WIAW … with odds, ends and lots of beans

First things first: Congratulations to our wonderful WIAW hostess Jenn, soon-to-be mum of a little pea!

I owe you an apology:  I lied … but I didn’t mean to! In Monday’s post I said I’d talk about something pretty fantastic – cereal!– and while ideas were floating around in my mind already I had yet to write the post. Being at my parents’, though, things life got in between :). I hope you’ll understand.  Be back for some [ce]real action soon :D.

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

Seeing as it’s What I ate Wednesday, though, I’m obviously not coming empty-handed in terms of food pictures. While cereal might not have been on the menu I still ate some good meals – sticking with my goal of getting a little more creative in the kitchen.

What it lacks in terms of appearance it makes up for in taste.

What it lacks in terms of appearance it makes up for in taste.

Not usually being a fan of leftovers I was glad to have above bowl of deliciousness waiting for me when I came home ravenous after work: Kidney Beans in Chocolate Mole Sauce. What it lacks in terms of appearance it makes up for it taste.

Somehow I tend to go a little wild shopping at the supermarket every now and then resulting in an overload of produce to be used up. One of those meals thrown together with all kinds of odds and ends that turn out surprisingly tasty: Chickpea and Veggie Stew.

Happy as a chick[pea]

Happy as a chick[pea]

Last week also featured my first time trying Borlotti beans and I’d say I’m pretty fond of them already. Chickpeas still remain my favourite but they might get a little competition from these little magical beans ;).

Another ugly but tasty meal: Borlotti Bean Soup with brown rice

Another ugly but tasty meal: Borlotti Bean Soup with brown rice

Looking at all of those meals it’s pretty obvious I’m a beanie  fond of beans, huh ;)?! Going with Jen’s WIAW motto for this month I obviously also got in my veggies. Stews for the win!

… and whatever happens almond butter will always finds its way into my day.

Almond butter jar

Happy Wednesday!

Are you a fan of leftovers?

What’s your favourite dish featuring beans? Feel free to link me up!

Any other produce overbuyers out there? Please tell me I’m not the only one :D.

27 thoughts on “WIAW … with odds, ends and lots of beans

  1. Flake And Cake says:

    We don’t ever have any leftovers, which is awful! I think my boyfriend and I are both quite greedy so if there is a little left we will just eat it rather than saving it! I love leftovers at home though 🙂

  2. Shreya @ rushofendorphins says:

    Those stews look great! I love hearty stews, and I refuse to stop eating them even though it’s like a million degrees out.

    Also, this may seem like a stupid question, but how come your almond butter is white in colour? I’ve never seen it before!

  3. Carli says:

    I used to avoid eating leftovers, but now I love them! Sometimes it’s nice to just be able to open your fridge and have a homecooked meal already prepared. All your meals look great, especially the chickpea and veggie stew. I absolutely love beans (especially chickpeas). Unfortunately, my stomach doesn’t always tolerate them well 😦

  4. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    “Somehow I tend to go a little wild shopping at the supermarket every now and then resulting in an overload of produce to be used up” <- Ha! Story.of.my.LIFE!! Unfortunately, when I was cleaning out the fridge the other day, I found my big and beautiful royal-hued eggplant I bought TWO WEEKS ago had turned to a shriveled up, wrinkly, MOLDY lump! I may or may not have shed a tear! 😦

    I LOVE leftovers! I love mixing them up and creating new recipes out of them or like you, just tossing them together with random fridge finds and creating a big bowl of yum! I swear some of the best flavor combos I've come up with have been by accident! Lol

    Favorite dish featuring beans? Wellllllll, you know me…I'm weird…so the first thing that comes to mind? DESSERT HUMMUS!! I've made so many different kinds, but for the last few days I've been thinking about making this one again: http://www.kissmybroccoliblog.com/2011/03/17/mint-chocolate-chip-dessert-hummus/ …I blame the girl scouts for getting me locked in on the chocolate mint combo right now…but I REFUSE to buy any cookies from those little monsters! Wait…are the scouts evil or just the cookies?? 😉

    Ps, I WANT to bathe in that chocolate mole sauce! Lol

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Ahem … I’m SO guilty of letting pretty and sturdy eggplant into unsightly mush … Woops. Can I blame their ephemerality? It can’t be me, right?!

      Please tell me I’m not missing out on too much deliciousness – we do have girl scouts but they don’t sell cookies :(. And it’s the girl scouts being evil not the poor innocent cookies ;).

      Dessert hummus is not weird at all. Actually, I just checked your recipe and am getting hungry looking at the pictures already. Chocolate? Mint? Looks like I need to go shopping for some white beans soon …

      And that chocolate mole? Can’t stop eating it when I make a batch – a bit unfortunate when I’m trying to keep leftovers ;). I might need to share the recipe though it’s not my own but can be found online.

      • Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

        Haha! Oh gosh, SO glad I’m not the only one! And don’t worry, you’re not reeeeeeeally missing out on much when it comes to the GS cookies…honestly, most cookie brands out there have all the flavors covered…for like HALF the price! Lol And yes, scouts evil…cookies…not! 😉

        It totally makes me happy that you’re not weirded out by the dessert hummus…you wouldn’t believe the looks/comments I’ve gotten over that stuff! But it’s soooo good! I even made chickpea cookies once with chocolate chips and took them to work…my coworkers were NONE the wiser…and polished off that plate FAST! Muahaha!

        Yes, PLEASE share the mole sauce! I’ve always wanted to try making it at home…I’m a bit of a whimp when it comes to spicy foods so I’m always scared to order it out!

      • letsgetupandlive says:

        Don’t be mad but I have yet to try the hummus and I might just have to try the carrot cake one first. I mean … it has coconut …
        Baking with chickpeas and beans is such a fun idea to trick others – not that we intended to do so or anything ;). My birthday “cake” last year actually was Chocolate covered Katie’s Deep Dish Cookie Pie.

        I’ll update the post with the mole recipe soon – though I’m a bit embarrassed by how easy it really is … Hope you’ll like it, still.

  5. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I don’t usually have leftovers. I’m kind of a make-as-I-go type person. I do a lot of meal prep at the beginning of the week actually.

    Chocolate mole sauce sounds very interesting, and it looks delicious!

  6. Irina @ Chocolatea Time says:

    Will you believe that I still haven’t tried mole sauce? I’ve been dying to try it for ages and haven’t succeeded yet. That almond butter looks really interesting! Is it made from raw almonds? I’m a big big big fan of leftovers, they really simplify life! Although there are some foods/meals that taste just plain nasty when kept for leftovers. And don’t even get me started on overbuying…it’s one of my worst qualities and something I continue to work on with every grocery trip :/

    P.S. – don’t worry I haven’t forgotten about your email! Things have been busy around these parts but I’ll get back to you soon ❤

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh well, you better get mole-sauce-making soon ;). Let me know if you want me to mail you the recipe I used.
      The almond butter I buy is made from blanched almond hence the white colour. It’s sweet, creamy and just great.

      Take your time with the reply. With all of the baby shower planning and work you have surely been one busy girl lately.

  7. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I think chickpeas have become my new favorite bean, even over my beloved black and pinto beans! They’re just so versatile and good no matter how they’re made! And I’m a produce overbuyer too, I always stock up on spinach in case they run out and I hoard fruit well before it ripens. Oh well, it’s worth it to always have lots of produce on hand!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Don’t get me started on spinach! I have yet to find it again in grocery stores – well, aside from one tiny bag I bough at a fancy store back in Berlin. Sigh …

      Fruit hoarding is one of my “bad” habits, too ;).

Leave a Reply

