Let’s talk Greek [yogurt]!

I’m so sorry I disappeared for a whole week when I’d actually meant to post more often. Kudos to all bloggers out there working full-time yet managing to stick to regular – often even daily – posts Honestly, tips on time management are much appreciated so feel free to share!

Enough of that for now, though, because it’s time for our midweekly food party once again: What I ate Wednesday. Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

WIAW GOES GREEN

Looking through my camera’s memory card a theme for this week emerged quickly. While I apparently didn’t deem lunches picture worthy enough I found plenty of evidence for my latest food kick. And as Greek sounds a lot like green I deemed it fitting for WIAW ;).

Quark

You might remember me mentioning my coconut flour and Greek yogurt combo a while back? Let’s just say I brought this snack that I’d deemed perfect to new heights. With this special new food find …

Banana flakes

Sun-ripened dried banana flakes or simply: Deliciousness.

… a new favourite was born: Coconut Banana Greek yogurt. Sweetened just by the banana flakes it didn’t need any maple syrup. Obviously topped with almond butter because it magically turns the best of snacks into something even more amazing.

It might not look like much but the flavour and texture are swoon-worthy.

It might not look like much but the flavour and texture are swoon-worthy.

As if coming up with a great new combination myself wasn’t good enough I stumbled upon this in one of the grocery stores around. Squeee!

Thick and creamy with a slight tang completemented perfectly by the sweet blueberries – hit the spot.

Thick and creamy with a slight tang completemented perfectly by the sweet blueberries – hit the spot.

Just to explain my excitement to any American readers: Germany is devoid of any of the popular Greek yogurt brands like Chobani or Oikos and grocery store brands don’t exist. The only Greek yogurt we can get at select supermarkets is full-fat and even that does only come in plain flavor. What I’ve been referring to as Greek yogurt is actually “Quark”, German curd cheese. Now you might get how delighted I was finding Fage split cups. Regarding the hefty price tag they’ll definitely be an occasional splurge only but it’s nice to treat myself every now and then. Just looking at the pictures makes me feel it might not be long until I cave again 😉 …

Happy Wednesday everybody!

 

What are some of your latest food finds?

Have you tried mixing Greek yogurt with coconut flour yet?

Unrelated to food: Did Spring make an appearance where you live yet? I’m already prepared for a white Christmas Easter.

38 thoughts on “Let’s talk Greek [yogurt]!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It really is fantastic – let me know if you give it a try :)!
      Applesauce is another fave mix-in of mine, too, but I’ve shamefully been neglecting peanut butter for a while. Have a great day, too!

  1. Kristy @ Southern In Law says:

    Dried banana flakes? that sounds incredible!! I really really need to get some coconut flour and jump on the bandwagon as I keep seeing so many yummy ways to use it.

    Spring has definitely not sprung here in Australia – but that’s because we’re heading into fall/autumn. I am SO wishing we were heading for warmer weather rather than a cold winter though 😦

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Coconut flour is a favourite pantry staple of mine and so versatile. I’m sure you’ll like it, too.
      Sorry it’s getting colder for you now that we’re waiting for the arrival of Spring. At least you won’t get any sub-zero temperatures, right :)? And I’ve honestly been longing for a teleporter to Australia more than once during the past months.

  2. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Oh my dear sweet Fage! That was my first ever Greek yogurt experience! I used to LOVE the strawberry ones! And I promise I’m not trying to rub it in, but my latest find was Oikos toasted coconut Greek yogurt…it’s as amazing as it sounds…actually no, it’s BETTER than that! But hey, if it makes you feel any better, I’m totally jealous of your banana flakes! 😉 I love mixing coconut flour (or peanut flour) into my yogurt…so good!

    Let me know if you get any good tips on that time management thing…so far, the only thing I’ve found is lack of sleep! Ha!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Rub it right in, Heather! Not like I hadn’t seen it all over the blog world already and gotten jealous but now I may need to tease you with the banana flakes more often ;).
      Lack of sleep is definitely a culprit for me, too, but I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for more tips :).

  3. Carli says:

    I love Greek yogurt! It’s one of my favorite foods, hands down. That’s sad that you don’t have any popular brands in Germany, but I’m glad you found the Fage! And I haven’t yet tried your coconut Greek yogurt, but I seriously need to get on that!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Haha, I’ll forgive for not trying it yet if you do soon ;). Greek yogurt is already fantastic on its own – unless we’re talking about fat-free …
      Which is your favourite brand and flavour?

      • Carli says:

        Fage is really good, both the plain and the flavored ones. Strawberry is probably my favorite of the flavors, but I like the plain as well. I’m not a big fan of Oikos though. I find it’s too runny.

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    It’s going to be a white Easter around here too, unfortunately. But at least the weather is warming up so hopefully the snow won’t stick around for TOO long. And on the topic of Greek yogurt and recent foodie finds, I just recently found some coconut Greek yogurt and it’s amazing. I’ve never tried adding coconut flour to yogurt before, but if it tastes anything like the coconut yogurt I found then I’m definitely going to have to give it a shot… especially because I’m curious about how it changes the texture.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Didn’t you mean to try it back when I first posted my coconut flour Greek yogurt concoction ;)?! The texture is simply amazing: Super thick and creamy. Still, I want to try that toasted coconut Greek yogurt everybody’s talking about.

  5. Natalie @ Lift,Sleep, Eat says:

    I am so addicted to greek yoghurt; i just read that they’re bringing new flavours out near me in England too so im so excited to try them! Those banana flakes look unreal! Wish I could find some haha!

  6. ahealthyhappyhome says:

    I’m obsessed with Banana flakes lately! I’ve been getting them in the bulk section at Whole Foods and love them! I bake with them, add them to my sweet scrambles, yogurt, smoothies, you name it! Such a great find!

  7. Sarah Pie says:

    Ohh I love Greek yogurt! Your coconut banana combo sounds just lovely 🙂 I’m a big fan of topping it with homemade granola, and I might have to try some of your suggestions when I mix up my next batch.

  8. Greta says:

    I adore greek yogurt. I actually love it plain and full fat. Fat satisfies me more I can add whatever to it. Coconut flakes are the best or berries and nut or nut butters… I’m shutting up as I can write an endless comment about those variations 😀

  9. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Mmm…your Greek/quark-coconut flour yogurt creation looks so good! In my yogurt-eating days, this is something I would have tried in a heartbeat! Since dairy seems to be giving me major problems these days, I’m looking for a good dairy-free alternative, however almond milk and coconut milk yogurts just aren’t the same! Maybe adding the coconut flour will help…Hmm. 🙂

    Speaking of coconut, last weekend I bought a package of coconut almonds, which have served as my go-to snack all week. They’re my latest exciting food find, and one that I need to re-stock asap, because I finished them off today.

    How exciting that you found Fage!! Have you ever considered ordering Greek yogurt? I’m not sure if Chobani or Oikos ships, but it might be worth looking into!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week, my dear! ❤ xoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Coconut almonds sound fantastic. Aaaah, yet another item I wish we could get in Germany but all we can find are plain almonds 😦 – no flavoured ones at all.
      Aw, I’m sorry to hear dairy seems to be a culprit for stomach troubles to you. Definitely give coconut flour a try to make the non-dairy yogurts better. While not getting quite as thick as Greek yogurt it worked great for me in soy yogurt as well.
      Ordering Chobani or Oikos online? Stop giving me ideas, girl :D. Really, though, I can’t imagine them shipping as far as to Germany seeing as the products would have to be chilled the whole time and it being quite far.

  10. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    We usually have a white Easter here because Colorado is weird and gets random weather in the spring, but this year it’s supposed to be really nice and sunny!

    I love coconut flour in anything, so if I end up eating Greek yogurt again, I’ll have to try that combo! I’m sure it would be quite delicious and tropical, especially if I added fresh pineapple to the mix.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Okay, I’ll stop complaining about having a white Easter for once hearing that it’s no exception for you.
      Pineapple sounds like a great add-in for the yogurt though I wouldn’t use fresh as it can make dairy taste odd.

  11. Kammie says:

    yogurt + coconut flour?
    ABSO-freaking-LUTELY. It’s amazing. I love it. I’ve been doing it since I discovered coconut flour last year. I like to add some almond milk to it too to make it a bit smoother and add a myriad of other things, like cocoa powder – I do love my chocolate.

  12. livliveslife says:

    Yum. I have been in love with Greek yogurt for about two years now. I have it daily! I also love how versatile it is…I snuck it into a dessert this past weekend. That makes it healthy, right? 😉

    And as far as time management tips, I might not be the best to take advice from, but I find that writing or at least partially drafting blog posts ahead of time seriously speeds up the process. I’m like you and feel bad when I don’t post often, so doing that really helps me!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yes, it definitely was a healthy dessert having Greek yogurt 😀 – same goes for adding fruit.
      Drafting posts is a great idea, thanks for sharing, Liv! You surely are doing better in terms of time management than me.

Leave a Reply

