Still hungry?

It’s here, it’s here! Spring has finally arrived and it’s making me so happy! Sunshine does miracles in brightening my mood and lifting the funk I’ve admittedly been in. Add in some good meals eaten and I’m a [mostly] happy camper. Speaking of food it’s actually What I ate Wednesday already again. Does anybody else feel like the week in between flew by in record speed? Anyway, thanks to our awesome host and mom-to-be, Jenn!

WIAW

If you read my last WIAW you’ll know I’m trying to eat more intuitively. So how has it been working the past week? I won’t lie and pretend I had changed a lot of what I’ve been eating. It’s definitely not a walk in the park but I didn’t expect it to be, either. What I did, though, was listening to my inner voice more inspired by the ten principles of Intuitive Eating described by Evelyn Tribole.

Healthy “chocolate” I’ve been starting pretty much every day with recently.

Healthy “chocolate” I’ve been starting pretty much every day with recently.

Rather than trying to implement all of the ten principles of Intuitive Eating found in the book  at once I have a different plan of action. My strategy is to find out how much each of them fits into the stage of recovery I am in and see which ones I currently need to work on most.

Wheatberry “Pizza” Casserole modified from Sarah’s recipe. Certainly one I'll repeat.

Wheatberry “Pizza” Casserole modified from Sarah’s recipe. Certainly one I’ll repeat.

Being a volume eater the two principles I’ve been focusing on lately are “Feel your fullness” and “Discover the satisfaction factor”. In the past I would usually clean my plate – or designated serving of a dish if I hadn’t just prepared a [huge] single serving at all in anyway. More often than not I ate past my point of fullness. Do I even need to tell you how uncomfortable it felt? Even knowing I hadn’t eaten more than xyz calories I still felt bad and like I’d overeaten.

Soothing tea to settle a wonky stomach.

Soothing tea to settle a wonky stomach.

Honoring these principles I made a conscious effort to pause during meals and ask myself questions suggested by the authors like: Am I still hungry? Does the food taste as good as when I started eating? Will eating more make me feel better?

Dare I say I’m a little proud coming up with this gem of a recipe? Vegan cheesy “egg” covered casserole.

Dare I say I’m a little proud coming up with this gem of a recipe? Vegan cheesy “egg” covered casserole.

Surprisingly, reminding myself that I could go back later and eat more if I wanted to, I discovered that most of the time I was actually satisfied with less. Yes, I did finish the remainder of my serving later in the day but I didn’t feel hungry right after my meals. It might seem like a small success to some but to me it was a good feeling.

Not bad but not enough. Good fortune the friend of mine needed some “help” with her caramel sundae ;).

Not bad but not enough. Good fortune the friend of mine needed some “help” with her caramel sundae ;).

One food that will never fill me up is ice cream. Maybe that’s one of the reason I’ve been avoiding it despite being a huge fan but I’ll work on that. Because how sad would a life without ice cream be? Enjoying the first – and definitely not last – scoops of the year on a gorgeously sunny day was pure bliss. Add in that I went with one of my best friends and it was the perfect experience. Great food eaten with great people is simply amazing.

Happy Wednesday!

 

Do you feel your fullness when eating?

Have you read “Intuitive Eating”? If not: Would you be interested in me sharing more about the single principles as I approach them?

What was your favourite meal  from the past week?

34 thoughts on “Still hungry?

  1. Kat says:

    As you know,I have NOT read the book {yet},so I would be REALLY appreciate if you’d be so kind to give me/ us an insight on your blog!
    I desperately want to stop obsessing about macros… That’s one of my worst problems,and I really really hope the book can help 😦

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Definitely take that as a sign! Actually, I took many bloggers talking about Intuitive Eating as a sign to pick up my copy of the book again, too. A decision I didn’t regret yet and likely won’t.
      Good luck in trying to feel your fullness!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    A life without ice cream would definitely be sad. I’m still waiting for the weather to warm up around here before I break out one of my favorite treats, because so far it’s still a little bit too chilly.

    Having to finish everything on my plate it something that I used to struggle with as well, and I’d often end up eating too much and not enjoying it. Eating more intuitively is a difficult journey that’s full of mistakes, but even if you feel like you’re making too many or not getting anywhere, never give up. It’s a learning process that requires dealing with a lot of anxiety, but the freedom that comes with no longer obsessing over what you eat is more than worth it 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Making too many mistakes – repeatedly – and not getting anywhere: That’s what I’ve been feeling like a lot lately. Thanks for reminding me it’s normal, Amanda.
      Sending you some of the German sun and warmth so you can enjoy some frozen deliciousness soon, too :).

  3. Lift, Sleep, Eat says:

    I agree that ice cream is a food that I could constantly eat; I’ll generally try to stop myself eating if I’m feeling really full but some foods are just too good to leave haha! Definitely want to try that pizza casserole yum!

  4. dixya@food, pleasure, and health says:

    i stopped doing dairy and thats one thing i miss the most 😦 i m so glad you are listening to your body and feeding what it needs. Latetly, I am not too happy with my eating because i been eating a lot of snacks, no not fruits but chips, cookies and i need to stop and make better choices. XOXO

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, I feel you on the dairy as I’ve been enjoying quite a bit of Greek yogurt lately.
      Don’t beat yourself up about having a snacky phase. Maybe you just need it due to stress or else? I’m sure it’ll all balance out in the end, girl!

  5. Sarah Pie says:

    That pizza casserole looks awesome!! I’m dairy free right now and ice cream is definitely one of the things I miss the most (it used to be my favorite). I haven’t read the book yet, though it’s on my list, so I would love it if you would share principles as you work through them 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Luckily, I’ve found most sorbets/fruit ice cream flavours to be dairy-free at scoop stores and they’re my favourites in anyway. So maybe stick with these and you won’t have to miss out :).
      I’ll be sure to share more about the book.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh my, ice cream from containers is a whole different story :D! Maybe I should consider myself lucky for having a shoebox-sized freezer keeping me from getting containers at home. I’m sticking with scoop shops where I’m less likely to overdo it ;).

  6. Emily says:

    I’m really proud of you for the progress you’ve made so far. Like you said, learning to listen to your body is never going to be easy. But it’s always worth it. (:
    And both of your casseroles look phenomenal! I’d love to try your cheesy ‘egg’ one if you have a recipe to share!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Emily! Thinking it’s worth it makes me stick with it even when things get tough.
      Actually, I meant to share the “egg” casserole recipe – once I take note of spice measurements … a pinch of this, pinch of that is not really a recipe, I guess ;).

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Maybe it’s bottomoless pit season ;)? I’ve been feeling ravenous for days now, too.
      Will you share your opinion on Intuitive Eating on your blog? I think it’s interesting to hear different views on it.

  7. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    The homemade healthy chocolate looks so good, I’d love to try out a recipe for it for those times when I don’t have dark chocolate in my pantry and desperately need it 😉

    I have a problem with fullness–it really scares me! Usually I feel it after eating out, because I enjoy the food so much and even sometimes when I don’t finish the meal, I feel fuller than I would after a meal at home and it freaks me out. I think feeling fullness is a good sign to stop eating, but for me, I always try to stop before that so I’m not so anxious.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Fullness can definitely feel uncomfortable in the beginning. Try to allow yourself to eat until you feel full at home, too. I’ve found it helpful to keep myself busy and distracted from focussing on the feeling of fullness.
      As you said about your eating out experiences: Eating in enjoyful environments and good company can keep your from feeling anxious when full.

  8. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    You should feel so proud for taking a leap of faith and putting intuitive eating into practice! It’s not easy letting go of old food rules–in fact I think it’s one of the hardest challenges I’ve ever faced–but the freedom to eat what you crave and to stop when you’re full is *definitely* worth the fight.

    It took me a few years to re-learn how to detect my fullness while I was eating, but for the most part, I feel it now. Eating slowly really helps me both enjoy and savor my food, and gives my body a chance to tell me it’s full before I’m over-full. 🙂 That said, I definitely still overdo it sometimes–especially with ice cream!

    Speaking of which…yours looks delicious and perfect. Some of the best gelato I’ve had in my life was actually in Germany. 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying a relaxing weekend! ❤

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Hearing that it took you years to get to where you are in terms of eating now, too, makes me hopeful. I often feel like I should have accomplished more in recovery already and am impatient with myself. Thanks for sharing your experiences, Sara!
      My weekend was very nice and I’m glad to see yours was great, too :).

  9. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    As (I think) you know, I have not really been following IE, just trying to get back to my place of ‘normalcy’ without counting calories. I’ve had ups and downs and one thing I DO sometimes have trouble with is not feeling my fullness, but the OPPOSITE: realizing I am still hungry and it is OK to eat more than what I had ‘alotted.’ I have had too many experiences where I haven’t clued in to that and then regretted it later because what they say is true: you end up overcompensating.

    Wheatberries in that casserole are a FABULOUS idea. Now, can you please share with me your vegan egg casserole? [E-mail it to me if you must!]

    I am with you on the ice cream. Sadly, any encounter usually ends up badly for my lactose-averse system. 😦 I just cannot stop once I get started. Nut butter, too. Oh nut butter…

Leave a Reply

