Going green for success

What does the colour green mean to you? Maybe it makes you think of Spring? Nature? Or how about it being the great new WIAW motto for March? [Will you believe I had the title planned and the post written before I even knew that? Jenn clearly has mind-reading skills!]? During the past days, though, green had a different but no less postitive meaning to me: Success! Before I’m getting into the details let’s thank the wonderful Jenn for hosting yet another What I ate Wednesday! It’s always such a fun party!

WIAW GOES GREEN

Not like you hadn’t assumed it already or anything ;):  Yes, green meant success in terms of food. Okay, okay, I’ll make it short and sweet: I conquered a fear food!

Avocado

I’m well aware avocados are a healthy living blogger favourite but to me they were – and admittedly still are – a major fear food. Nutrient-dense, packed with fat and all that in combination with a rather unsuspecting taste. While I am quite fond of other dense foods – think almond butter or dark chocolate – this lovely green-hued food scared me. But – if for colour reasons of else 😉 – I decide it was time to conquer it once I stumbled upon Michelle’s brownie recipe.

Avocado and chocolate are a dream team.

Naturally topped with almond butter post-photo :).

Being quite the chocolate fan it was only natural for me to whip up this treat and let me tell you: It’s rich, satisfying and simply amazing. I’ve been enjoying an avocado brownie as a midday snack for the past days and don’t regret a bite. How could I, really?

Green made more appearances in terms of changing up my meals, too. Staying true with my February goals I’ve continued making more of an effort when cooking. Happening upon a surprise [maybe last for the season] kabocha I made the most of it come lunchtime.

Simple yet incredibly satisfying.

Simple yet incredibly satisfying.

Maybe you remember the Daiya cheese I got while in Berlin? It’s been sitting in the fridge for too long but finally jumped out to add a little something-something to my meals.

Spicy, warming and flavourful chili.

Spicy, warming and flavourful chili.

Winging it I created a tasty broccoli-packed vegan Chili Casserole made spectacular by the melty goodness of Daiya Pepperjack.  With that I’m off to get some work done swoon over everybody else’s WIAW posts :D.

Happy Wednesday!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this week?

Do you like avocado?

Are there any fear foods you’ve conquered lately?

17 thoughts on “Going green for success

  1. Kat says:

    OH EM GEEEEEEEEEEE,that brownie. Looks. So. Amazing. Rich and fudgy and dense and perfect.
    I admit I am not that much of a brownie-fan {blondies for the world!},but the avocado in this recipe totally sold me.
    Super proud of you for conquering a fear food,darling,but pssst… Were you really able to even TASTE the “cheese”…? If I add cheese to my dishes,I add a BAZILLION times more! I just love it that much,hehe 😀

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Wait, you’re not crazy about brownies? Sorry but I think we can’t be friends anymore then ;).
      Well, I could have done with twice the cheese, too, but my wallet would have cried. Daiya has a hefty price tag and additionally isn’t available anywhere around here. So don’t you worry: It’s not about the calories.

  2. Emily says:

    Ahhh! That brownie looks heavenly!
    And I’m glad you enjoyed the Daiya cheese! That used to be my favorite brand when I was vegan. I don’t buy it as often anymore (it’s so expensive!) but it’s always a nice treat when I do!

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Mmm, you’ve got some mighty fine-looking eats there missy! And I can’t help but get a little giddy over the fact that you threw broccoli into your chili! Go Broccoli! 😉

    I absolutely LOVE baking with avocado! When I first discovered blogworld, I made these chocolate avocado muffins that were sooooo good! I was nervous the entire time I was making them thinking they were going to taste awful, but I couldn’t believe how incredible they turned out…so moist and rich! Man, now I’ve got myself craving one! Lol

    Hmm, best thing I’ve eaten this week? I’d have to say the super secret pancakes that I’m working on for this coming Pancake Sunday post…ok, so it’s not a big secret…they’re samoa and they’re wonderful!! 😀

    Hope you’re having a great week doll! xoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Heather! Hope you’re having a great week – almost weekend, yay! -, too!

      What does broccoli NOT go with, right?! Not lying but it really is one of the vegetables I’m grabbing most every time I’m at a store. My mum regularly complains about the broccoli overload she’s left with when after I’ve been at my parents’ for the weekend :D. Clearly she doesn’t appreciate all the wonders of broccoli enough.

      Samoa pancakes? I’ll be over for breakfast at yours tomorrow – anything with coconut gets my sign of approval. Unless you’d planned on throwning in bacon ;).

  4. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Swoon! I looove avocados and LOOOVE chocolate, so these brownies sound pretty darn dreamy to me. 😀 I’m so happy to hear that you conquered that fear; avocados are pretty amazing, aren’t they!? I go through about 3-4 each week, and can’t quite believe that they were once a fear food for me as well. It just goes to show that our fears have nothing on us–taking those leaps of FAITH are so worth it!

    Your Chili Casserole looks delicious, too–I haven’t tried Daiya yet, but I’ve heard great things! The best thing I’ve eaten this week? Hmm..tough question, as there have been LOTS of great eats. I guess I’ll go with peanut butter-topped waffles and butternut squash risotto. 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, thank you, Sara! You’re right: it’s so worth conquering those fear foods.
      I’m admittedly still not completely over my fear of avocado yet but I guess I just need to keep pushing on. Especially as you and others enjoy them that much, too :).

      I saw those PB-topped waffles and the risotto on your blog. Oh my! If only we were able to get Van’s waffles – or any vegan ones, really – around here. The peanut butter + honey combination looks heavenly.

Leave a Reply

