Polkadots & Ponderings #2

As promised I’m making these posts a little series on here, too, and because I feel like posting today … Some more recent ponderings.

1. Getting my blood drawn at my doctor’s early in the morning – just the best way to start the day. Not only am I the exact opposite of an early bird but also super scared of needles. Anybody else?

2. Call me biased but I just think my sister and her fiancé had the most adorable and creative idea for their wedding invitation.It’s an organic cotton tote with their faces and the wedding date printed onto it.

 

Wedding invitation bag

3. Has anybody ever tried to follow along this list as well as possible? Would be a fun challenge for sure . Thanks to Sara for mentioning it – I’d only seen mentions of certain holidays before but never known there was a list covering every day of the year. Happy National Chocolate Ice Cream Day, everyone 🙂 – go and get yourself a scoop!

4. This …broken blender

… is what I happened upon when I picked up my immersion blender to prep yesterday’s lunch. Eeep! Confession: I still used it. In case you’re wondering, though: yes, I did order a new one. Last Friday already, actually. But apparently Amazon decided to ignore my order – they had yet to change the status to anything but “ordered”. Getting impatient I contacted their customer service via chat yesterday. I’d been weighing the option of simply ordering again but kept myself from doing so because the price had since been raised significantly. Just to let you know: Amazon has great customer service and the clerk – herself not able to find out where the error was – told me to place the order again and then changed the price back to the one I’d ordered it for at first. Nice!

5. Which one are you?

which-dreamworks-character-are-you_5029109b45b23

6. Sigh …

Cable spaghetti

This is the sight I’m greeted by pretty much every time I retrieve my iPod from whichever pocket or bag I last left it in – sometimes far worse than shown above. Sure, spaghetti are nice but cable spaghetti? Not so much. I wish there was a surefire way to avoid them but I have yet to find one.

7. Walking past a kindergarten earlier today I heard one of the kindergarten teachers call out to a little girl to get inside to have a wee-wee. I guess it’s a good thing children aren’t yet that self-conscious or who else would like to be called out to go to the toilet for the whole street to hear ;)?

8. Trying to budget or not: Some purchases simply can’t be avoided.

Hello Kitty

9. The secret life of my iPod: Good mood guaranteed and the title fits perfectly with the current weather around here.

10. … and if there’s nothing else to believe in …

I believe in fortune cookies_klein

Happiness inducing today: Knowing it’ll still be bright and warm outside when I’m heading on my walk in the evening.

Whatever you have planned for the weekend I hope you’ll have a great one with lots of sunshine!

How do you deal with having your blood drawn? My favourite part is being done and over with it :).

Which Dreamworks character are you?

What’s the last impulse purchase you made?

11 thoughts on “Polkadots & Ponderings #2

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m a morning person, but I can NOT deal with getting my blood drawn. I’m talking like full blown, I’m going to faint, panic attacks. I’m so bad that I literally have to take calming drugs just to be able to go to the clinic. So yeah… I don’t cope well at all 😆

    And I’m Spirit. Loyal, adaptable, curious, and mischievous? Yup! I’d say that was pretty much spot on. It’s been a while since I watched that movie, but I remember loving it when I was younger.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Oh, I always thought you were neither allowed to eat nor take medicaments before having your blood drawn – thanks for proving me wrong. I’ll definitely keep the idea of calming drugs in mind for future appointments :)!
      What a coincidence you ended up being Spirit, too. Now if that’s what not being good in social situations leads to I’ll gladly take it :D.

  2. Carli says:

    I don’t like getting my blood drawn either, but I’ve gotten used to it. I actually have to get it taken on Monday. It helps if the nurse is friendly and talks to you (as long as she doesn’t start talking about taking your blood or the size of your veins…that’s the worst!)

    What a cute quiz! I got Gloria, but I’m not so sure I’m “popular” or a “voice of reason”, haha. As for the last impulse purchase I made, I actually just bought a sweatshirt today when I went to the mall with my sisters! I generally dislike spending money, especially on things I don’t need, but it was on sale and it was oh-so-soft, I just couldn’t pass it up!

    I hope you have a lovely weekend!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Is it bad that I admittedly prefer the nurses not to talk to me? They’re obviously trying to be nice but I’m feeling so awkward that I prefer plugging in my iPod and turning away from the arm in question.
      You really can’t pass up a sale though I get you on being opposed to spending money of items you don’t really “need”. Every once in a while a girl’s allowed to splurge a little, right :)?!
      Have a great weekend, too!

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    What an absolute adorable and original idea for your sisters wedding invitations. They turned out great!!

    Also, I’m not sure why you had to get blood drawn, but I hope your alright darling!!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      It was just a regular check-up so no need to worry :). Actually, I’d even asked to get my blood drawn – yes, despite being terrified of it – because I like to make sure everything’s fine regularly.

  4. Emily says:

    Okay, those tote bags are the most adorable thing ever! I’m definitely going to remember that for when I get married in the faaaar distant future. (:
    And have you heard about the new wireless headphones that just came out recently? I haven’t tried them so I’m not sure how they work but I’ve heard quite a few people talking about them. You should definitely look into getting a pair!

  5. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish says:

    I completely empathize with your fear of needles! I’ve passed out at the doctor’s office more than five times, and I have some pretty funny stories I could tell you about “chases” through medical buildings when I was younger. They used to have to pin me down in order to get that needle in me. Needless to say, the fear has always been BIG, and I have no doubt it’s going to change. Fortunately I no longer run away from the doctor, though. 😉

    Your sister’s wedding invitation is so creative! Love love love! I may pin that idea, just so I don’t forget. I’ve never seen or heard of anyone doing that in the States, but if it hit Pinterest, I imagine it would definitely become a trend.

    I love that you’re on board with the national food celebrations! I’m talking about them again in today’s post. 🙂 I wish I had the motivation to celebrate every day, but that would require far too much planning, so I just stick to my favorites. I’m not sure how I missed chocolate ice cream day, though!

    My Dreamworks character: Donkey! 😀

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, my dear! Your package is all sealed up, and will be mailed off tomorrow! ❤ xoxo

Leave a Reply

