Keeping it sweet without the sugar

Thank you so much for your kind comments on my last post! After a truly amazing lunch experience I’m already planning future Vapiano dates. Let me know if you want to join me :)!

MiMM_new

Remember how I said my last post wasn’t meant to focus on the pasta but the meanings behind it? Well, I guess that means I’m fine focusing fully on the food [why, yes, I like my alliterations] today. While there were some nasty thoughts creeping up after my pasta lunch I’ll get back to those in another post and keep it sweet and happy today. I know I’m super late to join Katie’s Marvelous in my Monday link up. With some marvelous food shenanigans lately, though, I still wanted to partake in the fun – with family being the reason for my delay I hope you won’t mind :). Thanks as always for hosting, Katie!

As I’ve mentioned many times before I have a huge sweet tooth and am not denying it. Some kind of dessert happens for me every day and I’m not willing to change it. Lately, though, I’ve been trying to find alternative ways to satisfy my longing for the sweetness without relying too heavily on the refined white gold [read: sugar]. That being said I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the real deal and will never shun it completely from my diet.

My Mum’s homemade strawberry jam – made with real sugar and can’t be  beaten.

My Mum’s homemade strawberry jam – made with real sugar and can’t be beaten.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while already you’ll know I’m quite fond of chocolate. Venturing down the sugar-free lane here actually happened spontaneously when I stumbled upon this chocolate in a store I don’t frequent regularly. It was the last bar in stock so I took it as a sign and got one. Mint and chocolate has been a favourite combination of mine as of recently. The verdict? It was surprisingly tasty and refreshing. And that’s what counts much more for me than it being sugar-free. I often find the mint flavor to be not prominent enough in chocolate bars so this one gets bonus points for its mintyness.

Plamil barEven more surprising and successful, though, was another experiment that took part in my kitchen: Vegan sugar-free meringues. Why, yes, I’m well aware regular meringue consists of egg whites and sugar – but trust me on this one. Admittedly, I followed a recipe by another blogger to a T but remained highly skeptical of the outcome all the while, too. Is it truly possible to cut the sugar and eggs out of a recipe that pretty much consists of just these two?

Looks eerily similar already …

Looks eerily similar already …

Excuse the far from perfect look of the meringues pre-baking – I might have to invest in a piping bag sometime in the future. For now it was all about plopping little fluffy blobs onto the baking sheet.

Baiser

Did I ever mention my impatience ;)? It was put to yet another test after the slow-roasted tomatoes with the meringues taking yet another low-and-slow oven party.

in the oven

But now for the best moment: Taking the first bites. Just one word: Heaven. Not fluffy anymore but the crunchy, crisp little [non-]sugary clouds my great-grandma used to serve anytime we visited her. If a food makes me reminiscene childhood memories it’s a win in my books already.

Sugar coma-inducing without the sugar.

Sugar coma-inducing without the sugar.

Happiness inducing today: Sunshine, sunshine and even more sunshine.

Which foods make you reminiscene your childhood or visits at your [great-]grandparents’ houses?

What are your thoughts on sugar-free chocolate? Did you try it before?

And once again: Tell me what made you smile today!

2 thoughts on “Keeping it sweet without the sugar

  1. sarah says:

    Uuumm…piping bag, or no piping bag , these look ridiculously perfect to me. Such cute ,little ,dinky meringues!
    I’m super intrigued by this. Do you mind sharing what recipe you used? I’d love to try it :).
    Xxx

Leave a Reply

