Polkadots & Ponderings #1

Happy Monday, everybody! I hope your week is starting in a truly marvelous fashion. Thanks to our lovely host Katie for making every Monday start out a bit brighter for the 5oth time already today!

MiMM_new

After enjoying these kind of random thought-posts on other blogs I thought I’d start my own version of them, too. Just a potpourri of little facts [hence the “polka-dots” and yes, I’m aware that’s the correct way to spell the word yet I prefer my version ;)] and thoughts [ponderings] floating around in my mind.

1. Starting right out with a polka-dotted confession: the little dots make an appearance in my life every.single.day. Not that I was wearing the same clothes all of the time but I have polka-dotted plates, cups, seat cushions, a scarf, a Kindle pocket sewn by my sister, … Some might call it an obsession, I call it living up to my [blog world] name ;).

Little bowl

2. Does anybody else remember collecting stickers as a child? For me, it was mainly Disney characters (Pocahontas!) or horses. Oh the excitement and eagerness to spend my pocket money on a single packet every week. German grocery stores caught hold of that clever marketing idea and bring out new series of sticker collections every now and then. The clue: to get a package – unless you want to shell out all of your pocket money earnings – your purchases at the store have to reach a certain sum. For somebody like me making lots of smaller purchases throughout the week rather than one large that means I hardly ever get a package. So thanks to the cashiers giving me the sticker packets of customers ahead of me in line who don’t want them.

Sticker collection

3. Fresh herbs make everything taste better. Why I hadn’t bought a basil plant in a while is beyond me but it was one of the best recent [food] purchases made.  Go and buy fresh basil if you don’t have any right now :)!

Basil

4. Flowers make me happy. Simple as that.

Orchids

5. I can’t remember the last time I wore pants prior to last weekend at my parents’ when we headed out for a bike tour on a rainy and cold day. Who says you can’t wear tights in winter? Actually, I find them to keep me warmer than trousers. Does anybody else notice that?

Warm tights

6. Library waiting lists suck – especially when you’re the last one in line. But some books are well worth the wait ..

7. And that brings me to the next point: the awesome book I mentioned recently. Well worth the six + months I had to wait for it: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. Harold FryIn case you haven’t heard about it before: The protagonist Harold Fry, recently retired and stuck in a boring daily grind, receives a letter of an old college, Queenie, saying she had cancer and was about to die in a hospital a thousand kilometers away. Unsure what to respond Harold writes a short meaningless note leaving the house to simply post it into the mailbox closest to his house. But then – unconsciously at first – he just keeps walking. Something inside his has clicked and he becomes convinced that if he’s able to walk to the hospital Queenie will continue to live and he’ll be able to thank her for a huge favour she did him decades ago. Little by little the reader gets to know the background of Harold’s decision, the reasons for why he and his wife have drifted apart during the years of their marriage. Soon enough it becomes clear that Harold isn’t doing his pilgrimage with the sole intent of seeing Queenie one last time but for a much bigger purpose: to come to terms with his whole life.

Following along Harold’s journey and seeing his development from a prim character to a warmhearted and open-minded person was amazing. The story also shows that sometimes in life it’s not so much about reaching your original goal but about the journey towards it. So if you’ve been looking for a great read, go and pick up a copy!

8. Reading the book I couldn’t help but note that this story once again shows how awesome walks are. I might not solve any life problems on mine. But simply getting plenty of fresh air paired with a nice steady movement has helped me clear my mind many times before.

9. Turning my iPod into shuffle mode is one of my favourite ways of using it. It’s amazing how many songs I’d forgotten about I happen to stumble upon. In case you don’t mind I’ll just go ahead sharing a glimpse into the secret life of my iPod in these kind of posts. A recent find was this song the album which it belonged to was given to me by a friend – and we’re not talking a girl but boy [!] here … Be prepared to fall off your chair laughing. Did you watch the movie this is from?

10. Inspirational quotes are on my happy list.

  1. SourceSource

Happiness inducing today: Turning on the radio to a good song being played.

Did you collect stickers as a child? Which ones?

Have you read any great books lately?

Pants or tights? Do any of you agree the latter keep you warmer or is it just me?

22 thoughts on “Polkadots & Ponderings #1

  1. Carli says:

    I collected stickers as a child too! I’m pretty sure I still have my collection in a shoe box under my bed, haha. And wow, a six month wait for that book? You are quite patient! I’m currently reading “Gone Girl” and it is seriously one of the best books I’ve read in awhile. It’s just really well written, and I am a huge fan of mystery books.

    Have a wonderful week 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Actually, I’m not patient at all but I didn’t have a choice in this case ;).
      Don’t ever throw those sticker collections away! I wish I’d kept mine, too, as it’d be great to look through them again today and bring back childhood memories.

  2. Kat says:

    Oh no!
    I wish I had known you’re collecting the stickers from Rewe because I always threw them away after leaving the store! 😦 From now on,I’ll save them for you…
    Anyhoo,I have indeed read a great book lately,but it’s fantasy and therefore probably not really your piece of cake… It’s called Incarceron,though,and despite it starting really weird,after like 50 pages you just can’t stop reading anymore. Promise. 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Don’t worry about those stickers :). I wouldn’t want you to go through the extra hassle of saving and mailing them. Also, the stickers won’t be available anymore after this week so I started collecting a bit too late in anway.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Childhood memories are the best and I’m happy my post made you reminisce of yours.
      Aaah, I looked up those Lisa Frank stickers and I totally get why they were your favourites! So cute.

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I used to collect stickers like it was my job – I actually still have albums upon albums of them, and glancing through them always brings back such good memories. I remember trading stickers with my friends and being so serious about it… like attaching a value to every sticker and having to make sure the trade was fair. Heehee. Good times.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh, you always HAD to make sure the trade was fair! Not every sticker was created equal after all ;). Trading a sparkly or glowing sticker for a “normal” one wouldn’t have been okay at all.

  4. Ameena says:

    I was obsessed with stickers when I was a kid…I had books and books of them. And then I’d trade with my friends and cousins who were also obsessed. Good to know that we were not alone!

Leave a Reply

