Trying to switch it up intuitively

First off: Thank you so much for all of your kind and supportive comments on my last post! While resting felt good reassurance was definitely needed still. It feels good to know many of you are advocating taking as many rest days as needed – not following a strict schedule.

Wait, did you come here for a specific reason today ;)? Okay, okay … let’s get onto the food! Not before thanking Jenn, though. Thanks for hosting What I ate Wednesday once again!

WIAW

Trying to exercise more intuitively was – as you might have guessed already – linked to my recent trials in Intuitive Eating. Inspired by many lovely blogging ladies like Heather and Meg I finally picked up my copy of Intuitive Eating again. I’ve admittedly had this book sitting on my nightstand for several months a while already but hadn’t really committed myself to the challenge yet. As of now I can’t pride myself with any huge successes yet but I want to keep trying.

Greek yogurt with peanut  and coconut flour, banana flakes and maple syrup that got even more decadent …

Greek yogurt with peanut and coconut flour, banana flakes and maple syrup that got even more decadent …

Eating intuitively also means questioning my go-to dishes to me. So while Blueberry baked Oats had been on the menu for breakfast for quite a while I wasn’t feeling them anymore lately. What’s a girl to do? Experiment obviously! The first time I had above Greek yogurt combo it tasted good but my stomach was undecided. The second day it hit the spot and the third …

… by adding chocolate sauce – because a girl needs her chocolate fix in the morning already.

… by adding almond butter and chocolate sauce – because there’s never too much chocolate.

Well, not even plenty of Heather’s healthy chocolate sauce which, by the way, is totally addictive was able to satisfy me that day. I’m not sure about the reason yet but I guess we just don’t crave the same every day.

When in doubt go with old favourites after all. Trying to stick with changing it up, though, I prepared a dish I had found way back and not eaten in quite a while. Yet another one not winning prices for appearance but making up in taste all the more.

One of the richest, most decadent casseroles I’ve had to date and completely vegan.

One of the richest, most decadent casseroles I’ve had to date and completely vegan.

If you haven’t tried this Creamy Eggplant Creole yet you seriously have to. Believe me: It’s totally worth the extra work of roasting the eggplant. Seeing as eggplant’s on offer this week I won’t keep myself from having it again – sorry but rules like changing it up can be broken bended for exceptional dishes like this ;).

As I semi-promised ending every WIAW post on a sweet note here’s this week’s. With Spring bringing slightly warmer temperatures a friend of mine spontaneously suggested getting frozen yogurt. Which is still quite the novelty around here so don’t even ask for fancy flavours: plain tart is all we can get. There’s a bit more to say about this frozen yogurt date but I’ll leave that for another post :).

Frozen yogurt

Do you consider yourself an Intuitive Eater?

Have you tried any new food combinations or recipes lately?

Overall: How have you been feeling lately?

39 thoughts on “Trying to switch it up intuitively

  1. Sora says:

    I think it’s awesome that you’re trying to become more intuitive! Congrats and good luck!
    I consider myself a work-in-progress intuitiver:)

  2. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    Wow, that casserole looks amazing and perfect as I love eggplant and this recipe looks really good!

    One new food combo I’ve been loving lately in nori wraps rolled up around spinach and other fillings to look like a burrito. I don’t know why I’ve been obsessed with it, but I’ve had a version of it almost every day!

  3. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Huge props to you for giving intuitive eating a go! It was a bit of a rocky ride for me when I first started, but totally worth every struggle. You can do it, girl! ❤ I now consider myself a semi-intuitive eater, mainly because I think having some structure suits me best. Intuitive eating can be tricky when you have a busy schedule, so I've found that eating every 3-4 hours, while continuing to listen to my cravings is a happy medium. 🙂

    Oh my goodness, you're Creamy Eggplant Creole looks absolutely incredible! I'm definitely going to check out that recipe now. I love moussaka, so something tells me that I'll feel the same way about this dish. 😉

    I'm looking forward to hearing about your frozen yogurt date! I love tart froyo! ❤ xoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Rocky is definitely the right description for my journey so far but as you said I think it’ll be worth it in the end. Thanks for believing in me, Sara!
      Though I’m actually having too much time at the moment I still need a structure more than anything. Having to work for classes from home I easily tend to snack around all day instead of having meals. It’s one of the biggest problems I have to work on aside from finding out what my true cravings are.
      Yes, I’m sure you’d enjoy the Eggplant Creole. Do you have a good recipe for vegetarian or vegan moussaka? I’ve actually never had it before but meant to give it a try.
      Hope you’re having a fantastic Wednesday, girl!

  4. Aimée Thomson says:

    Loving the yoghurt/coconut flour/peanut flour combo, I think I’m going to have to try this ASAP! I dream of a day we can have a little froyo date! I might be back in the UK in September, so I might have to take a little trip!

  5. jessielovestorun says:

    Good for you on following on challenging yourself to become more of an intuitive eater! To answer your question; lately I’ve been feeling wonderful, thanks! Have a great rest of the day ❤

  6. Carli says:

    That’s great that you are working on intuitive eating and learning how to listen to your body. That is my ultimate goal, but right now, it’s nearly impossible for me to eat intuitively. I wish I could, but since my hunger cues are still off and I am trying to gain weight, I have to eat by the clock. *sigh* Oh well, I am hoping I will get there one day!

    I have a question about the book you mentioned…do you find it helpful? I am thinking of looking into it more when I get closer to being at a point where I can eat intuitively!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oooh, well, for me almond butter and chocolate might do so. That’s what I topped the Greek yogurt with in the photo, actually :). So peanut flour + almond butter + chocolate would be a new favourite combination of mine.

  7. Natalie @ Lift,Sleep, Eat says:

    Oh yum all your eats look great; greek yoghurt with anything is always a winner in my book..i love stirring loads of different stuff into it and just seeing what it turns out like 🙂 peanut flour + chocolate sauce is always a good combo with it too 🙂

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Great job for giving intuitive eating a more serious effort, girlie! I’m still not entirely sure what constitutes 100% pure intuitive eating, but I don’t spend much time thinking about my food, I don’t count calories or macros, I eat what I’m craving, and I eat when I’m hungry… so I guess I’m doing okay 🙂 Just don’t give up when things start to get difficult or confusing! I know I made tonnes of mistakes while I was learning to eat more intuitively, but each time was a learning experience and it gets easier the longer you keep at it.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks for the supportive words, Amanda! Actually, things are already difficult and confusing. Not that I wanted to give up already but it’s not going to be easy to stick with it.
      I’m pretty sure you’re on the right track with the way you’re eating :). Hoping I’ll get there soon, too.

  9. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I would consider myself an intuitive eater because I pay really close attention to what my body can handle and what it can’t. I think the whole idea of trying to eat more intuitively is great and I think all of your meals sound so healthy yet totally crave-worthy 🙂 Keep on doing great!

  10. Sarah Pie says:

    I’ve never even heard of intuitive eating (but it’s been popping up so much around blogs lately I may have to check it out… maybe after finals 🙂 )

    I’ve been trying green smoothies lately which is new and unusual for me… still not sure I love them but they are growing on me. And I love the way they make me feel!

  11. Emily says:

    I’m so extremely proud of you. Listening to your body will only get easier- just don’t give up. (:
    And I’m convinced that ANYTHING tastes better when it’s topped with chocolate and/or nut butter. Yum! Definitely keep experimenting with different foods- especially breakfast! The options are limitless.

  12. Jen says:

    I had never heard of intuitive eating, interesting concept! I definitely listen to my body when choosing my meals, though. Sometimes I seem so caught up in a few things or having the same meal 3 times a day, its strange but I always assumed my body must be missing something that is found in those foods. Usually it is something healthy and full of vitamins, who knows! I will definitely have to read more about this intuitive eating concept. Also, that casserole looks SO good!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      I’m with you on the point that cravings for certain foods are a sign we need specific nutrients they contain. Nature has created us in a neat way to internally know what we need even if we’re trying to make ourselves believe elsewise :).

  13. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    I don’t follow IE, exactly, but I am–as you know–working on just trying to EAT without overthinking it. This has its bonuses, but also its occasional nut butter or granola binge downfalls! I have been trying to “switch it up” like you, but not only because of what I’m ‘feeling’ but also to get my cooking mojo back. 🙂

    Right now I have a wonky tummy, so I’m not feeling the most wonderful, but I’m hoping it will get better!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Ahem, yes, nut – for me almond – butter binges definitely happen. I’m trying not to feel anxious about them but it’s not easy.
      Getting more creative in the kitchen again was another reason for me wanting to switch it up, too. One day I’ll regret not having used all of the time I’m able to spend in the kitchen now :D.
      Keeping my fingers crossed for you to feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

