When life hands you [avocado]

Sometimes we make plans for life. And sometimes life decides not to work out as planned – in a very good way. This is what happened to me in terms of food during the past days. What did I plan? After last week’s post on incorporating more grains into my diet I’d planned on “investigating” a bit more in that field.

Granted, I hadn’t had an elaborate plan but more of an idea of wanting to keep experimenting with different grains and amounts of them. But as hinted above life seemed to have another idea. Enter: the add-more-fat edition of WIAW [meant in a very kind way]. Thanks as always to Jenn for hosting!

WIAW GOES GREEN

[Note: I felt like all the green foods to come in today’s post deserved that logo once more :)]

Actually, I hadn’t intented on giving avocado another try just yet. The brownies were nice but I hadn’t dared avocado on its own and that’s exactly what I feel I “have to” in order to truly repair my relationship with food. When I was at the health food store to pick up a jar of my favourite almond butter I spied some perfect avocados. Perfect because they weren’t only just the right state of ripeness but also not too huge. Because admittedly, I had more than one avocado go moldy due to me not eating it fast enough. Most of those I can get at the supermarket are just too intimidatingly huge for me. Certainly not for serious avocado admirers but not being there yet I didn’t want one of them. Long story short: I picked up one of those perfectly-sized avocados and let it all happen.

Zucchini pasta with lentil chili and avocado sauce

Zucchini pasta with lentil chili and avocado sauce

What happened were very good and satisfying meals. Day by day I upped the amount of avocado just a little and never cut down on my nut butter consumption. Yes, it was and still is scary but I’ll keep going and see what happens.

Lazy-girl Chana masala – as in: totally unauthentical Indian food. Accompanied by some broccoli and – yes – more mashed avocado.

Lazy-girl Chana masala – as in: totally unauthentical Indian food. Accompanied by some broccoli and more mashed avocado.

And I’ll confess I cheated. Cheated on almond butter, that is. Let me explain: I’d spotted hazelnut butter on offer in the health food store chain I frequent for my almond butter only. While I’d been intrigued to  try it earlier already the price and – not lying here – the higher calorie and fat content had kept me from it. Luckily, curiosity got the best of me and … I sparked a new food obsession. Tastewise it reminded me of the healthier organic “Nutella” my mum used to buy for our family when I was younger. That organic version has a decidedly higher hazelnut content and I’ve always preferred it to the real thing. If you’re ever in Germany do yourself a favour and pick up a jar of Samba spread at a health food store :).

Addicted.

Addicted.

What I noticed when upping the amount of fat in my diet was that I felt even more satisfied after my meals. That’s not say I’d eaten a low-fat diet before but at least my lunches were most definitely lacking. Where does that leave me at? Admittedly, I’m not sure. I know many people in the blog world state themselves to be either a fat, carb or protein person – meaning the macro balance they’ve found works best for them. Right now, I don’t find myself belonging to any of these groups [yet?] and that’s okay. One week I might need more grainy carbs, the other I’ll go for more fat or protein.  Who knows what’s to come in my next WIAW post J?!

One thing I’ll never go without is dessert, though. Peanut mug brownies after finally figuring out the right ratios and perfect “baking” time resulting in a fantastic brownie.

Needless to say this was topped with hazelnut butter post-picture.

Needless to say this was topped with hazelnut butter post-picture.

Happiness inducing today: Sharing the excitement of a very good friend moving into her first own apartment.

Did you ever have life interfere with your original plans in a very good way? [Not necessarily food-related only!]

Do you consider yourself a fat/carb/protein person?

What was happiness inducing for you today so far?

31 thoughts on “When life hands you [avocado]

  1. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    I’m so glad you took a leap of faith and your purchased that perfect avocado! The sauce you made looks absolutely delicious—I love the idea of adding it to zucchini pasta. You may have just inspired a future meal. 🙂

    I’ve definitely found that including more fat in my meals–especially avocado–not only leaves me feeling more satisfied, but also aids my digestion. When my fat intake is low or moderate, my stomach is more turbulent after eating. I like to tell people that the fat “coats my tummy and helps the food slide though.” Haha. I guess in that regard, I’d consider myself a “fat person,” however definitely without the negative connotation! 😉 I don’t really like labels, though, and have noticed that, like you, some weeks I need more carbs or protein. I try to listen to my body and my cravings.

    I think cheating on almond butter for hazelnut butter was a wonderful choice. Hazelnut butter is delicious, especially coupled with chocolate!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week! ❤ xoxo

  2. Sarah Pie says:

    Glad to hear you were able to take a leap of faith and go for the avocado gold! It looks like you were able to make it into a tasty part of your meals. Let’s be honest though the scene stealer here is that gorgeous mug brownie (and I can imagine it looked even better when you added the nut butter on top 🙂 )

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    I don’t even know what to say about your meals besides they look incredibly delicious!! I’m glad you took a leap of faith and went for it with the avocado.. Now please share the recipe you used for the pasta dish!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Maybe I should start taking notes when I cook in case somebody asks for a recipe 🙂 – or if I want to have the same dish again. Okay, let’s see … How about I do so next time I prepare the dish and then share it?

  4. IHeartVegetables says:

    I loooooooove carbs. I tried cutting them out (not veggies and things like that, but pretzels, cereal, etc) and I’m MISERABLE Without them! It’s crazy! So I try to have a little throughout the day so I don’t go overboard 🙂

    That zucchini pasta sounds great!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Don’t ask for my mood when being left without grains for too long .. it’s not pretty. Back in the day I’d stuff myself with fruit and vegetables but that doesn’t cut it for me. That’s why I strive for the same approach as you: a good amount throughout the day and I’m tame ;).

  5. liftsleepeat says:

    Glad to hear you managed to up your fat content! I cant believe I never used to like avocado?! Its so yummy – the smaller sized ones are ideal to make sure you don’t end up wasting any 🙂
    Love the look of your meals too; that hazelnut butter sounds delicious.

  6. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    Hooray! I am so proud of you for getting out of your comfort zone, and trust me, avocado is SO good for you…but I definitely understand the fear of how fattening it is. Good fat…good fat..good fat…it’s like a mantra. 🙂

    I once found a vanilla hazelnut spread at an international market and I liked it even more than Nutella. Thanks for reminding me of this, as I have half a bag of roasted hazelnuts at home that might need to turn into nut butter…

    • Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

      Oh, also, I don’t think I’m a protein, carb, whatever person. I think I like all foods, at different times, and I crave things without rhyme or reason. I do vaguely think about balancing out everything, but even when I was calorie counting I never worried too much about certain ‘gram’ intake of each one.

      • letsgetupandlive says:

        As I said it’s the same for me. I don’t feel like I was fitting into any “macro category” and never counted specific macros until my short stint with an online calorie counting website. Not anymore now, though, but I have a rough idea of the breakdown in my head still. Here’s to hoping I’ll be able to let go of that in the future, too.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, thanks, Sarah! Good fat, I know, but it still scares me to think just how much I’m consuming overall. Add me being a volume eater to the equation and … yes. I’ll keep your mantra in mind :).
      Send me some of that hazelnut butter whichever amazing flavour you come up with, yes? You know I don’t have a food processor so it’s not fair teasing me!

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I consider myself an everything person 😉 I’ve gone through high fat, high protein, and high carb phases, and while they all had their strengths, forcing myself to stick to one way of eating just wasn’t working for me. Now there are days when I eat higher fat, days where I eat higher carb, and days where I eat higher protein. I find that one eventually balances itself out with another, so I just go with the flow and find that’s what works best for me.

  8. Emily says:

    So proud of you!
    I definitely don’t label my diet at all anymore- other than vegetarian because I’ve never liked the taste of meat. I find any and all labels to be restricting in a way. If I’m craving something, I want the freedom to eat it. That’s what works best for me. (:

    But, as for what foods I love the most, I’m alllll about carbs. Breads, pastas, crackers, rice…love it all!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Label-free is definitely the best way to go. Else it’s so easy to feel like having to adhere to that certain label all of the time. That’s why I prefer “vegan with benefits” to “vegan” because it allows wiggle room and doesn’t make me feel restricted.

  9. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    I’m so proud of you for adding in more avocado! I used to only like it in guacamole but now I’m branching out and eating it more often and I love having a new fat in my life, other than nuts and coconut butter.

    I’m not sure if I’m a fat/carb/protein person but I do know that I prefer fats and carbs to protein. I still make sure to incorporate plenty of it through beans, edamame, tofu and peanut flour but since I have such a sweet tooth, I tend to gravitate towards nuts butters and fruit. I’m still having a hard time adding grains back in but I do love some of them and hope to be able to add back in more soon.

  10. livliveslife says:

    No matter what I do, I cannot force myself to eat an avocado. There’s just something about them I don’t like! I wish I did, though. That Chana Masala looks delicious!

    I am most definitely a carb person. Deffffinitely. Recently, though, I’ve been eating more good fats, and I do feel better about that!

    Have a great week!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh, don’t worry. I never cared about them back in the day (pre-ED) and have just now noticed I actually enjoy them. Maybe you’ll like them one day, too – or not and that would be okay as well.
      Have a great week, too!

  11. Emily says:

    Avocado on toast – please try it!! Thick thick avo though (half for each slice At least :)) it’s especially good on rye bread. I’m a bit of everything- I don’t know I love lots of pasta, bread and rice but they always are accompanied by fat!! Local fresh butter, olive oil, avocado yum and just add to the carbs! I seem to burn through so much food, I’m tiny but just need a lot of food to feel good and energised- your meals look lovely but would not have enough energy for me lol please try the avo toast it’s awesome!!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Avocado on toast seems to be a blogger favourite. Personally, I’m not that fond of bread in anyway – believe me, I tried but it just doesn’t satisfy me as much as cooked grains.
      Don’t worry about my meals: I’ve never shown a full day of eats yet. So if one meal looks lacking then I made up for it energy-wise over the course of the day.

  12. sarah says:

    So you gave up carbs/grains, for some fats? … Your meals are like carbless. It’s possible to eat carbs and fats you know?

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      No, I most definitely didn’t give up on carbs/grains in specific and don’t intend to, either. As I mentioned in reply to another comment if one meal seems lower in carbs I’ll have made up for it at another point during the day. Maybe I should have pointed that out in my post.

Leave a Reply

