Happy Easter with [un]successful cake experience

Happy (belated?) Easter!

Flowers

I hope you all had a lovely weekend and what better way to start the week than with another day off?! Now that’s a case of the Mondays I could get used to … And which better way to celebrate the happiness than with Katie’s Marvelous in my Monday? Thanks for hosting, Katie!

MiMM_new

While I wish I could pretend elsewise we did indeed get a white Easter as predicted. It wasn’t a reason to fret, though, as I got to spend the weekend at my parents’ enjoying a nice walk through the white. Plenty of sunshine amidst the white made up for the snow still being present.

 

Our try on bird-watching: The cranes were frightened so we had to stay in the car. Can you spot them in the distance?

Our try on bird-watching: The cranes were frightened so we had to stay in the car. Can you spot them in the distance?

Long promised and now finally happening: Cake!  I know Amanda might have given up hopes on me ever having it already. I’d been meaning to prepare one for weeks months – whenever visiting my parents in between my birthday and now – yet there was always fortune getting in between. Either my mum or my grandma would have already whipped up a [non-vegan] cake not leaving any desire for more. Maybe I was even happy for it not happening as I can’t deny I was still afraid: Too many extra calories, I wouldn’t be “allowed” to have any other sweets that day, what if it didn’t taste as good as I hoped? The list would go on endlessly.

No-bake vegan Mandarin-Yogurt-Cake.

No-bake vegan Yogurt Cake [or Torte as we call it]

Preparing this no-bake cake on Saturday night I couldn’t hide my excitement to try a piece on Sunday, though. Because there was also hope I’d be blown away by its tastiness and happy being able to finally say I’d eaten a whole piece of cake again.

Success in unsuccessful cake.

Success in unsuccessful cake.

Let’s say it right away: The cake looked better than it tasted. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful but the cream base could definitely have used more flavour while the crust was really good. Still, I ate the whole piece without regret. And that actually makes this cake experience a huge success: Not too long ago I’d have been incredibly disappointed eating something that didn’t satisfy me completely. I’d have considered it a waste of calories and grieved it. Now, though? Well, it wasn’t great but that’s okay. It didn’t make me skip the chocolate notoriously eaten on Easter or – who would I be to deny the fact ;)? – every day.

Despite my expectations my mum did indeed get me a (vegan dark chocolate) Easter bunny.

Despite my expectations my mum did indeed get me a (vegan dark chocolate) Easter bunny.

The little guy above survived Easter, though, thanks to my mum having thoughtfully bought me a bar of Lindt 85 %, too. Your luck, Easter bunny, but you still won’t get away :D.

Ending the weekend on a funny note my mum and I watched Tangled. Sunday evenings are usually reserved for my mum’s crime thrillers [the famous German “Tatort” movies in case you’ ve heard of them before] which I’m not keen on. Tangled was a fantastic alternative having both of us laugh out loud and enjoy the cutesy of the characters. Nothing like a bit of Disney to end the night, right?!

 

Whom did you spend Easter with and what did you do?

Which is your favourite Disney movie?

19 thoughts on “Happy Easter with [un]successful cake experience

  1. Carli says:

    I have to agree that it certainly does sound like your cake experience was a huge success! At times, I also struggle with feeling like I “wasted” calories if something doesn’t taste as good as I’d hoped. I just try to remember that not every piece of food I put into my mouth is going to be amazingly delicious or perfect. And when it comes down to it, food is fuel and it doesn’t necessarily have to always taste great. Plus, maybe now if you decide to make the recipe again, you can tweak it and make it even better next time!

    I hope you and your family had a wonderful Easter!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Sorry to hear that the cake was a bit of a flop, but it was still a really great step in the right direction 🙂 I had a lot of food flops when I first started facing more of my fear foods because I’d try to make them feel as safe as I possibly could, which usually ended up sacrificing a lot of the flavor. I’m glad to hear that you got to enjoy some treats this year, though, and ending the night with Disney is always a win in my books 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thank you, Amanda! It was definitely partly due to the fact of me playing it rather safe on this cake. Seeing as it is – or at least should be 😉 – Spring my mum requested something “fresher” (not necessarily meaning low-calorie). Obviously this yogurt cake couldn’t live up to my cake dreams involving vegan whipped cream and chocolate. A dream saved for another day in the future, right :)?!
      No surprise you as one of the hugest fans I know approve of a Disney movie night :D. Which one of the newer movies should I watch next?

  3. Kat says:

    Ha,my mum and I watched Tangled as well! 🙂
    I just love Disney movies,especially because of the great music – which unfortunately ALWAYS annoys my dead to death… When Tapunzel started singing,he “had” to leave the room for a while… Lol 😛

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Great to hear you and your mum enjoyed it, too. My dad opted out straight away when I told him what we’d planned to watch. He’s not much into watching television in anyway, though.

  4. Greta says:

    That cake looks really good! And I’d chosen it instead of an Easter bunny 😀
    Yeah, moms! I have asked mine not to make or buy anything for me (I’m celiac so I “demand” special treats) yet, she bough the whole basket of gluten free goodies.
    And I’ve eaten them all!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 God help me to fit into my jeans tomorrow!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      No way, lady :D! I just saw your amazing basket of Easter goodies on your blog and this cake – while not bad – definitely couldn’t have lived up to all of that chocolate goodness. As long as you’ve eaten all of the goodies with pleasure who cares about fitting into jeans ;)?

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      My expectations might have just been too high with it being my first time having cake after such a long while.
      Tangled is awesome! Which are some of your other favourite Disney movies?

  5. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    “Not too long ago I’d have been incredibly disappointed eating something that didn’t satisfy me completely. I’d have considered it a waste of calories and grieved it.” <- Omg, I am SO right there with you on this!! SO MUCH!! I'm so proud of you sweetie!! xoxo

    Tangled was the cutest movie! Actually, you just reminded me that I need to put it on my list of movies to buy! Whenever I go to the used book/movie store, I always end up forgetting what I want to look for! Lol

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aww, thank you so much, Heather! I wish I could say I’d fully overcome that fear of “wasting calories” already but I guess it’s stil la work in progress. But better than nothing, right?
      Forgetting what you wanted to look for? Story of my life right there. Oooh, I want to come over and have a Disney movie night with you :).

Leave a Reply

