Food with a side of feelings

Happy Wednesday! We’re almost over the hump of the week – can anybody else sense the weekend already?

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

Anyway, let’s get back to what you came for: Food in all its glory [or not, depending on the quality of my pictures.].  Thanks to Jenn for hosting the WIAW party!

Spending yet another weekend at my parents’ meant a change from my routine in a few ways. One of them being the huge array of snack foods [read: granola, chips, nut butters and the likes] available all of the time. Whenever I arrive at my parents’ house I immediately start raiding the cabinets :D.

Crunching and munching away on granola.

Crunching and munching away on granola.

I’ll be honest, though, and say that this causes me quite a bit of guilt afterwards. But as we all know guilt isn’t a pleasant feeling I tried a different approach this time: A [mostly] calorie count-free weekend. After all, why shouldn’t what worked around Christmas work again here? Instead, I focused on the happy feelings these foods gave me. How bad can a food be for you if it evokes cheerful memories?

How does gifted chocolate taste even better than usual?

How does gifted chocolate taste even better than usual?

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to snap as many pictures of food as I meant to. My parents don’t understand why anybody would do so let alone post them on a blog for the whole world to see.

Look gross, taste great: Blueberry Vanilla baked oats haven’t gone old yet.

Look gross, taste great: Blueberry Vanilla baked oats haven’t gone old yet.

Letting myself have some of my old favourites like this snack mix again was incredibly freeing. We used to get it all the time when my sibling and I were still living at home. Back in the days when terms like “clean foods” and “saturated fats” hadn’t crossed my path yet.

Feelings are what makes food taste special. Think about times when eating was the most pleasant to you. Where was it? Whom were you sharing these meals with? For me, eating with others has happened less since I developed my ED and then even lesser after I’d moved out. But it’s these shared meals that make food taste even better. I’m determined to make them happen more often again, though.

Lasagna at a local café a while back -  made special by the lovely company of my mum.

Lasagna at a local café a while back – made special by the lovely company of my mum.

Additionally, I find the taste varies a lot depending on who prepared it. So far I haven’t come a meal that wouldn’t have varied in taste when cooked by different people. Let’s hope my parents truly enjoyed the Semmelknödel (traditional German dish) I prepared for us as much as I did :). Well, at least they said they did.

Getting started by assembling my ingredients …

Getting started by assembling my ingredients …

I pondered using whole-grain bread and subbing a few ingredients here and there to make the recipe lighter and healthier. Honestly, though? I’m glad I didn’t do in the end as some recipes just aren’t meant to be modified.

….aaand the finished dish: Comfort food at its best [excuse the dark picture – late Winter afternoons don’t provide the best lighting].

….aaand the finished dish: Comfort food at its best [excuse the dark picture – late Winter afternoons don’t provide the best lighting].

When asked for my favourite dish in the past I didn’t know an answer. Maybe that’s because I hadn’t had this dish in too long. Not going to let that happen again. Food is meant to be enjoyed – with happy feelings.

No day is complete without a bit more of this: New-to-me brand of almond butter.

No day is complete without a bit more of this: New-to-me brand of almond butter.

 

 

Do you have favourite memories linked to certain foods?

What does make a meal special to you (the company, ingredients, …)?

Which was your favourite dish as a child? What is it today?

18 thoughts on “Food with a side of feelings

  1. Carli says:

    I’m so glad you were able to let go a little this weekend and ease up on the calorie counting. Feeling guilty for eating can be hard to deal with, but you are right; there is no reason to feel guilty for enjoying foods that make us feel good! I truly believe that food, although it is meant to nourish our bodies, can also nourish our souls. So many good times and good memories revolve around food, and we both deserve to enjoy those experiences 100%.

  2. Aimee @Brighter, Balanced Future says:

    Oohhh that almond butter looks good! Such an interesting colour! That point in your ED where you introduce foods that you haven’t had in a while can be liberating, but also scary, so I really commend you for being able to let go and see that in the grand scheme of life, a calorie or a bit of processed food will not kill you. In fact, it can bring back happy memories and uplift your mood. Well done (: x

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Aimee! You’re right about (re-)introducing foods that I’ve been craving but denied myself for too long. Almond butter has been a staple ever since I started eating healther. But I think I need to give “unhealthier” foods like crisps and the likes a bit more room, too 😉 – at least when I’m at other peoples places.

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    Great to hear that you were able to let loose a little bit without the worry of calorie counting. Such progress hunnie.

    Your mom’s lasagna looks delish. I’m not sure about you, but I swear my mom makes the best lasagna around. I can follow the exact same steps using the same ingredients, but it NEVER tastes the same. I guess I just dont’ have that “touch”

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      That “touch” is exactly what I meant, Jessie! My mom and grandma, for example, use the same recipe for vegetable soup yet it ends up tasting completely different.

      It was my piece of lasagna at the café, actually ;), but my mum does prepare a great one, too. Too bad I haven’t had it in a while – yet another item to add to my bucket list, I guess.
      What does your mom’s contain? Hope you’ll be able to enjoy a piece of it again soon :).

  4. Kat says:

    To be honest,I’ve never tried Semmelknödel once in my life because I never found the thought of “old-bread-balls” that appealing… Anyhoo,it’s great you managed to let go a little bit over the weekend; I am definitely very proud of you! 🙂
    We always got that snack mix when celebrating birthday with relatives,by the way. Since mine are pretty ravenous,though,the best part (=the NicNacs) were ALWAYS gone before I could even manage grab a single one of them,haha! Therefore,I went with the second best – the Pommels. 😉 But I guess that’s not too interesting actually,sorry 😛
    P.S. TEN MORE DAYS! ❤

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Wait, you’ve never had Semmelknödel?! I’m honestly shocked and disappointed ;). You need to make up for that ASAP.

      NicNacs are nasty so we might need to share a box of Snack-Mix when we meet – but only if I’m getting all Erdnussflips. Only ten more days, eeeeks!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Didn’t we all like gross foods growing up? Even nowadays gross-looking food can be some of the tastiest ;).

      Can you believe I’ve never had Kraft Mac & Cheese? It’s not popular at all around here.

  5. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    You definitely have the right mentality going when you say that food which brings such happiness shouldn’t evoke guilty feelings. Next time that guilt starts bubbling up inside, remember this and try to push the guilt away. After all, you deserve to be happy and food is meant to be enjoyed and savored! And I couldn’t agree more – some recipes simply aren’t meant to be altered. I also have a tendency to “healthify” traditional Russian recipes, especially because I want my parents to eat healthier. The results are usually less than stellar…lesson learned!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      It’s something I constantly need to remind myself of, really. Hope I’ll remember to do so during my weekend getaway with my mum. There’s going to be lots of food [anxiety] involved.

      Yes, I guess we connect the memories with the authentic versions of those traditional dishes. Healthifying them somehow means taking out a bit of that nostalgic feeling, too, if you know what I mean ;).

Leave a Reply

