MIMM with a reunion BBQ and a [semi-]farewell party

Happy Monday!

The past weekend was a special one in all its quiet- yet eventfulness.

Everything started out with a special family reunion on Friday – on a train :). As I’ve mentioned it on the blog only once before you might not know that my brother and his girlfriend have been spending the past 6+ months traveling Asia. Friday marked their return to Germany. Heading to my parents’ place where  I knew I’d only be able to join them for a mere day. Luckily they had to change trains in the city I’m living in so I decided to join them then and there already. With only about half of Germany taking the same train – what’s not to like about an over-crowded train? – it took me a while to find them. But once I did some of the longest hugs ever shared happened.

Please “bear” with me for the sake of cutesy.

Please “bear” with me here for the sake of cutesy.

Source

Wanting to celebrate the return in proper fashion my family and my brother’s girlfriends’ had a BBQ at our house. Not usually a fan of BBQs anymore since having gone vegetarian/vegan I truly enjoyed this special one. We had a great time listening to stories about adventures in Asia – lots of laughter included. Sometimes it really is all about the company not the food – though the latter was great, too. Quickly improvised vegetable packets for the win. And – in light of my last WIAW post – let’s not forget about the awesome couscous salad with stir-fried vegetables my mum and sister made. Which yes, I did eat and enjoy. Baby steps can feel so good.

BBQ fare

Despite not working out that day I didn’t stress too much about food. Seeing my brother again after such a long time was way more important.

The reason I couldn’t stay at my parents’ the whole weekend was the [almost] farewell party of my university year. Hard to believe that after studying together for six terms we’ll soon all go our own merry ways. It was a semi-farewell as we’re not finished just yet. With a single class – all-day from today through Thursday, actually – left in our shared schedule we decided to end it properly with a bang: party time in an old chapel. Despite hardly half of my year attending we had a great time reminiscing the past three years with a dia show, talking about our plans for the future and dancing the night away. Sentimental would be the best word to sum up this gathering. Food was obviously included, too, and I brought these little gems which were deemed highly addictive by my friends.

Crispy Cereal Bars

I adapted Amanda’s recipe to fit my preferences and the ingredients I had on hand. It was actually my second time playing around with the recipe and you really can’t go wrong with it. Since I’d brought some home to my parents’, too, it got seals of approval of both my family and fellow students. Thank you, Amanda!

All in all this weekend very much deserves the seal of marvelousness. Head on over to Katie’s blog to see more pictures of her cute baby boy Rocco and everybody else’s weekend shenanigans!

MiMM_new

 Happiness inducing today: Sunshine!

What did you do on the weekend? Any BBQs happening?

Tell me something that made you smile today!

4 thoughts on “MIMM with a reunion BBQ and a [semi-]farewell party

  1. Alex@Veggin' Out says:

    I’m so glad you were able to relax and enjoy time with your family! I’ve always loved hanging out with my family, but I think I appreciate our time together even more since I’ve been back from my first year at college. I missed them all so much!
    I haven’t been up for too long today so so far what has made me smile was waffles for breakfast 😉

  2. livliveslife says:

    I can only imagine the stories your brother brought back! How great to listen to them. I think that the food is only half the fun of a BBQ…the other half is the people you’re spending it with, like you said, and it sounds like you were in good company. 🙂
    Oooh I saw Amanda’s recipe, and it looked so good…as does yours!

  3. Carli says:

    Bear hugs are the best kinds of hugs, in my opinion 🙂 I’m so happy to hear you were able to feel relaxed around the food, and just enjoy the company of your brother and family. It’s those kinds of moments that reassure me that recovery really is worth it!

Leave a Reply

