Another kind of [grain] field studies

Thank you so much for all the kind and understanding comments on my last post! I didn’t want to come over ranting or asking for sympathy but simply explain my blogging break. Reading every single of your comments put a huge smile on my face and made me appreciate the blog world even more. All of you are awesome!

 

wiawphotobutton

Every time I sit down to write my WIAW post I’m racking my brain. Racking them for any mention-worthy changes I’ve made to my diet, that is. Some weeks it’s more, some less. This week it’s a mix: it might not sound like a lot but I recently did my own little field studies [on myself] in terms of grains. That would be grain field studies, right :D?! But first off: Thanks to Jenn for hosting the first-ever food party you don’t need to leave the house for. Not that I’d be opposed  to that in general but on a day we’re supposed to get a thunderstorm I’d rather avoid the outdoors.

Chili bake with wheatberries.

Chili bake with wheatberries.

The main change? Adding more grains to my diet. Yes, I do like carbohydrates – or, for the cutesy: carbs 😉 – but had admittedly shyed away from them a little in the past years. Not actually because they were carbs but simply as they’re quite energy-dense. Imagine my lunches as huge plates piled with steamed veggies – at the worst times not even a real sauce or any kind of fat accompanying them. Sad times.

Quinoa casserole

Cheesy vegan quinoa casserole. Notice a topic emerging already?

As I had noticed my meals not to fill me up for long anymore I decided to increase the amount of grains incorporated. With my roommate being away for a week I was able to cook up batches of different grains and store them in the fridge. In case you’re wondering: Brown rice (short grain for its fantastic sticky consistency!), quinoa, wheat- and speltberries were my grains of choice.

Wheatberry & Brown Rice bake

… yes, another casserole.

The first day of my trial I noticed a huge difference already feeling  way more energized than usual. It was that very day I had one of my best runs in quite a while. Grains for the win? I’d certainly have guessed so after this incident. Having a tendency to fall into [food] ruts and/or overdo it, though, I incorporated grains into almost every meal and snack. Note: Yes, you do want to try adding cooked spelt- or wheatberries to your Greek yogurt bowls. Oh, and you can thank me later ;).

Greek with wheatberries

As much as I initially enjoyed my grains upping their amount to more than twice, at times probably triple the amount I was used to seemed too much. Not only did oat bran for breakfast stop sounding appealing by the third day – even though I tried different variations – but my stomach wasn’t too happy, either.  Maybe it needs some more time and a slower approach to get back to the grind with grains again? And here we are: right onto more [grain] field studies. Maybe a little mug brownie will help my brain ;)?!

Don't be jealous of my Hello Kitty bowl :).

Don’t be jealous of my Hello Kitty bowl :).

Happy Wednesday!

 

Happiness inducing [not just] today:Knowing that I can count on all of whenever I’m in a funk. Thank you once again!

 

 

What are your favourite filling (!) breakfasts?

Do you feel better with more or less grains in your diet?

As always: Tell me one thing that made you happy today already – here or on Twitter.

30 thoughts on “Another kind of [grain] field studies

  1. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    Grains for the win is right! 🙂 I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying them again, and that you’ve noticed increased energy levels. That’s wonderful! Like you, I used to avoid nearly all grains, instead opting for copious amounts of vegetables and lean protein. I also avoided fruit and sugar, so my carbohydrate levels were far too low, leaving me sluggish and irritable. No fun! Now I eat a moderate carb/grain diet and feel so much better! Sweet potatoes and white potatoes are actually my carbs of choice, but I also love toast and quinoa. Too many grains make my tummy feel funky, so I try to stay in tune with my body’s signals. It definitely lets me know when I’ve reached the threshold, and then I modify as needed. It sure nice to have the freedom to enjoy grains again, though, and I’m glad you’re experiencing that freedom now, too!

    Sending big hugs across the ocean! ❤ xoxo

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      No carbs are really no fun. How some people can live happily on a low-carb diet is beyond me but I guess it’s really because we all have different needs. I’m happy you’ve found the right balance for yourself and hope to get there, too.
      Sending lots of hugs back!

  2. Aimée @Cinnamon Castle says:

    I am SO proud of you for adding more grains in! I remember when I thought grains were causing me a few issues, so I cut them out for a while, and it sent me into one of my worst bouts of depression. I found out after some research that grains contain essential nutrients that people suffering with depression need! No wonder I felt awful!
    I still never know what to have for breakfast. Some say it’s the best time of the day, but it’s tricky for me. Eggs don’t really agree with me, oats send my blood sugar all over the place, and smoothies don’t have enough carbs! It’s a tricky one!
    I hope one day we can enjoy a vegan quinoa casserole together! If I was your roommate I would demand you cook for me every night (;
    xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Breakfast is the trickiest meal for me, too. Even though it seems to be every other person’s favourite meal I still haven’t found a go-to that keeps me satisfied every day. I’m foreseeing lots more of experimentation on that field.
      Aw, thanks for the compliment. My current roommate wouldn’t even think of asking me to prepare a meal for her :D.

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    Girl, show as many casseroles as you want. Every single one of them looks so good! So happy you’ve been able to see what works and what doesn’t work for you now. Hopefully your stomach troubles will continue to subside ❤

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Be assured there’ll be many more casseroles in upcoming posts – nothing will ever step in between me and them :).
      My stomach’s been feeling a lot better already, thanks, Jessie!

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m happy to hear that you’ve been letting more grains into your life 🙂 I’ve cut out or cut down on grains on a few different occasions, and each time has ended badly for me. I love grains, and my body loves grains. Not enough and I get tired, sluggish, moody, and depressed… not to mention my stomach becomes an absolute mess. My body seems to thrive the best when I eat a higher carb, moderate protein, and moderate fat diet. It definitely takes a while to figure it all out, but it’s such a blessing when you finally do.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yes to all of that – life without grains doesn’t work for me, either. I’ve never cut them out completely but have eaten less and noticed the unfortunate consequences. Right now I just think I’ll need to up the amount a bit slowlier as jumping right back to the amounts I ate before doesn’t seem to work. But as you said: it’ll be a blessing once I’ve figured it out.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yay for finding a fellow wheatberry fan! They seem to get too little attention but are SO good. Did you try speltberries yet? I might like them even better than wheatberries – though I don’t like playing favourites ;).

  5. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    I totally was going to put brown rice in my yogurt the other day. But I didn’t. Now I’m thinking I should have… 🙂 [And short grain is the BEST!]

    I honestly just try to balance everything out. I actually should focus more on eating less breads/pitas/whole grain crackers/cereal and more on straight-up rice, quinoa, etc. I have tons of varieties in my pantry, but I always just seem to fall back on what’s right there in front of me.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Do it! I’ve been adding all of the grains mentioned in the post to yogurt messes before and none disappointed. Admittedly, though, with brown rice I prefer to use more grains than yogurt turning it into a yogurt-style “rice pudding”.
      Same here about going back to the same varieties of grains ever and ever again. Don’t feel bad about eating more bread, crackers and cereal – I’d probably do, too, if Germany didn’t lack choices :).

  6. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    Yay for incorporating more grains! It’s actually something I want to do as well, since over the past few months I’ve shied away from even my former favorite gluten free grains and I’d go a few days without any grains at all. Even though the experience of going mostly grain free wasn’t all great, it did make me realize that there are some things I prefer to be grain free, such as crackers (I found some almond and chickpea flour based ones that are way better than any other cracker I’ve had) and homemade muffins. But I’ve been trying to add quinoa and buckwheat back in since I really do love them in all their forms and I think they do give me a lot more energy, but I’m definitely not going to be eating them at every meal, just so I don’t overdo it and get burned out!

  7. Emily says:

    I’m so so SO happy to hear that you’re incorporating more grains into your diet! They’re amazing. I’ve felt way healthier and had a million times more energy since I’ve been eating more grains. It’s true that they’re our bodies preferred source of energy so they back a big difference. (:
    Dying over these casseroles, by the way! I need to make one!

  8. sophia1991999 says:

    I love grains- but I’m Italian so aborio (white rice) rissoto, white flour hand-made pasta and beautiful fresh breads from the bakery are what I rely upon for energy- I HIGHLY recommend them! But I have a sensitive tummy so too much fibre just makes me feel awful 😦 I notice a correlation in energy the more grains I consume- and they can be made into such delicious meals- meals that life is too short to miss out on! Hope you have a beautiful day love Sophia

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Can I just say I’m jealous you’re from Italy, Sophia? I’ve always wanted to go there on vacation but have yet to do so.
      Risotto? It’s been too long since I had a proper one. And homemade pasta? Do you want to come and cook for me :)? Yes, life really is too short to live miss out on grains.

  9. liftsleepeat says:

    oh that chilli bake looks really good; the wheatberries look delicious in it 🙂 may have to make something similar, its been far too long since i ve had a chilli!

  10. livliveslife says:

    I’ve actually found, through trial and error, that no matter what else I eat in a meal, I just cannot feel full or satisfied unless I have grains/carbs. That said, I don’t go wild with white flour or anything like that, but my meals make me feel much better if I have quinoa, rice, or something along those lines in them.
    You mentioned that you weren’t feeling well after eating oat bran for three days. I don’t know if this is just coincidental for you, but I know that if I eat oats too often/too many days in a row, I start to feel sick. I think it’s an oat intolerance that I develop. Just a thought. 🙂
    Greek yogurt bowls with fruit and granola are my go-to breakfasts! I love them!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks for hinting to the oat bran possibly having upset my stomach. Actually, though, I’ve still been having it for dinner every night and it didn’t make me feel nauseous. It just didn’t satisfy me anymore for breakfast after a few days so I always found myself snacking on other foods right after finishing my bowl. Nontheless, I’ll keep your advice in mind and make sure not to overdo the amount of oats in the future.

Leave a Reply

