to suggestions!

2 thoughts on “Let’s get into the holiday spirit …

  1. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    Oh my gosh YES to Love Actually! It’s one of my favorite movies of all time, and I could watch it over and over again without ever tiring. I love everything about it – it shows us that this big scary world is actually much smaller and more connected than we imagine. Bonus: Kelly Clarkson’s “The Trouble With Love” is one of my favorite songs as well 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oooh, I wish we could watch it together – you bringing the Rice Crispy treats 😉 – that’d be such a lot of fun!

      Actually, Kelly Clarkson’s song isn’t included in the British version of the movie that I watched. But I listened to it thanks to your comment now :).

Leave a Reply

