If it doesn’t hit the plate …

Have any of you secretly double-checked their calendars today, too? It can’t really be July 3rd already now?!

Seeing as there’s no avail in trying to pretend it was June still: Let’s get onto the food on this first What I ate Wednesday of the month! Despite June being over I hope Jenn doesn’t mind me sticking with the topic of snacking once more – and a very specific snack attitude, that is.

wiaw sensible snacking button

During one of my recent conversations with Heather I mentioned a curious habit of mine. The “If it doesn’t hit the plate it doesn’t count” approach to eating.  Even during the deepest times of my ED I’d never given up on any foods – besides the obvious non-vegetarian ones but I’m not counting them here. Chocolate? French Fries? Baked good? Never passed up the chance for a bite. A bite only, that is. Never in the world would I have ordered a whole plate of fries or a rich dessert myself. But I happily encouraged others to do so because it meant I’d be able to sneak bits and pieces here and there.

Granola snacking at home

Granola snacking at home

Having a huge sweet tooth it shouldn’t come off as much of a surprise that baking is a hobby of mine. It’s also no surprise that I prefer the process over the final result. Sampling the batter, after all, means  that nothing hits the plate. A dip here, a few crumbs there – it’s never a full-sized snack or even meal. So I’m not even lying when telling people I ate the treats I’m offering them. Just not telling the full truth of never actually having eaten a full serving. Little lies – but lies, still.

Nussecken

On the upside this constant snacking around never gave me the feeling of fully depriving myself during my ED. On the downside, though, it never fully satisfied me. Also, what was true for sampling obviously didn’t help meal times with the family. The last time I ate a full plate of a dish cooked by my mum? I’m ashamed to admit I honestly don’t remember it. It’s not because I didn’t like what she prepares but her generous use of oil and other fear foods of mine. While it wasn’t her cooking the meal at least Christmas was an occasion I was able to relax about foods prepared by others. Only it’s truly been this long already.

Christmas dinner

However much I like snacking and sampling I’m also longing to sit down to a family lunch or dinner without worrying about amounts of certain ingredients. I want to be able to go for ice cream or lunch with friends spontaneously. Nothing will change, though, if I don’t get proactive – taking baby steps, yes, but taking them regularly. First plan of action: Eating out with friends. Next week, no last-minute chickening out. Let’s see how this goes …

 

Happiness inducing today: Seeing the orchid on my windowsill in full bloom.

 

“If it doesn’t hit the plate it doesn’t count”: do you use that approach to snacking, too?

Do you deal well with meals prepared by others? Advice on how to tackle my fears would be much appreciated.

11 thoughts on “If it doesn’t hit the plate …

  1. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    You can–and WILL–get there. I had many similar tendencies (especially the “oh, sure I ate that baked good” before giving it all away syndrome). These past two weeks I’ve been out to eat, and I’ve found that I haven’t given much thought at all to what I would do when I got to the party or the restaurant…I just went with it. I even ordered french fries! [Gasp!] It was funny though, because I was able to stop when I wanted to, and recognize that I was satisfied and had an enjoyable, creative meal.

    Now, if only I could maintain portion control around the nut butters and granola in my house…

  2. Hannah B. says:

    Yeah I feel your sentiments with basically all of this. I can’t remember the last time I ate something my poor mom made- she knows I won’t too and it hurts here and therefore me. What I find is that the idea of not being able to stop or feeling overwhelmed is much worse than the actual situation. I sometimes feel like I shouldn’t eat something because I’d want to eat the whole thing because I never ate them before, but it’s true- I can stop at just one!

  3. Alex@Veggin' Out says:

    I love eating foods prepared by myself too because I know what I put into it, but I also love eating food prepared by other because then I get a break from cooking and doing dishes 😉
    It might help if you tell yourself that your other, more comfortable foods will always be at home and will be waiting for you for your next meal. One of the things that I like about eating less healthy foods with friends (besides the amazing company) is that it makes me crave my veggies even more! And the memories made from being with friends are just too great to give up for anything. One of my most memorable moments involves eating buttery, salty popcorn with my best friend. Oh dear, now I’m craving popcorn 😛
    You will get there!! It really do believe it’s a game of balance, and I think that you realize that which is the most important step. 🙂

  4. runservecook says:

    Wow, this sounds like me about a year ago. I can relate in a big way. I think to start you could find out where your friends want to go and check out nutrition online. Sometimes there aren’t many (if any) choices that look actually healthy but look at the top 5 healthiest and just choose whichever you feel soundsbest. Another thing I would do would be just truly choose by what sounded good and just eat half and take the rest home of leave it justatisfied. That wil challenge you but you will be fine! Good luck!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Looking up nutritional information online beforehand would definitely provide some safety for me at this point in recovery. Unfortunately, though, German restaurants generally don’t provide any.
      For the visit I’ve planned with friends next week it was actually me choosing a specific restaurant. So while I don’t know about their nutrition it looks like a good place. Thanks for your advice though!

      • runservecook says:

        I’m sorry I didn’t reply to this but that’s unfortunate! You probably know what your confortable with and just choose that! I hope it went well 🙂

  5. Eating 4 Balance says:

    There was a point in time when I dealt really poorly when eating meals prepared by others. That is something that I tried really hard to overcome though, and when I finally was getting more comfortable… I got my food allergies and now have to make everything myself. Lol. Rotten luck. I think that sounds like you identified a really good goal though and that is definitely something that we would all benefit from working on!

  6. Emily says:

    You’re well on your way to fully recovering and I’m SO proud of you. That’s where it all begins… baby steps. Before you know it, you’ll be able to go out with friends and eat your mom’s home-cooked meals without a second thought. I promise. But, like you said, you’ll never get there unless you consistently push yourself to do things outside of your comfort zone. Each time with get easier and you’ll be amazed by how much fun you’re able to have. (:
    I can’t wait to hear about your time out with your friends!

Leave a Reply

