WIAW with [not quite] green confessions

It’s easy not easy being green – at least sometimes. While I had the best intentions on living up to this month’s WIAW motto and getting more creative with veggies … I failed. Sorry, Jenn! That’s not to say I had forgotten about the veggies completely, though. Here’s to a new What I ate Wednesday edition confession-style – some green, some not quite.

WIAW GOES GREEN

Confession #1: However hard I try to imagine them being delicious I can’t wrap my head around the idea of green smoothies. Does having Green Monster casseroles regularly count as compensation?

Daiya on top is totally not optional – unless I’m running out …

Daiya on top is totally not optional – unless I’m running out …

Confession # 2: If going green means relying on seasonal produce only I’m dropping out of the game. Sorry I’m not sorry but starting the day without Blueberry Baked Oats seems almost impossible.

Topped with popped amaranth and almond butter sauce these are reason enough to get up.

Topped with popped amaranth and almond butter sauce these are reason enough to get up.

Confession #3: Bok choy may or may not be my new favourite leafy green. With its crunchy stalks and tender leaves it’s been making a sneaky appearance in just about every lunch.

Well worth the extra trip to the Asian grocery.

Well worth the extra trip to the Asian grocery.

Confession #4: Sometimes the green in my diet comes from a not quite natural source …

Why do I overdo it with these every time? Atchoo!

Why do I overdo it with these every time? Atchoo!

… and I’m not feeling guilty about it at all. Sure, these have a few unnecessary ingredients but it’s all about balance, right?!

Confession #5: Blueberries weren’t the only exception in terms of not living quite seasonal lately. Yes, I caved and bought strawberries when they were on offer. But I learned my lesson the hard way: Out-of-season strawberries do NOT taste good – mark my words. Covering them in almond flour and maple helped a little.

Don’t let the picture fool you: Watery, just watery.

Don’t let the picture fool you: Watery, just watery.

Happy Wednesday!

 

What’s one recent (foodie) confession you have to make?

Do you like bok choy? What is your favourite way of using it?

37 thoughts on “WIAW with [not quite] green confessions

  1. Kat says:

    Hahaaa,I love this post!
    And as you know,I am absolutely with you regarding that green smoothie-phobia.
    I’ve just read about CUCUMBERS thrown into a blender with banana and spinach.
    O. M. G. I’m speechless.
    However,I may or may not be a bit sad because there’s no cereal. Aaaaw. 😦

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Sorry my cravings disappoint you ;). If it makes you feel any better: Yes, there was some cereal snacking throughout the last week. Just not enough to justify finally finishing the cereal post I’ve been promising for ages …

  2. Ksenija @ Health Ninja says:

    Bok Choy and Wasabi Peas.. nom nom nom. I love everything Asian and bok choy is just perfect for noodle soups and stir frys. Don’t remember when I had wasabi peast the last time… it is just too long ago… should buy a batch soon!

  3. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I eat out of season produce all the time. My favorite veggies right now are winter squash and frozen peas. Not exactly in-season. Lol.

    And I think veggie casseroles may just be out green smoothies 😉

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Phew, thanks for the green reassurance ;).
      I’m glad to hear I’m not alone on the non-seasonal front. Ah, yes, I’ve still be eating all the winter squash I can get my hands on, too.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Personally, I wouldn’t enjoy its taste raw judging from the snippets I’ve tried when preparing it for dishes. I’ve also seen some claims on it being possibly harmful for the body when eaten raw. Sorry I can’t be of much help.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Jemma! Pineapple and other tropical fruit are fine to buy year-round as they never really are in season around here :). For me, it’s rather about buying produce that will be in season in several month but it’s right now – such as all kinds of berries. I think it’s the way of the thinking I was raised but I’ve started making an exception for blueberries this year :D.

  4. livliveslife says:

    I recently bought out of season strawberries too, and you’re right – they are NO good! It’s a bummer, as in the dreary winter months I’d like to enjoy some fresh berries! 😉

  5. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m absolutely horrible when it comes to seasonal eating – I crave all sorts of summer fruit even in the winter and end up buying it to satisfy those cravings. Sometimes I get lucky and they’re tasty, and sometimes they just end up tasting like rubbish. Ahh well. And I have to admit that bok choy is actually one of the veggies that I just can’t get myself to like. I don’t know what it is, but it and eggplant are on my veggie black list for sure.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      New mission: Convince you of the amazingness of bok choy :D. I mean, really?! It’s such a fantastic and versatile vegetable – how can you not like it :)? Eggplant is so-so for me. Some times I enjoy it and others I just don’t want to have any at all.
      I may or may not blame you for luring me into buying blueberries with all of your yogurt bowl pictures … But you’re forgiven as they’re making my breakfast such a lot brighter and sweeter :).

  6. bella says:

    You are too funny…. having a green smoothie is simple, just add spinach to your fav fruit smoothie, lol. Maybe you should have done that with those strawberries instead, haha.

    I know it’s not as SCARY as those REAL green smoothies, but hey it does have green in it, and even my kids love it. I really want to try a more GREEN smoothie, but I’m just a tad bit scared too, haha.

    I love bok choy too, and usually just saute it like I would spinach or kale. I love the crunchiness too.

    Your oats actually look tasty, I’m not crazy about oats, but those popped thingies on top sound yummy!!

    So glad I stopped by! Have a great day girl 🙂
    P.s. After coming back from an extended blogging break, I’ve started a 40 day challenge to get HEALTHY by my birthday. If you get a chance to check it out, I could sure use the support!
    Hugs, Bella 🙂
    Bella’s 40 Day Challenge

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Actually, I’m not a smoothie person in general preferring to chew my food :D. I’m sure you can’t taste spinach in fruit smoothies but some of the conconctions I’ve seen seemed just too much for me. Beet? Raw kale? Sorry, I’m NOT it ;).

      Give popped amaranth a try! If you don’t like oats it can be used in so many more ways like sprinkled on yogurt bowls or – why not? – smoothies.
      Have a great day, too.

  7. Emily says:

    Haha! Seasonal eating never works for me either. That’s why I look forward to spring and summer because almost everything is flavorful and delicious!
    All of your photography is gorgeous this week. (:

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      So true! Every season offers fantastic foods but summer with its overabundance of fresh fruit can’t be beat. Though I can never wait for autumn bringing kabocha squash onto the market again, either ;).

  8. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I’m so sad that berries aren’t in season yet–they’re some of my favorite fruits! I usually just buy frozen berries in the off-season but sometimes I cave and buy out-of-season fruit, like when I bought some watermelon the other week. And it wasn’t good 😦

    I’m not the biggest smoothie fan either, I find they fill me up really quickly but then an hour later I’m starving again! I much prefer to chew my food!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Phew, I really thought I was an odd one out blogger for not liking smoothies.
      Good to know about the watermelon – though I’m sorry for you – as I actually thought about picking one up at the supermarket. Though they might be different around here but you can never know ;).

  9. Serena says:

    Your pictures are gorgeous! These foods look delicious! I swear, however, that green smoothies are so delicious 🙂 Just drink them from a opaque bottle so you can’t tell its green!!!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Okay, okay, I get it :D. I’ll give green smoothies a try once I can find – and I’m not making this one up – fresh spinach in stores again. Aside from one ugly package that I actually had to discard because it smelled terrible when opening it I haven’t seen any spinach yet.

  10. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Your first confession is my own! I’ve never ever tried a green smoothie because…well, they kind of give me the heebie jeebies. I love eating my greens, so slurping them seems entirely unnecessary. 😉 Call me anti-trendy, but I’m very happy with red, pink, purple and even brown (chocolate + peanut butter) smoothies. 🙂

    I don’t blame you for wanting to start every day with blueberry baked oats; they look delicious! I’d love the recipe, if you’re willing to share. 🙂

    Thank you so much for your sweet tweet today! ❤ I hope you had a lovely weekend! xoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Red, pink and purple? I fully approve of your anti-trendy ways :D.
      Actually, somebody else asked for the baked oats recipe already but I hesitated posting it as it’s embarrassingly simple ;).
      I’m glad to hear you’re out of hospital again and will keep my fingers crossed for you!

  11. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh darlin’ I PROMISE you can’t taste the spinach…just the fruit! I never thought I’d like it either…until I tried! 🙂

    I confess that I just bought some strawberries too! But the ONLY reason I did was because they were sampling them at the store…so I KNEW they were worth it! Now I’ll just confess and say they’re not organic! 😯

    I LOVE bok choy…but I’ve never done anything with it other than saute it in a bit of oil and doused it in soy sauce!

Leave a Reply

