With rooty toot toots

Christmas challenge

Ah, I didn’t start out this challenge too well so far, right? I had the best of intentions to stick with Jenny’s fabulous Christmas Challenge and at least post the answer to the question of the day every day. But you know it: Life – read: the boy and university assignments – gets in the way all of the time :D.

Enough of that, though, let’s get playing the challenge. While it’s the fourth already, I still want to share yesterday’s answer with you, too.

3. When/how did you learn Santa wasn’t real?

Oh my, this must be one of the most traumatic experiences of a childhood, right ;)? Kidding.

The first time I got suspicious was when my mum disappeared “to the toilet” shortly before Santa’s arrival and didn’t return until after he’d left. When I asked my dad why Santa had mum’s voice he laughed it off. My last doubts where cleared when my older brother who’d found out earlier showed me Santa’s red coat in my grandparents’ boiler room. I wonder when my parents would have told me if it hadn’t been for my brother …

4. Favourite Christmas Song

Oooh, this one’s hard because there are too many to chose from. Can I just go with about every song on Michael Bublé’s Christmas album? Not just because he has a great voice – and it doesn’t hurt he’s cute, too – but because I think it’s a perfect selection of songs. Really, though, my favourite might change every year.  Also, I have no shame in admitting that, yes, I do still enjoy listening to “Last Christmas” by Wham every so often during Christmas time.

My family’s favourite Christmas song to sing is a naughty version of the German classic “Kling, Glöckchen, klingeling” ;). Actually, we don’t even know the proper text anymore …

When did you learn the truth about Santa?

Have you been listening to Christmas music and singing along loudly – regardless of what the neighbours might think – already?

7 thoughts on “With rooty toot toots

  1. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    Haha aww your Santa story is cute 🙂 I think I figured out that Santa wasn’t real when I noticed that “Santa” used the same wrapping paper that was so carefully stowed away in our closet. Coincidence? I think not!

    Believe it or not, I’m actually not a fan of Christmas music! I think I can tolerate only a few songs a season and some of the classics like Silent Night make me happy, but anything else is just too much!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Whaaaat :D? How can you not like Christmas music? For me, it’s one of the key things to get into the holiday spirit.

      Ah, well, Santa should definitely have choose different wrapping paper :). Thinking about it, that never made me suspicious, though he obviously used my mum’s hand-sewn bags …

  2. Carli says:

    This challenge is such a great idea! I wish I would’ve seen it earlier (I’ve been kind of abset from the blogworld with finals and all). The story about you and your brother finding out about Santa is so funny! I believed in Santa until I was pretty old (maybe like 8, 9, or even 10 years old). I can’t remember exactly when I decided that he wasn’t real, but I remember that I had to keep pretending to believe in him so I wouldn’t ruin it for my little sisters. Ahhh, sometimes I wish I still believed. Christmas was so much fun when you were waiting for Santa Claus to come!

    Have a fabulous weekend 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh, I think you can still join the Challenge! I’ve seen others starting later, too. I’d be curious to read your answers!

      Yes! I wish I had never found out the truth about Santa, either. Christmas without anxiously waiting for him, wondering whether he might know the times I hadn’t been “good” during the past year is a little less exciting, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

