Keeping cool with frozen snacks

With this month’s WIAW motto and it being – at least for US readers – National Fresh Fruit and Vegetable month there’s been a lot of produce action going on. Isn’t that really happening just naturally this time of the year? The season boasting with fresh fruit and vegetables makes at least me even more likely to go overboard when produce shopping  – yes for Summer! Thanks to Jenn for hosting this fabulously fresh [not that I liked alliterations a bit too much ;)] food party once again!

wiaw sensible snacking button

Seeing as the temperatures have been climbing at record speed  hitting up to 28 °C/ 82 °F as a current record for this year so far yesterday it’s been all about staying cool and refreshed for me. Rather than having it as a main meal zucchini pasta has been a favourite savoury snack of mine these days. Using salsa instead of a cooked sauce, adding chickpeas, mushrooms and fresh basil it’s a fast and fresh mini meal.

Zucchini snack

Thanks to the arrival of my new blender an old favourite’s been making an appearance in my diet again: Banana Softserve! Whether plain or Thin Mint-style with added cocoa powder and mint extract I’ve been going through bananas at record speed – I’m not sure what my roommate thinks about my banana hoarding habits ;).

Eaten straight from the food processor bowl for minimal clean-up.

Eaten straight from the food processor bowl for minimal clean-up.

Speaking of frozen treats you might know I’m not too keen on frozen yogurt. Yet I had to get myself a cup when a new one from the UK hit the shelves of a supermarket chain as a weekly offer. It’s YooMoo brand and after finding out it was suitable for vegetarians I didn’t hesitate any longer. The verdict? It tastes like … ice cream. A rather plain ice cream with – in my case – tropical fruit sauce swirled throughout. Not bad but if I want ice cream I’m going for just that not frozen yogurt. For me, it’s the slight tanginess and softserve consistency that makes frozen yogurt. While the consistency was definitely lighter than regular ice cream there was no tang to it at all. Well, you win some, you loose some.

YooMoo

In case you read my last post you’ll remember me talking about the traditional German dessert Rote Grütze.  Turns out it makes an awesome addition to my ever-expanding Greek yogurt bowls. Tangy, creamy coconut flour-thickened Greek yogurt mixed with sweet berry “pudding” – a match made in foodie heaven.

Greek with Rote Grütze

In case any of you would like to try Rote Grütze but can’t find it in stores I’ll post a recipe – let me know.

 

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: A sweet encouraging mail from my dad which is quite unlikely for him not being a huge mailing/texting person so I appreciated it even more.

 

What has the weather been like for you? Germany – and especially the part I’m living in – sure can’t keep up with the temperatures elsewhere in the world.

How do you stay cool on hot Summer days?

What’s your favourite spin on banana softserve?

24 thoughts on “Keeping cool with frozen snacks

  1. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie says:

    Thin mint style banana softserve sounds incredible! I’ve been freezing bananas like crazy lately for banana softserve and I’ve been trying out new flavor combos. Mint + chocolate is my absolute favorite flavor combination so I’ll definitely be trying that out!

  2. Alex (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) says:

    I love the idea of zucchini pasta as a snack! I know it would never fill me up as a meal, but sounds like an amazing between meals option!
    It’s been way too long since I’ve had banana soft serve… and thin mint style? I’m going to have to try that soon! Chocolate and mint were meant to be together. 😉
    And please post the recipe for Rote Grutze! I have no idea what it is, but I’m all for trying new foods from different places – especially dessert 🙂

  3. kimathungryhealthygirl says:

    I love banana soft serve and it’s been way too long since I’ve made some. Putting that on my “to make” list!

  4. Emily says:

    Ooooh…I would have never thought to have zucchini pasta as a snack! I always see people eating it for meals but that’s definitely not enough to fill me up. I’m definitely going to try your version. (:
    The weather has been fairly warm here too which I’m loving! I’ve been eating fresh fruit like CRAZY- it’s all I crave during the summer!

  5. liftsleepeat says:

    Yum your banana soft serve looks so creamy! My blender doesn’t make it properly 😦 I end up with melted bits + chunks and not a proper ice cream (when it breaks and I get to buy a new one I will definitely be buying one that can make it haha!).
    I tried Yoo Moo and didn’t think it was all that incredible either; when will a good fro yo/fro yo shop come to the UK!!

  6. Eating 4 Balance says:

    Perfect idea for a snack post! Frozen and summer just belong together. I’ve made three versions (a few years ago…) of banana soft serve that I just loved! Chocolate chip cookie dough (with homemade cookie dough protein bites and chunks of frozen banana whirled with cocoa powder), cake batter (butter extract, almond extract and a little salt) and moose tracks (banana ice cream + cocoa powder with chunks of chocolate and peanut butter chunks). YUM.

  7. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    As a fellow banana hoarder, I think banana hoarding is a legitimate condition. Maybe we should form a support group or maybe we should just keep hoarding our bananas….I’m in favor of the latter.
    I’m with you; when I want ice cream, I eat ice cream. I’m not sure I’ve ever really had frozen yogurt and I don’t feel like I’m missing out. I have had ice cream, and I don’t regret a single scoop, especially when it’s topped with bananas.

  8. Lisa says:

    Snacking on zucchini pasta sounds like a winner, I have to try that out. Usually I reach for sweeter type Snacks, but maybe I should branch out a bit;)
    And you can never go wrong with banana soft serve. Delicious.

  9. runservecook says:

    Obviously I just got back from Germany and I AM SO JEALOUS! Your yoghurt over there is amazing!! It’s tangy and sweet and creamy and yum! I bought one brand of greek and froze it ovennight then let it thaw a little and it was the texture of ice cream the taste of tangy yogurt!

Leave a Reply

