Marvelous in my Monday: Be a happiness hoover!

Hi there! I hope you’re all having a lovely Monday!

Having hinted to it several times in the past it is more than about time I publish my post on practicing positivity. The reason why it took me so long? Well, rather than not knowing what to write I had the problem of feeling I had too much to say. After some pondering I decided to break the – now pretty long already – draft post down into smaller ones and make it a series. Let’s say there will be a few more posts on positivity on your way – not a bad thing in my book because can there ever be too much happiness?!

MiMM_new

What better time to share a post about positivity than Katie’s Marvelous in my Monday? There really isn’t – especially as it was in fact Katie inspiring my little happiness project. So special thanks not only for hosting but being a huge source of positivity, Katie!

Orchid

Seeing as I plan on making these kind of posts a [more or less] regular installment on my blog today’s some kind of introduction. The how and why behind me starting my Positivity Project if you will.

Let me preface this by saying I’ve never been an all-out negative Nancy all day every day. But I did have these moments or even days when I find myself in an overall grumpy mood. Nothing seems to work, nobody has time for me, I’m bored.

Especially during the worst times of my ED I felt unhappy a lot of the time, never content with myself. While I was never diagnosed with depression my parents did voice their concern quite a lot of times. Not wanting to get up in the morning because that’d mean I’d have to eat, get going about my day and feel like I was never achieving enough. Looking back I can clearly see the signs of depression I was showing.

Dandelion

Though these times are long over I was still not as happy as I could have been back at the beginning of this year. When I first took part in Katie’s Marvelous in my Monday link-up party I thought my weekend had been boring and just not mention-worthy. But giving it some second thought I realized the little happy moments, the tiny things that had put a smile on my face …

Yogi tea wisdom

… like Yogi tea wisdom.

Ever since then I’ve made it a habit to reflect the happenings of every day and focus on the positives. Pursuing happiness is part of recovery for me. As often as you might have heard it already I’ll say it again: Happiness is a choice. Sure, we can choose to see the negative things happening in life and in effect be unhappy. But where’s the sense in that? Not every day is a happy day but there’s at least a spark of happiness in every day. Catch the spark and make it the one thing you remember most of that day.

Diverse_März 056

Just to give you some examples I’ll share one HIT [happiness inducer today] at the bottom of every post from now on. Yes, maybe you’ll laugh at just how ridiculously small and negligible these might be at times. From waking up to sunshine outside, seeing a beautiful flower on one of my walks to a hug it can really be everything.  Actually, it might even not necessarily have been the hugest happiness inducer of that day when it was one filled to the brim with them. My reason for sharing these, however, is to show that even the simplest things can brighten our days. Call me a happiness hoover soaking up every tiny spark of happiness if you will :D. Addicted to collecting happy moments? Why, yes, I might be.

[To be continued]

Happiness inducer today: Meeting a friend for a walk and conversation on a study break.

 

Tell me: What made you happy today?

Any other happiness hoovers out there ;)?

18 thoughts on “Marvelous in my Monday: Be a happiness hoover!

  1. Carli says:

    Aww, I LOVE the idea of your “Positivity Project”!!! Positivity is something I’ve also been trying to implement more into my life lately, so I can’t wait to read more of your posts. Bring on the positivity!

    And something that made me happy today? Hmmm, the day is still young as it’s only morning, but I did enjoy watching my sisters pet bunny devour the slice of pear I gave him this morning! He’s adorable 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      A gratitude journal? That’s an awesome idea I might have to steal if you don’t mind. I’ve done that in my mind ever since I started my happiness project but kept forgetting to actually write it down.

  2. Sora says:

    I love the positivity! It’s something I’ve been working on too, so I’m excited to see where you’re going!! And I love the acronym – HIT 🙂

  3. Sarah Pie says:

    Love the idea of this project, we all need to remember to embrace the little things 🙂 Something good in my day was having my aunt’s puppy curl up with me while I did work this morning.

  4. Emily says:

    Positivity is definitely something I’ve been working on to. I think it’s something we’ll be facing for the rest of our lives…I’m so proud of you for the progress you’ve made though. And it’s amazing how the little things can make us happy- we just have to step back and notice them. (:

  5. HealthyDiva (@HealthyDiva31) says:

    I love your happiness inducer touch at the end! SO awesome and such a good way to embrace the happiness!

    THANK YOU for always being so sweet to me, your comments always make my day! You are such a beautiful person, never change and never forget that you are!

  6. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    I love this, and completely agree that more often than not, it’s the simple pleasures in life that bring about the most happiness. It took me a long time to acknowledge that the peace, contentment, and joy I was seeking in my past and future, was right in front of me. Those things were staring at me every day, and instead of savoring them, I was taking them for granted. Now I find gain so much happiness from little things–hot baths, dark chocolate, a perfect cappuccino, a heart-to-heart with a friend…Yes, it’s those things that make my heart full.

    Beautiful post! ❤ Happy Monday, love! ❤

  7. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Happiness Hoover! Haha! Love it! I’m not a negative Nancy per se, but I do allow myself to get overwhelmed sometimes and find it difficult to pull myself out of the “woe is me” funk…that’s why I always try my best to take a step back and look for at LEAST one positive thing. It’s good for the mind….good for the soul…and frankly, life is just too darn short to waste it wallowing in self pity!

    “Not every day is a happy day but there’s at least a spark of happiness in every day. Catch the spark and make it the one thing you remember most of that day.” <- Seriously, you should quote yourself and make a pin-able graphic for this…it is absolute PERFECTION!!

Leave a Reply

