Breaking up with traditions and bonding with green spears

Happy 1st of May! If you’re in Germany I hope you danced into the day [“Tanz in den Mai” is a German tradition] and are enjoying the day off. For all others: Don’t fret about having to work but let’s have fun with the already traditional What I ate Wednesday party hosted by Jenn!

wiawphotobutton

After last week’s not-quite-successful potato experience I was determined not to give up on a food I knew I’d liked a lot earlier. Every potato deserves a second chance, right? With asparagus being finally being available at affordable prices I knew what to pair it with. No 6.50 $ bundles for me, thank you very much. In case you’re wondering: these are the green spears appearing in today’s title. Asparagus being called “spears” made me laugh the first time I encoutered it: attacks on the plate, huh ;)?!

Still going the safe non-potato route the first time I whipped up a wheatberry skillet featuring the green spears. With kidney beans, fresh cherry tomatoes and spices this was a quick lunch.

Wheatberry skillet

Will you believe I’ve only had asparagus once last year? It wasn’t my choice, though, and I had a good excuse!  Now I’m even more determined to feature this awesome vegetable as often as possible this season. Potatoes are a classic accompaniment for it in Germany so I decided to go that route the next day. Only my version was way less traditional: no sauce Hollandaise but the remainder of above-mentioned beans as well as tender bok choy, carrots and random mushrooms. Plenty of fresh parsley kept the touch of tradition while I don’t think you’ll find any authentical German cookbooks suggesting a nice dusting of nutritional yeast. Oh well, I told you we were going for taste not authenticity here.

Potatoes and asparagus

My verdict? Yes, I do like Mr. Potato head after all. Fried and partly mashed up with some soy milk the potatoes formed a creamy “gravy” with nice chunks remaining. A pat of vegan butter – a fear food I refrained from measuring – rounded out our happy reunion. Sometimes you strike it at second try.

Breaking up with traditions once again: Cake has to be baked in the oven and is inappropriate as an everyday breakfast? The ever-so-popular – or at least in the blog world – mug brownie finally arrived in my kitchen, too.

Enjoyed on the sunny balcony no less.

Enjoyed on the sunny balcony no less.

Ending on a sweet note with an unusual-for-me new favourite snack: dried mulberries. I’d been searching them high and low finally spotting them at a stall on a Farmers’ Market on Friday. Ever since I’ve been randomly reaching into the bag all throughout the week. It’s funny because I wouldn’t consider myself a huge fan of dried fruit but these  sweet little berries are amazing.

Mulberries

Which leads me to another tradition I broke: Did I look up the nutritional value and sugar count for these? No. Measure out servings? Forget it. It’s not counting little things like these that makes eating them more enjoyable. The only worry I’ll allow myself about these: not being able to find them again. Sigh. Now that’s one worry I can [almost] live with ;).

Happiness inducer today: My downstairs neighbours playing a little family “concert” that I’m lucky enough hearing.

Thanks for sharing little things that made you happy in my post on Monday – just reading about them brought a smile to my face, too.  By the way: As I don’t post every day I’ll be sharing my daily happiness inducers on Twitter, too. Feel free to join me using the hashtag #happinessHIT.

Happy Wednesday!

What’s your favourite way to prepare asparagus? Just as a random note in case you ever plan on visiting Germany: when asparagus (Spargel) is on the menu we usually mean the white one. The green variety has only been making more of an appearance during the past few years.

Do you like dried fruit? Which one do you particularly enjoy?

25 thoughts on “Breaking up with traditions and bonding with green spears

  1. Carli says:

    I had no idea that May 1st was a holiday in Germany, and apparently, in many other countries as well (according to Wikipedia). I’m really glad you gave potatoes another chance! The dish you whipped up looks so good. I absolutely love asparagus and am glad it’s finally in season. I usually just sautee mine with a bit of olive oil and garlic salt. Simple, but delicious!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thank you! I was tempted to look it up but really? I’ll never start eating more “normal” that way. Oh. and dipping the mulberries in almond butter made them even better if that’s possible :).

  2. mindrunningwild says:

    I love those little berries! When I was in London I got a few snack mixes with them in it but have been unable to find them in the state. Yum!
    Asparagus I love fresh from my yard, steamed and dipped in mustard. Odd, but delish.

  3. ahealthyhappyhome says:

    I love asparagus but my husband only eats the tips. It’s so annoying! My favorite way to cook them is to roast them in a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar with a squeeze of lemon before serving. So good! I do not however enjoy the unpleasant scent it turn my urine. Blah!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Don’t judge me but I used to only eat the tips of the white variety when I was younger, too. With the green ones, though, I find the whole stalks to be great.
      Yes, the smell is really bad though I’ve heard that it doesn’t happen for some people. Only those of us producing a certain enzyme have not-so-pleasant toilet experiences ;). But that obviously won’t keep us from eating asparagus, huh?

  4. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I would take a WIAW party over any national holiday (well,… almost any 😉 ). I love just grilled asparagus sprinkled with a little sea salt!

    WHoo! for no nutritional facts or measuring. Big accomplishment 🙂

  5. Emily says:

    I neeeed to pick up some asparagus! I haven’t had it in far too long…
    I used to love roasting it in olive oil and parmesan cheese and then dipping it in marinara sauce as a snack! So weird but delicious!

  6. Quincy @ Shugurcan says:

    I usually just drizzle asparagus with whole grain mustard but your version looks much better! I think I’ll have to try it. The mulberries sound amazing too (although I am still yet to try them).

  7. livliveslife says:

    I’ve never seen dried mulberries before – they’re so interesting looking!

    For the longest time I was preparing asparagus simply by steaming it, but the other day, we roasted it in the oven (drizzled with a bit of olive oil and salt) and oh my goodness, it was amazing. I’m not going to eat it any other way now!

  8. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I’ve been wanting to try dried mulberries for awhile but they’re so expensive around here! I’m obsessed with most dried fruits so I think I’ll have to give them a try soon.

    I love grilled asparagus drizzled with some lemon juice, sea salt and olive oil!

  9. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    I’m so relieved to hear that you’re once again on friendly terms with Mr. Potato head! He’s near and dear to my heart—in more ways than one. 🙂 I adore mashed potatoes, skillet potatoes—even fried potatoes (gasp!), but my favorite preparation is twice-baked. Have you ever tried them that way? Basically, you bake the potatoes normally, scoop out the white part, mash/puree it with cheese, milk, nutritional yeast (or anything that makes it taste delicious), as you would when making mashed potatoes. then scoop the puree back into the skin, top with cheese (or vegan cheese, nutritional yeast etc), and bake it until the top bubbles. They’re so delicious! Apologies for the unsolicited ramble, but reading this post reminded me of them! It’s been far too long since I’ve had a twice-baked potato; I think that needs to change soon!

    Moving on to the next featured food in this post: asparagus. Love it! I remember being shocked when I stumbled upon white asparagus during my first trip to Europe. It’s almost non-existent in the US, however sometimes you can find it in specialty foods stores. I enjoy oven roasting fresh asparagus with olive oil, salt, pepper, and a touch of garlic. It becomes tender, and irresistibly delicious.

    Huge hugs for letting go of the nutritional values while eating the dried mulberries! It’s scary giving up those numbers, but SO freeing, isn’t it?!

    Lots of love! xoxoxo

    p.s. your chocolate mug cake looks amazing!

  10. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    SOOOOO proud of you for not looking up/measuring the mulberries…OR the butter?!! That is AWESOME sweetie! Ahhh, I just want to HUG YOU SO MUCH!!

    I tried mulberries a couple of years ago and was a bit disappointed in them (*sad face*). My favorite dried fruit would have to be a toss up between figs and blueberries! And my favorite way to have asparagus is just simply steamed…with mustard or ketchup for dipping!

Leave a Reply

