Never enough p-liciousness [with pasta, protein bowl and pudding]

Sorry for my last post being super rush and in consequence neither very well-written nor complete. I’d intended to share more information on the meringue-making but currently very limited internet access didn’t offer the best condition for that. Yet with my excitement about the outcome of the meringue I still wanted to share hence the rushed post. I’ll revise it once I’m back at my place by the end of the week.

Whenever I intend to actually post a [semi-]full day of meals – I don’t think I’d ever manage to take pictures of any and all bites and nibbles I have throughout the day – something gets in between. Not to gross you out too much I’ll just say this much: tongue inflammation [sorry!]. Which consequentially means avoiding any too hot, spicy, chunky, you-name-it foods? Needless to say there haven’t been any exciting dishes on my menu for the past days but plenty of frozen bananas, ice cream and cold beverages.

WIAWbutton_1_text

But I obviously still didn’t want to miss out on What I ate Wednesday so I’ll play the same game like every week showing you some of my recent meals.

Still reigning supreme in my memory I hope you’ll excuse me showing off my pasta once again. Freshly made fusili with a not-too-spicy Arrabiata sauce – for a spice wimp like me it’s a good thing Vapiano lets you choose your own level of heat.

Vapiano

Confession: I was seriously tempted to steal the bowl – simple yet pretty.

Don’t let the picture fool you! Servings at Vapiano are quite generous so I got to take some leftovers home that I incorporated in a light lunch the next day. Chickpeas were a natural addition – when are they not?

Leftovers

My newfound appreciation of pizza has yet to ebb off so here’s another recent success. I finally remembered the olives (thanks for the inspiration, Chelsea!), added lentils and kept the Daiya cheese to a minimum because other vegans had told me cheese-free pizza was even better. I’m not yet sure I fully agree. But the flavor of the vegetables truly took the main role in this version and not always having Daiya on hand it’s nice to know pizza is still great without it.

Pizza with olives

With Protein Power Bowls appearing all over the blog world I decided to create my own. Lentils, spices, vegetables and a creamy dressing – what’s not to like? I’ll share the recipe in an upcoming post on the weekend – when I’m back home with steady internet access again :).

Another one for the "tastes better than it looks"-category.

Another one for the “tastes better than it looks”-category.

One snack/dessert I actually did have yesterday was this little deliciousness. Proof that Alpro’s caramel dessert might not beat the dark chocolate one but still makes a nice tongue-cooler in a pinch. Any excuse to eat more ice cream/frozen desserts is a good one in my book :).

Almond butter in the background despite its not-quite-tongue-friendliness.

Almond butter in the background despite its not-quite-tongue-friendliness.

 

Fingers crossed my tongue will heal fast letting me partake in some more interesting cooking again soon.

Now hop on over to Jenn’s to join the full-on food party fun!

Happiness inducing today: Heading out for a bike ride with my mum at sunset.

Do you like to pack leftovers at restaurants and incorporate them in meals at home, too? I was actually new to the concept of being able to take leftovers home but will certainly do again in the future. No food should be wasted.

What was your favourite meal from the past week?

7 thoughts on “Never enough p-liciousness [with pasta, protein bowl and pudding]

  1. Chelsea's Healthy Kitchen says:

    I love that bowl that the pasta was served in too! The food blogger in me always gets excited about pretty dishes haha.

    My favourite meal from the past week was pizza from a pizzaria in Toronto. Pizza is seriously the perfect food. 😀

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Now that you’re saying it I guess it really is a bit of a food blogger characteristic as I’ve never heard anybody else rave about the dishware at Vapiano. But hey, it’s an important part of the meal experience :D.

  2. Eating 4 Balance says:

    Aww… I hope your inflamed tongue dies down soon! I would be sucking on ice cubes and frozen bananas like nobody’s business 😉 Mouth difficulties are the worst!

    I really like the looks of that pasta, chickpea and broccoli bowl. That’s a really cool shot that you got there.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Polishing off the ice cube stash at my parents’ in record speed ;).
      Thanks for your compliment on the picture. It actually was one of those “should I really take a picture?” moments but now I’m glad I did.

  3. Brittany @ Freckled Nettles says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! Your poor tongue 😦 I agree with the frozen banana idea. They’re a tasty cure!! I love packing leftovers and incorporating them into new meals. Doing so always gives me ideas for new recipes as well! Have a great week, love!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Brittany! Even though I think restaurants around here don’t usually offer the option of packing your leftovers I’ll try to do so more often. Wishing you a great week, too!

Leave a Reply

