What I ate … while writing essays

Thank you for all of your sweet birthday wishes! Every single one put a huge smile on my face.

Is it really Wednesday already again? After my birthday time seemed to flow by without me noticing. Well, time for our favourite weekly foodie party hosted by Jenn. Happy WIAW!

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

Life lately has been a tad more hectic. I’m not exactly good at time management … Therefore working shifts while actually having a pile of essays to write turned out to be a bad combination. Doesn’t help that I didn’t exactly chose the easiest topics for my essays.

While eating at work isn’t possible I still find it important to nourish my body in a healthy way when coming home. Sure, random snacking on not-so-healthy foods happens but I like to keep it fresh and nutritious most of the time.

Let’s take a look at some of my recent eats!

Baked oatmeal has found its way into my life and I’m embracing it. Blueberry Vanilla protein baked oats to be specific – easy, quick and comforting. Obsessed already.

Crunchy topping, creamy oats cooked with coconut milk - breakfast perfection.

Crunchy topping, creamy oats cooked with coconut milk – breakfast perfection.

 

Carrots and peanut butter have become a new addition to my diet – aka “how to get my veggies in”.

Positively addictive.

Positively addictive.

Can you believe I’d never had baby carrots before? I might still not buy these regularly from now on. But they’re a nice time saver when I don’t feel like peeling a bunch of carrots yet want my vitamin A boost :D. Thanks for the PB and carrots inspiration, Shannon!

Granolaaaa! It had been too long since I bought my last bag of it but I finally got over my ED fears and now can’t get enough. And really, if I’ve been craving it for so long it must have been something I needed, right?!

Crunchy gluten-free almond coconut granola, coconut flour soy yogurt and almond butter – mmmh!

Crunchy gluten-free almond coconut granola, coconut flour soy yogurt and almond butter – mmmh!

Yes, I had way more than what’s in the picture :).

Putting one of my birthday gifts to good use: a julienne peeler! Inspired by other bloggers I asked my mum for one on our little shopping trip after our birthday lunch. Zucchini pasta in multiple combinations has been a go-to lunch when coming home ravenous from work. Whether with peanut sauce, in a cheesy casserole or Italian inspired balsamico tomato sauce with chickpeas – it’s a new favourite.

Does anybody else still enjoy slurping their pasta? It shouldn't be resevered to kids only.

Does anybody else still enjoy slurping their pasta? It shouldn’t be acceptable for kids only!

I’m not usually one supporting unseasonal cravings but as blueberries happened to be on offer for three weeks straight – how could I resist?! Blueberries have been said to be the perfect food to protect your body from the negative aspects of stress thanks to the antioxidants they contain. Whether it’s true or not – they’re delicious and that’s all that matters.

Blueberries

In other news: I’m on Twitter now – and once I’ve figured out Instagram I might join that fun, too :). Anybody care to explain it to me?

I’ll be back with a post on my February goals after handing in my essays later this week.

 

How does your eating style change on busy days?

What is your favourite (baked) oatmeal combination?

And stealing the question of the day: What’s the best thing you ate today?

14 thoughts on “What I ate … while writing essays

  1. Carli says:

    Sorry you’ve been so busy lately! Keeping busy is good in some ways, but not when it creates too much stress. It’s also difficult to eat well when you’re busy, but it looks like you are doing an awesome job fueling your body well. That Zucchini pasta dish looks especially delicious. Hopefully you get some time to relax soon!

    I think whenever I am busy, I tend to obsess much less about my food because I just don’t have the time! I do my best to make healthy choices, but I don’t obsess over them. As for my favorite baked oatmeal combinations, can you believe I’ve never had baked oatmeal? I’ve never been a fan of oatmeal (or any hot breakfast foods really), but the idea of a hot breakfast does sound really comforting in this cold weather. And the best thing I’ve eaten so far today was a yogurt bowl for breakfast! But isn’t breakfast always the best meal of the day?

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Actually, breakfast used to be – and admittedly still is at times – the “scariest” meal of the day for me. Being a night owl and eating most of my daily intake in the late afternoon/evening can make it hard for me to decide on what to have for breakfast. These baked oats did a good job keepin me full, though, so I’m eager to try new combinations.

      I agree on busy days being easier food-wise as having less leisure time in general means less room for annoying food ponderings. Food really is mainly fuel on days like that.

      Thanks you! I’m sure other people are even more stressed than me but it’ll still be nice to relax after handing the essays in.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks! I’d had zucchini as the pasta in Mama Pea’s quinoa lasagna before but never as spaghetti. Chickpeas are my favourite legume and you should try the combination yourself. It doesn’t get any simpler than this dish but it’s so satisfying.

  2. sarah says:

    Can I ask how you made your baked oats? And what the crunchy topping actually is?
    I wanna make some! Actually, I want ALL your eats :).
    Xxx

  3. Shreya @ rushofendorphins says:

    What is in that pasta sauce? It looks so good!

    I have never had baked oats – I don’t think I could wait that long for them to be done… Ha! And the best thing I ate today would have to be fresh pineapple. An apple a day? Psh! A PINEapple a day is where it’s at!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      A pineapple a day? I like your way of thinking 😉 – though I can’t eat a lot of pineapple.

      Oh, it’s an embarrassingly simply homemade sauce. Just tomato sauce (passata), balsamic vinegar and spices.

      Baked oats are worth the wait :).

  4. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    Oh man I remember those days of writing essays…the worst! English (i.e. writing) has always been my worst subject (you can probably tell by my writing) and writing a simple 5-paragraph essay would take me days. Awful. Moving on now to that baked oatmeal, um wow! Baked oatmeal has been on my must-make list for ages already but I haven’t gotten around to making it yet. It looks so delicious! I swear everything baked tastes better. I’m a big fan of baby carrots too, but haven’t tried them with peanut butter. Other combo to add to my must-try list 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Hey, you have a great way of writing!
      Funny how you mention it. Actually, I had to write these essays in English, too, which obviously isn’t my mother tongue :). So glad I handed them in yesterday.

Leave a Reply

