Currently … July

Hi! What would be more fitting right in the middle of the month than a little update on what’s been going on for me? I’ve been seeing this survey on many blogs and decided to jump on the train, too.

Current Book: : Gold by Chris Cleave. Deeming Little Bee one of the best books I read last year I can’t tell why I didn’t find out about this one any earlier. Once again Cleeve delivered an absorbing read written with a great eye for the fine details that I had a hard time putting down.  I may or may not have saved the last few pages just so I could include it as my “current” one here [okay, and because I have a hard time letting a good book end]. Let me know if you’re interested in a review though I can promise you it’s a great one.

Read on my Kindle while on the train.

Read on my Kindle while on the train.

Current Music: Belle & Sebastian  – Another sunny day

… because isn’t that what everybody hopes for at the moment? A whole-hearted musical yes to Summer!

Current Guilty Pleasure: Sleeping in. Truly sleeping in. No 8.30 AM wake-ups for this girl … Hey, I have to make use of it while I can, right?!

Current Nail Color: Essie’s Cute as a button. What’s not to like about coral?

Why does my hand look that creepy?

 Current Drink: Tea. Yes, I did notice it’s actually Summer but I still won’t give up on my daily cups of Sweet Chili tea.

Current Food: Slow-roasted tomatoes. A first-timer from this past weekend and while they take way too long for my impatient personality they are SO good. Slow-roasted – fast-eaten :D.

slow-roasted

Also, all the fresh strawberries I can get my hands on. Making the most of Summer’s bounty.

Strawberries

Current Favorite Show:  None. Though the second season of “New Girl” has finally started being aired last week and I might get into that again.

Current Wish List: I’d really appreciate a built-in thought recorder for my brain. It’s infuriating to notice how easily I can draft whole letters or posts in my head while out on walks or runs. Yet when I’m sitting down at my laptop everything’s gone, gone, gone. Somebody please invent such a recorder!?

Current Needs: More time. To work on my to-do list(s) but also spend with friends before we all drift apart

Current Triumphs:

Finishing my last class in university. Ever. It’s a bittersweet triumph, though, seeing as this means saying goodbye to many friends soon.

Current Bane of My Existence: See current guilty pleasure. Sleeping in is great but it bring out the night owl in me even more which in turn throws my days’ structure totally off. Something to work on … One day, yes, one day, I’ll be a morning person ;).

Current Indulgence:

Current indulgence

Frozen dark chocolate dessert  ice cream with hazelnut butter. Lots of hazelnut butter. Seriously: if you never tried freezing Alpro Soya desserts – do it now!

Current Blessing: Aside from a  wonderful family always being there for me I’m feeling incredibly blessed for all the friends blends I made through blogging the past months. Without getting all sappy here I just want to say a huge thank you to all of you!

Current Slang: Call me boring but: none. Or at least none I could think of. Can I blame English not being my mother tongue?

Current Outfit: 

Current outfit July

Polkadots, actually. And yes, I swear that’s accidental and I DO wear other clothes, too. And these new shoes – in coral no less. Usually, I prefer shoes with at least a little heel to feel taller but these were great for a city trip with lots of walking.

Current Excitement(s): With my sister’s wedding at the beginning of August, me graduating from university and starting an internship there’s so much to be excited about.

Current Mood: 

Happy. Nervous. Excited. A mixed bag of feelings in this transition period. If we’re talking this very moment, though: happy and thankful.

Looking at all of the above I’d say July has overall been quite marvelous for me so far. Thanks to Katie for reminding us to focus on the marvelousness in life at all times.

MiMM_new

Happiness inducing today: Meeting one of my cousins and catching up over ice cream.

What are you currently reading? Recommendations on which book to pick up next are welcome.

What are current excitements in your life?

Are you a night owl or an early bird?

6 thoughts on “Currently … July

  1. Emily says:

    Oh my goodness- I read ‘Gold’ a few months ago and absolutely LOVED it. It’s completely different from Little Bee but still maintains a similar writing style. I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did.
    I’m totally with you on the strawberry obsession right now- I can’t get enough of them! I just keep reminding myself that they’re in season right now and I should take full advantage. (:
    I’m glad you’re having such a great July so far!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yes, it’s totally different but just as captivating. Especially due to Cleave’s dedication to the topics the story deals with. Reading the interview at the end of the book made me appreciate him as an author and the work he puts into his books once more.
      Right, we need to take advantage of all the berries we can get now!

  2. Flake And Cake says:

    I so need to try putting almond butter with the alpro soya desserts. that sounds amazing – especially frozen! Slow roasted tomatoes are my favourite, they just taste incredible in everything. And strawberries are just Summer in a fruit – fact! That Essie nail colour is gorgeous, I love the name. I have Fifth Avenue on my toes at the moment 😉

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Essie seriously knows how to make lots of money just by coming up with the cutest names for the polishes ;). Who wouldn’t want to walk around wearing Fifth Avenue – need to look up that colour right now.
      And yes, you need to (!) put almond or hazelnut butter on frozen Alpro desserts. The dark chocolate flavour is the best.

  3. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchena says:

    I must say, I sometimes wish I could sleep in…although the mattress pad my stepmom has put on my bed is making it a little bit easier to want to lounge for a little longer than usual. 🙂 [Or just spend more time watching Pretty Little Liars on my computer.]

    You know, my high school English teacher actually suggested I carry around a recorder with me, or at least spend some time each night talking into one, because she sensed–like no one else had before, or maybe even since–that my brain worked in overdrive, but then when I sat down to write it all out, or tried to speak the words aloud to someone else, I couldn’t make sense of it all. She thought the practice might help, I guess! 🙂

    I have added both of Chris Cleave’s books to my list. Not sure when I’ll get around to reading them, but I just read the descriptions on Amazon and became VERY excited.

    And transitions. Oh, transitions. I feel so upside down and backwards these days, but I do believe that good things are bound to be coming.

Leave a Reply

