Marvelous in my Monday: Making the little things count

Happy Monday!

Marvelous

 

Done! I had my last exam today and I can’t even tell you how good it feels. Now it’s onto writing four essays and an article but it was nice to be able to cross this of my list, still.

 

Admittedly, the accompanying doziness doesn't make a bed a good place to study. But it IS seriously comfy.

Admittedly, the accompanying doziness doesn’t make a bed a good place to study. But it IS seriously comfy.

If you had asked me in the morning how my weekend was I’d have been likely to answer: Boring. Annoying. Not eventful. Well,  studying isn’t exactly anybody’s favourite way to spend the last days of the week any day.

 

Getting wild with my newly purchased colourful post-its. Hey, I never claimed to be normal.

Getting wild with my newly purchased colourful post-its. Hey, I never claimed to be normal.

But then I got thinking what I had actually done and noticed there were several good things in this weekend after all. It’s counting the little things that matters. Let’s get onto the small things that gave my weekend at least a bit of marvelousness.

Nothing like baking cookies just for yourself. These were so good and the first time in a long while I baked something (sweet, at least) just for myself. I’m known to bake for friends all of the time but for myself? Not so much. This clearly needs to change …

Yet more proof of my addiction to coconut flour.

Yet more proof of my addiction to coconut flour.

Also marvelous was playing with my neighbors little baby daughter while her mum was showing the flat to potential new tenants. Thinking of them moving out makes me sad, though.

Running in the snow was a great way to refresh my mind amidst the studying, too. Call me weird but I actually enjoyed running in the cold for a few days. Sure, for some – hello, Canadians – temperatures of around -7 °C/19 ° F aren’t cold at all but for me … It’s getting warmer again, though, but I’m not complaining. Snow is nice but I could clearly do without the cold.

View from my window. Now that it's thawing I'll miss the snow - but not the cold.

View from my window. Now that it’s thawing I’ll miss the snow – but not the cold.

 

Starting a new book that sucked me in right from the first pages. While this might happen not too seldomly I often loose interest after the first chapters. Not with this book. So if you’re looking for a good read I’d definitely recommend “Secret daughter”.

Secret daughter

 

Cold days meant lots of tea and that’s something I never say no to. I’m not a coffee drinker at all but spotting new tea flavours at the organic supermarket gets me excited every time.

That's just part of my collection of teas. I surely buy new ones too often.

That’s just part of my collection of teas that I keep adding new ones to.

And last but not least tomorrow is going to be marvelous! It’s my birthday and my mum  is coming to the city to take me and two very good friends out for lunch. Very low-key but I’m going to extend it to Birthday week and celebrate a bit more when visiting my parents at the weekend.

I hope you’re having a great Monday (evening/night for me already :D)!

 

Do you find yourself overlooking small happy things in everyday life, too?

Tell me one little thing that made your weekend marvelous! Or, if something super exciting happened : one big thing :).

Which book are you currently reading?

19 thoughts on “Marvelous in my Monday: Making the little things count

  1. Jennifer says:

    hey 🙂 i love this! im re-reading for the millionth time, harry potter…im on the second book now. i love them so much aha :/ my brother came saturday night, it was nice and made it a bit better for me 🙂 hope you gave a good gay xox

  2. healthydivaeats says:

    I need those cookies! You said you made with coconut flour?! I need ideas to use mine up!

    Happy week to you love!!

  3. Carli says:

    Happy birthday! That’s so nice that your mom is taking you and your friends to lunch. Have a wonderful time! And I always celebrate birthday “week”…it’s so much better than celebrating for only one day! I hope your birthday week is extra special!!! 🙂

  4. Kat says:

    Happy birthday,darling! I hope you have a wonderful day; you deserve to enjoy it to the fullest cause it’s YOURS practically! 🙂
    Also,I definitely want that cookie recipe… They look so good!

  5. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    It’s so easy to overlook the small joys in life, especially on days/weeks/months that are overly busy busy busy. What I started doing in the past year is to write down (in my phone) the things and fleeing moments that spark some sort of happiness within. It can be something as small and forgetful as waking up to birds chirping outside my window or that feeling you get when you bite into something delicious when you’re hungry. Write it down somewhere! It will serve as a great reminder during tough times 🙂

    And of course hooray for tea!! You know how obsessed I am, trying new teas is definitely one of those small joys in life. Especially that first sip.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh, thanks for reminding me of those little things, too. The ones you mentioned were actually things I hadn’t even considered though they really are special. Seeing it that way every day is filled with such a lot of marvelousness – wow, thanks again!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Hey, fun reads are totally needed at times, too. I even like reading a light-hearted and a “deeper” book interchangeably sometimes. Depending on my mood I’m grabbing either the one or the other.

      I’ll look the book up for sure – thanks for recommending!

Leave a Reply

