Marvelous in my Monday: Listening to your needs

Happy Monday! Spring has finally graced us with a sunny and – compared to the past weeks – warm weather. Reason enough to start the day with a smile and keep it up all day. Our sweet host Katie is the perfect example for staying positive every day. Thanks for the inspiration, Katie!

MiMM_new

Not being able to visit my parents the past weekend was one I’d have once again filed under “not mention-worty” – that is, if it wasn’t for my goal of practicing positivity [which I’ll finally publish the whole post about soon].  My motto: No day in life passes by without at least a bit of positivity, something worth remembering – however big or small it might be.

Flowers

With my goal in mind I focused on the positives in this weekend and looking back can honestly say it wasn’t completely unsuccessful. Sure, I could have gotten a lot more reading done for the huge project I need to work on for university. But I did make progress in caring for and making myself feel good. While I like to make sure others are doing well it’s listening to and fulfilling my own needs that I’m still working on.

Swan

Watching the swans at sunset on my walk.

The most important step trying to listen to my needs was taking both Friday and Sunday off from running – something I wouldn’t have considered only a short while ago. Two rest days this close to each other on days where I had plenty of time? Even though I wasn’t feeling it I hadn’t meant to take Friday off wanting to make the most of the good weather. But then I remembered this post by Meg talking about intuitive exercise and changed my mind. Running wasn’t what I truly felt like so I put it off. Going for a walk instead I could feel my sore muscles thanking me for the relaxation.

Soaking up the sunshine on my walk.

Soaking up the sunshine and getting my daily dose of Vitamin D.

Another need taken care of was finally calling to my brother. He’s been traveling through Asia with his girlfriend since January. Due to time differences and wonky internet connections we hadn’t been able to talk ever since. While I had been following up with their experiences through their blog it was a much needed catch-up. I hope we’ll be able to talk again soon – what would we be doing without Skype, right?!

How was your weekend?

Do you work out intuitively or stick to your schedule?

22 thoughts on “Marvelous in my Monday: Listening to your needs

  1. adashofmegMeg @ A Dash of Meg says:

    Oh, girl! What a lovely blog you have yourself here! Beautiful picture as well 🙂 I can’t stop staring at all of the beauty ❤ so happy you took a walk instead of a run as that is what your body needed/wanted most! So proud of you 🙂

  2. Kat says:

    Wow,that photo of the lake you took on your walk… Breathtaking,honestly!
    I am so proud of you for listening to your body and your needs. You’re a huge inspiration for me,but I guess you know that already,don’t you? ❤

  3. Carli says:

    Wow, what beautiful photos! I love your motto; there truly is something positive in every single day. I am very proud of you for honoring your body and giving it the rest it needs and deserves. Listening to your body can be tough and is something I am still trying to acheive, but I am so happy that you were able to accomplish that this weekend!

    Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      There absolutely is at least one positive thing in every day – even more I’d say because to me even the smallest things count :).
      Listening to one’s needs truly is a work in progress but I’m convinced you’ll achieve this, too. I wouldn’t pretend I had it down all of the time, either, but I’m eager to continue learning.
      I hope you’ll have an amazing week, too!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Walks are fantastic exercise and it’s sad many people don’t see them as “enough”. Also, I enjoy listening to podcasts while walking so I’m even learning something new at the same time. Killing two birds with one stone, right ;)?!

  4. dixya@food, pleasure, and health says:

    I am so glad you are listening to your body and taking time off running. Sometimes I get into routine so much that I forget to relax and end up being really stressed 🙂 its just great to walk and enjoy the surroundings 🙂 sending you lots of love!

  5. Linz says:

    i workout everyday, but take rest days as needed. like last week i took one on monday (i had terrrrible cramps – like the stay in bed kind) and one on wednesday (i got waaaay too little sleep and totally needed the extra hour!) itz all about honoring your body no matter which way you do it! 🙂 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Way to go in terms of honoring your body! Thanks for the inspiration, Linz. I wouldn’t work out if seriously injured, either, but I’ve definitely dragged myself at times I could have used an extra hour of sleep.

  6. Emily says:

    Your photography is gorgeous, per usual. (:
    And I’m really proud of you for taking the weekend off from running. I’m sure your body LOVED having the extra rest.

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    That shot of the swan is absolutely gorgeous. I think it’s really great that you decided to take some time off from running when your body just wasn’t feeling it. Exercise is supposed to make us feel healthier and more energetic, not wear us down to the point where we’re exhausted and unable to perform in other areas of our life. A little time off is always a good thing 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, thanks for the compliment on the picture :).
      You’re right about exercise being meant to make us happier and during the past time it hadn’t done that much for me anymore. I guess I can be pretty stubborn at ignoring my inner voice at times.

  8. Allison @ Life's a Bowl says:

    That’s a huge step that you were able to break away from what you thought you “should do” and do what you wanted to do – taking 2 rest days may seem hard in the moment but I bet that your body was so appreciative! And that scenery on your walk is stunning 🙂

Leave a Reply

