Turning flops into successes with a side of flips

Weee, the week has passed too quickly once again and it’s already time for our weekly What I ate Wednesday party. Thanks to Jenn for hosting everbody’s foodie shenanigans!

wiawphotobutton

Ever since starting my challenge to be more positive right at the beginning of this year, I’ve made myself think twice before putting something off as a fail. Add to that the kind reminder of someone [thanks, Heather!] to make even the smallest steps count.

Baked potato I

However delicious it might look this one was a flop. A huge fail – not taste-wise but let me explain … Potatoes were a fear food of mine due to several reasons and no, this one being a white potato didn’t matter to me. Growing up these were the only ones we ate and I have yet to understand all the hype about sweet potatoes ;). Eating potatoes scared me as I was afraid they wouldn’t fill me up and take up a lot of calories at that. Wasted calories.

Baked II

Unfortunately, I was neither amazed by the taste nor did the potato fill me up. Needless to say I regretted having eaten it and kept snacking around all afternoon to get satisfied. Looking back, though, I realized my mistake. Not having had baked potatoes in a long time I had heightened my expectations to be insurmountable. Not even Mr. Potato Head could have lived up to them ;).

Mr potato head1

My success was deciding not to see it as a fail. It’s a learning experience on my way to discovering which foods I do enjoy and therefore one I wouldn’t have wanted to miss. Whether or not you see something as a fail is up to the perspective you choose.

So what about those flips in the title you ask? Well, those are a mighty tasty long-time favourite snack of mine. Curly peanutty chips that are called “Erdnussflips” around here. I’m not much of a “chip” as in cut potato chips person but these win me over every time. While I’ve eaten these all throughout my ED, too, the amounts were far smaller and – most important difference – I’d weigh them and feel guilty after eating. Now? Grab bag, open it and snack on an unmeasured amount. Granted, I’m not yet at the point where I’ll mindlessly eat until fully satisfied but as I said above: Small steps count, too.

Flips

Speaking of successful failures … Remember the frozen yogurt I’ve shown you way back?

Frozen yogurt

I’m sorry to admit this and break every food blogger’s heart out there but: Yes, it was a fail. For once I had too huge expectations again and I didn’t feel like having Froyo in the slightest when that friend of mine asked me to get some. Still, I enjoyed meeting up with her and made the decision not to grieve the food. I guess I really am just an ice cream girl after all. Melts my foodie heart every time :).

That being said it’s back to the books and studying for me … and maybe the one or the other peak at everybody else’s WIAWs :D.

 

When was the last time you turned a failure into a success [doesn’t need to be food-related]?

Ice cream or frozen yogurt?

 What are your favourite baked potato toppings? Maybe I need to give them another chance?!

36 thoughts on “Turning flops into successes with a side of flips

  1. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Beautiful post. ❤ Congrats on challenging your fear, and giving that baked potato a trial run! Even though it wasn't as delicious as you remembered, I love the perspective you chose–rather than focusing on what you didn't like, you viewing the experience as progress in that it's helping you determine which foods your truly enjoy. THAT most definitely is a success!

    Erdnussflips sound amazing! I think I'd "flip" for them, too. 😉 I can't quite imagine what peanut tastes like on a chip, but considering I love all things peanut butter, I'm sure I'd be a huge fan.

    Bummer about the frozen yogurt, but again, that experience reaffirmed your love for ice cream. And ice cream is *always* best (in my opinion). 🙂

    Happy Wednesday! ❤ xoxoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, thanks, Sara! Reminding myself that it is “just” food after all helped me get over it.
      As a peanut butter fan you’d surely “flip” for the Erdnussflips and wish I could mail you a bag! Their taste is indeed reminiscent of salty-crunchy peanut butter while having kind of an airy texture. Aaah, I’m making myself crave them right here ;).
      Wait … Did I read that right? I knew you liked ice cream but I thought you were the hugest frozen yogurt fan ever – I’m a bit shocked ;).
      Happy Wednesday <3!

  2. Sarah Pie says:

    Fro-Yo all the way 🙂 Though that might just be because we have a really awesome place in my hometown. I’m sorry to hear that the baked potato didn’t live up to your expectations. They’re one of my favorite foods and I eat them with just about anything (the easiest way is with a little salt/pepper, plain greek yogurt, and green onion).

    Good luck with the books and studying! (I know I’m glad the semester is almost through)

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      If it had been from my favourite store in Berlin I’d likely have enjoyed the frozen yogurt more, too. One failed experience certainly doesn’t mean I’ll never have it again. I’m glad you’ve found a great place to get your frozen yogurt :).

  3. Natalie @ Lift,Sleep, Eat says:

    Great post and well done on conquering your fear even if it didnt live up to what you expected it to be at least you tried it! 🙂
    My post today was also on flops/successes but more in the kitchen..I had a baked protein cheesecake disaster but in the end it turned out ok 🙂
    I’ve never had frozen yoghurt before 😦 we dont have them really in the Uk in terms of shops..well not near me anyway..I have hugeee expectations of what its going to be like though so no doubt when I come to eventually try some it may be a bit of a let down.
    Baked potatoes…gotta be with some baked beans!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      As long as it still tasted good don’t count that cheesecake a fail :). Experimenting in the kitchen will always lead to some fails but more often than not it’s worth to keep working on recipes.
      Baked beans! Right, that might have been a good combination with the potato though I did have some kidney beans as a topping. Beans and potatoes were meant to be combined.

  4. Aimée @theaimeediaries says:

    I’m so proud of you! I remember my early days of recovery, and if I ate a meal that I didn’t like, or had something I didn’t like, I would get really stressed out and cry and feel major guilt that would consume me. Now, however, I don’t think twice and just know not to have it again. I love me some froyo, but ice cream (particularly gelato) has a fond place in my heart. I admit, maybe I should eat it a bit more often (I haven’t had any in about 4 months!), but I do love it. xxx

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thank you, Aimée! Guilt was and at times still is something I struggle(d) with when trying foods that don’t live up to my expectations. Turning around my perspective, though, has helped with that a lot already.
      I’m with you on the ice cream. Though I enjoy it a lot I haven’t had it often enough lately. Well, summer hasn’t begun yet so there’s still a bit of time, right ;)?

  5. brokencookiesdontcount says:

    It’s so very important when we make realizations about the foods that we eat. Finding out what satisfies YOU as an individual is import. Hooray for trying something that you were previously afraid of. Maybe consider eating it WITH something else to make it more filling. A big salad always helps to fill me up. They make a good combo.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks for the advice, Fran. That’s what I considered already after yesterday’s lunch, too. Maybe I just need more and also more filling sides when having potatoes than other people do. It really is about what works for one as an individual. Some people find potatoes more saturating, some less.

  6. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    I have to really be in the mood for a baked potato, but when I am…oh girl, they can be SO good. Of course, I just cover them in black pepper and either ketchup or BBQ sauce, so maybe THAT’S really what I like? (Also, I always used to eat everyone in my family’s leftover tater skin. I LOVE tater skins, and I don’t mean the kind they serve at steakhouses covered in cheese and bacon.) I wish I could say I got more creative then that, although I have flirted with putting stew inside of them. Sweet potatoes I LOVE, but I think I might prefer winter squash to them really.

    Ice cream over fro yo always. I did go through the typical food blogger obsession with the stuff but then I realized I have lactose issues and it lost its appeal somewhat. [For obvious reasons.] I still like it on occasion, but really, I love ANY frozen treat. 🙂

    P.S. If we ever meet, I’ll make sure to bring some REALLY ripe, delicious papaya. It is sort of one of those fruits like honeydew, where you need to have a truly good one to know the appeal.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Maybe not ketchup – I don’t like it – but the salsa I generously topped the baked potato with actually was my favourite part of the meal, too. And yes, yes, yes to eating the crispy potato skins! I don’t get how many people tend to leave them uneaten – they’re the best part in my opinion.
      Sorry your lactose intolerance keeps you from enjoying all kinds of ice cream but I like that you’re cheating every now and then ;). Actually, though, I have always preferred fruit flavours and those tend to be vegan in anyway. Also, I’m super jealous of the amazing soy, almond and coconut ice cream flavour you can find in the US. All we have are vanilla, chocolate and strawberry – laaaame.
      Okay, I’ll take your word and give papaya another try when [no if allowed here] we meet :).

  7. Carli says:

    I would definitely call both of these successes! No, things may not have gone exactly as you’d planned, but just the fact that you faced your fear and tried the baked potato and that you chose to meet up with your friend for frozen yogurt rather than isolating are both huge steps forward, in my opinion!

    I have been obsessed with baked potatos these past few months, and I’m not sure why. I usually have them as a side to some meat and a veggie, so maybe that would help fill you up? I like to top mine with avocado, plain greek yogurt, salsa/ketchup, cheese, hummus….the possibilities are endless, really! And I’m a fan of any frozen treat – ice cream, frozen custard, frozen yogurt, you name it!

    Hope you’re having a good week!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yay for you enjoying baked potatoes! I know from former experiences that I do like them but looking back I can see a few mistakes I made when having them now. Not serving filling enough sides being one of them as well as the environment I ate it in. It’s one of those dishes I prefer to eat with others for whichever reason :).
      Hope your week’s going well, too!

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Love the “flip” in your attitude, love 🙂 Turning flops into successes is definitely a great practice… but I’m sorry to hear that your potato experience didn’t turn out all that great. To be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of baked potatoes… BUT I absolutely adore them sliced up thinly, drizzled in olive oil and crushed rosemary, and baked until crispy. Holy.wow do they ever taste amazing that way. I definitely recommend giving it a try 🙂

    Oh, and ice cream all the way 😀

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Your last mail played a role in me finally trying more fear foods and helped me come to that realization afterwards. Thank you for the consistent encouragement <3!
      Seeing as I'm still convinced I generally like potatoes I'll definitely have them in different ways and your idea sounds great. Let's see when I'll muster up the courage for the second try ;).
      Ice cream for the win :D!

  9. Paige @ A Healthy Tale says:

    I love chilli con carne on potato’s! With a sprinkling of cheese. Ice cream all the way! I’m not a huge eater of the stuff (sensitive teeth!), but you just cant beat a great ice cream. I do like frozen yoghurt too I just have to be in the mood for it.

  10. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I love wordy titles like that. Also your reference to Mr. Potato head totally won me over. Plus your confession of not liking fro-yo? You’re on top of things today 🙂

    I don’t like frozen yogurt that actually tastes like yogurt. Actually, that’s not true. I just *prefer* frozen yogurt that tastes like ice cream. And the only places that I’ve found that at was TCBY with their vanilla + cookie dough + waffle cone combo (holy yum) and Pinkberry’s chocolate fro yo. I’ve not had either in quite a few years, but I’m totally with you on the ice cream. It’s. Just. Plain. Better.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Awww, your comment made me blush! Being on top of things I something I like a lot :).
      Oh, funnily enough when I’m in the mood for frozen yogurt it’s actually the tart, yogurt-y variety that I prefer. Too sweet and ice cream like is not what I expect when getting frozen yogurt. Anyway, though, ice cream really is just better in the long run :).

  11. Nicole @ FruitnFitness says:

    I love how you look at things and turn flops into successes! I am not a fan of the taste or texture of white potatoes but one of my favorite snacks/light meals is baked sweet potato with nut butter! I love frozen yogurt and ice cream. I think they are so different and sometimes I want one when other times I will want the other. I think of froyo as a summer day treat to be eaten outside and ice cream as an odd late night snack to be eaten all year.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oooh, I like your way of thinking, girl! Simply declaring both of them good for different occasions and having ice cream as a late night snack all year round? I’m in. Or: I would be if it wasn’t for my shoebox-sized freezer and lack of vegan ice cream options at supermarkets around here.

  12. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I definitely prefer ice cream, of the coconut milk variety! It’s just so creamy and I prefer the simplicity of ice cream to the extensive toppings that usually go along with froyo. I used to think I loved froyo, but I was just getting it because it was the ‘thing’ and I realized that people like to think froyo is the healthier option but it really isn’t when most people top it with tons of candy and cookies! But ice cream is definitely the winner.

  13. emilyattipsonhealthyliving says:

    Here’s the thing with the baked potato–less is more. For me, just just some butter salt and pepper–maybe sour cream if I’m feeling crazy–and that’s it! Mash it a bit with my fork, and I’m done. If you have gravy from a side dish, mash it in the potato, too, for an extra treat.

    And I choose ice cream over fro yo anytime 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Simplicity can really be best. My mum and I’d agree with you on butter and salt to be the best fits for potatoes in general. Maybe I was just getting a little too zealous with the toppings after seeing many other bloggers’ fancy creations :).

  14. Brittany says:

    Oh man I love potatoes a little too much. I haven’t had a baked potato in forever though! Maybe squash the baked tater all together and eat a potato in a different way. Roast it with Brussels sprouts and rosemary, make a scramble with tons of veggies and salsa, or eat a sweet tater instead! HA! I haven’t had froyo in FO EVA!! I don’t eat dairy so my ice cream intake is all in the form of almond, rice or soy!

  15. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    “My success was deciding not to see it as a fail. It’s a learning experience…Whether or not you see something as a fail is up to the perspective you choose.” <- Yes, yes, YES!!! Oh honey, I'm SO proud of you!!! You are making such strides in your journey! You may not be able to see it all right now because you're submersed in it, but I can tell and I am SO happy for you!!!

    Oh, and for the record, potatoes never fill me up unless there's a good amount of protein…cheese, yogurt, or some sort of meaty filling (chili is awesome!).

Leave a Reply

