WIAW: Slow-roasted and sweet spontaneity

With it being Wednesday again that means two things: the blog world’s favourite [food] party is about to start and I’m looking for a theme in my recent meals again – actually finding one this time. But let’s begin at the beginning: Thanks for hosting and inspiring me to get creative in the kitchen, Jenn!

WIAWbutton_1

As I mentioned in my last post already the past weekend included my first experience with slow-roasted tomatoes. Even though I’d deemed it a waste of (oven) energy when first reading about them I was still too curious not to give the idea a try.

Slow-roasted_1

I’ll admittedly say I was tempted to turn off the oven earlier because a several-hour wait just doesn’t work well with me and my impatience. In the end, though, it was well worth the extra time because these flavourful little gems made their way into more than one meal. First up was Michelle’s slow-roasted tomato pesto.

Pesto pasta I

While I wish I could say I wasn’t it’s a simple fact: I’m a volume eater so I bulked up the dish with garlic-roasted vegetables and – not surprisingly – chickpeas. It might not look like much but this dish was a success for me in a two-fold way: first up due to the flavourful tomatoes but secondly, it was my first time having pasta in a long while. Not counting the nibbles of pasta I had somewhere in between.

With a generous sprinkle of nutritional yeast …

With a generous sprinkle of nutritional yeast …

Not usually a spontaneous person I came home ravenous after an appointment and running some errands yesterday. That would have usually made me throw together a highly voluminous yet not actually satisfying lunch in a hurry. The “fill me up as quickly as possible” logic I still can’t quite shake off despite regretting it afterwards. Yet somehow I was determined not to go down that route but change things – maybe peer pressure helped?!

slow-roasted tomato pizza

Just a short time ago pizza would have been the very last meal I’d have prepared when hungry and looking for a fast meal. It makes me laugh to think about it and happy to see this as yet another step forward. If [edible] motivation for recovery comes topped with slow-roasted tomatoes,  fresh vegetables, chickpeas (yes, I know) and Daiya cheddar I’ll gladly take it more often.

tomato pizza

Spontaneity was the name of the game once more when – after finishing our very last class in university! – friends of mine suggested getting ice cream. With how carefully they asked it was apparent they weren’t sure I’d agree. And – as sad as it is – in the past I might have cancelled out with it being way too short notice. A decision that would have taken me planning ahead in terms of food in the past – now all it took me was a simple yes.

Ice cream_July

Flavours of choice: Raspberry-Peach and Lemon.

As much as I wish I had been all comfortable in this situation already it did let feelings of regret and guilt arise later. But were they worth it? Absolutely. Once again it was about the people  more than the food and my company was well worth ever twinge of regret – and there was less of it overall than previously. A sweet success in my book :).

Happy Wednesday!

 

Happiness inducing today: Taking a walk with a friend of mine who’s about to move soon. It’s all about making the most of these moments I have left with my friends right now.

 

What was your most memorable meal from the past week?

How spontaneous are you?

What are your favourite ice cream flavours?

21 thoughts on “WIAW: Slow-roasted and sweet spontaneity

  1. Alex@Veggin' Out says:

    That pasta looks incredible! I need to check out that pesto. I already love pesto and with roasted tomatoes? Too good do pass up 🙂
    I’m glad you were able to enjoy some ice cream with your friends! I’m really spontaneous with everything. I’ll have a plan to go somewhere, do something, or eat something and then all of a sudden decide that that doesn’t sound good anymore and completely change it!
    I love cookie dough, cookies n’ cream, caramel, and chocolate ice cream, along with many more 😛

  2. liftsleepeat says:

    oh yum looks like you’ve been having some delicious things this week; that pasta meal looks incredible..im going to have to try making some slow roasted tomatoes.
    i’m not particularly spontaneous..i kind of like things pretty planned out; i’m trying to be a bit more spontaneous at times though!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Go for the slow-roasted tomatoes – and try to resist the urge of eating them all at once :D. It’s hard but I somehow managed to spare a few to use in meals.
      Sounds like we’re both working on spontaneity in our own speed and that’s what counts. We’ll get there :).

  3. Christine@ Apple of My Eye says:

    Haha I totally agree with WIAW being the world’s greatest food party! I look forward to it every week :). Please come over and cook for me asap! That pizza looks so amazing, yet so healthy at the same time! I think it’s a huge step forward that you made it and enjoyed it, along with the frozen yogurt! Trust me on this love, it’s so worth it to not let a number on a scale control your life or get in the way of going out to get ice cream with friends! So proud of you 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thank you, Christine! It means a lot to me.
      Okay, I’ll cook for you but only if you prepare that awesome fruit salad for dessert :). And a hike would have to happen, too. I’m super jealous of your surroundings.

  4. Flake And Cake says:

    I’m loving the look of that dessert! So yummy 🙂 That pizza is also great, crammed full of veggies and goodness – no guilt necessary! Thanks for your lovely email by the way, I checked my account this morning and it cheered me up no end. Will reply soon 🙂

  5. verbs and vignettes says:

    I really like the honest post. I think it’s awesome that you’re on your way to recovery. and that you agreed to go be with friends even if it was still a struggle.

    today is national peach ice cream day! that one’s pretty good. but we’re about to make some coffee heath bar ice cream. happy wednesday!

  6. Ksenija @ Health Ninja says:

    The pasta dish looks really delicious – but seriously, can’t you just buy sundried tomatoes? I bet that would be cheaper than leaving the oven burning for several hours 😉 – and I hate turning the oven on at the moment, it is unbelievably hot in my flat allready!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Trust me, slow-roasted tomatoes are way different from sun-dried. Actually, if you checked out Michelle’s pesto recipe you’ll see she used both sun-dried and slow-roasted tomatoes. I’d definitely not turn the oven on for something I’d be able to get cheaper and – most importantly 😉 – faster.

      • letsgetupandlive says:

        Oh, I wasn’t offended. As I said I was wary to keep the oven on for that long, too, and probably won’t be making any slow-roasted tomatoes again soon. Though they’re worth trying :).

  7. Jenn says:

    Yeah, i’m totally not spontaneous. Although I wish I were. I’m a planner by nature so I like to keep things under control and plan ahead!

  8. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    “Sweet” spontaneity….ahhh, I love it! I’m so happy that you decided to go out and spend time with your friends! And congratulations on being finished with classes! That is DEFINITELY a reason to celebrate! So knock those creeping feelings of regret aside…you deserved this! Both the treat and the company!!

    Roasted tomatoes (heck, roasted ANYTHING) is one of my favorite things! I love that you bulked up the pasta dish with the veggies…do I spy some mushrooms in there? Mmmm!

  9. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen says:

    Well, first of all, let me say thank you for reminding me how delicious slow-roasted tomatoes are. Like candy, no? That pizza looks divine, and when I can chew properly, I will be mulling over some sort of slow-roasted tomato pizza I’m sure.

    Secondly, I’m so proud of you for going with the flow and saying YES to ice cream. Trust me, I have had the guilt feelings with eating cake or ice cream or too much kettle corn, or whatever, but I try to think, “OK, this might not be ‘good for me,’ but it is good for me.’ Sometimes what isn’t healthy or ‘right’ in our minds is actually exactly what we need. Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

