In need of …

Done! My first exam of the semester is over, phew! Unfortunately, there’s much more to come still. Hope I’m not sounding whiny! I know I’m not alone on this one and keeping my fingers crossed for all of you who are in the middle of writing essays, studying for exams and wanting for it all to be over. Thinking about that makes me long for the end of the semester which will feel amazing. Trying to look on in a positive way: Enjoying all of the things below will feel such a lot more deserved. Is anybody with me on that one? Without further ado, here’s what I’m currently longing for.

… time to read

Books I

I have several books from the library as well as own ones begging to be read. Well, let’s say this isn’t likely to happen by the end of the week and some have to be returned soon.

… more chocolate (or not?)

Chocolate III

Studying makes me crave chocolate even more than usual and having two squares of Lindt a day turned into four. I’d lie if I said this didn’t make me feel guilty but I’m trying to tell myself it’s temporary only.

… fresh air and nature

Out and about

Returning from university late in the afternoon when the sun already fades doesn’t leave me with an opportunity to enjoy the little sun we’re getting these days. Keeping with the positive attitude: There’s at least Sunday as a class-free day allowing me to go for a walk 🙂 . Though Winter’s playing catch-up after a warm start into the year and it’s getting coooold.

… sleep

Sheep

Okay, I have to blame myself for this one. Starting to study in the evening – because I need to run errands/go for a run/rest right after classes certainly isn’t a smart move. Note to self: Less than six hours of sleep aren’t nearly enough.

 

… my family

Coming back home to my flat after spending Christmas break at my parents’ house was seriously hard. I had such a great time with them – I even gave sewing a first try 😀 – so I look forward to seeing them next week. My mum and dad gave me theatre tickets for Christmas so that’s where we’ll be headed to. Even though it’s just a few hours I’ll enjoy every minute of it.

… the perfect birthday cake

 Pie

With my birthday coming up soon and one of my goals being to have a “real” [read: not overly healthified] cake it’s about time to start searching. Last year, I had this Deep-dish Cookie Pie which – while good – wasn’t a hit with my non-vegan/vegetarian family. Do you know any awesome vegan (birthday) cake recipes?

Hope you’re having a great Monday!

 

 

What are you in need of at the moment?

How much sleep do you usually get?

Which was your best Birthday cake so far? Links are appreciated!

Are you going chocolate crazy when studying, too? Please tell me I’m not the only one :D.

19 thoughts on “In need of …

  1. Jennifer says:

    hey 🙂 first, that cookie cake/pie thing looks so good 😮 my favourites have always been just vanilla w creamy vanilla icing, but cake mix (like betty crocker) and store-bought icing. just for my birthday, my mom made them. we’ve done lots of scratch ones and they’re nice but rich so i always loved these and they were a bit lighter and fun, and my mom is great at decorating. ahh do not worry about the chocolate, that’s perfectly okay but i do know the guilt that you mean. i’ve started having special ones like green+blacks, and ritter although i know its not like that expensive but even if i have a square or two it seems like a nice treat. some chocolates are not really the best when eaten whole as these are so lovely and just full of flavour, i love the dark chocolate varieties. im in the need of family/comfort, aha my family is going tomorrow for a while and im anxious, scared, everything. and i wish i didn’t have such a messed up mind/stomach/etc. but i hope you get more sleep tonight xox

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Family time is something all of us need a bit more of, I guess. I hope yours isn’t gone for too long but in the meantime please know I’m always here. Mail me anytime! And I hope you enjoy your chocolate, too :)!

  2. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I love the idea of a homemade birthday cake! I’m not the biggest fan of cake so for the past few birthdays I’ve had some unconventional birthday treats, like gelato or angel food cake, but for my first birthday as a vegan I got a slice of vegan chocolate raspberry cake from Whole Foods–amazing! I wish I had a recipe for you but it was storebought. But carrot cake is the one cake I do love, maybe you could make that and I know there are lots of vegan recipes for it!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Actually, I’m not the biggest cake fan, either, much rather having ice cream for dessert. But I figured my family wouldn’t be too keen on ice cream in January and I haven’t had a proper birthday cake in too long. Maybe I’ll enjoy it more than I think?

  3. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    Keep going, you’re so close to freedom! I remember when I was in school and it was exam time, the happy thoughts of everything I would be able to do with my free time post-exam is what truly kept me going! I’m the same way – I typically missed sleep, reading, and my family as the semester neared its end and it was always the best feeling to hand in that last exam!! Glorious. Good luck with your hunt for the perfect vegan cake, and please share the recipe when you find it 🙂

  4. whiness says:

    So, I keep my fingers crossed for you! 🙂
    I’m glad I found your website, it’s actually a nice one.

    Well, sometimes I still have troubles with insomnia. It’s almost gone for good (I hope) because I sleep quite long right now – I usually get 7-8 hours, sometimes it’s more, sometimes less.

    My best birthday cake… Oh, it’s a difficult question. When I was younger my mother used to buy me just a birthdat cake in a cake shop. Since a few years I’ve been baking cakes on my own. I love cheesecakes. It may be funny but my favourite one it’s very simple.
    http://whiteplate.blogspot.de/2008/12/sernik-krakowski-z-kratk.html
    or this one…
    http://whiteplate.blogspot.de/2010/03/przedwiosenny-spleen-i-marcowe-koty.html

    But well, I don’t eat chocolate. I just don’t eat sweets (besides homa-made cakes, maybe that’s why ;). But I’m addicted to cocoa and milky coffee. When I study, I usually drink really much such drinks.

  5. healthydivaeats says:

    Yay for a birthday coming up! Happy almost birthday girl! I say that cookie cake would be perfect to have! YUM!

    Hope your weekend was great!

  6. Khushboo says:

    Studying or not, I’m always in need of chocolate ;)! If you are able to find it, try out the LIndt Dark with Caramel & a Dash of Sea Salt- so delicious! That cookie cake sounds so up my alley…my favorite birthday cake was actually cookie-related: chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake! The base was a chocolate chip cookie and chunks of cookie dough were swirled into the cream cheese- too die for!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Wait, there’s a dark Lindt with Caramel AND sea salt in one bar? I can’t get that around here :(.

      While I’m not usually a cheesecake person the one you mention sounds incredible. Maybe I should reconsider my preferences …

Leave a Reply

