Polkadots & ponderings #3

It’s been a long time since my last ponderings post so I thought sharing some recent randomness would be quite marvelous.

1. Just start your day off right:

2. Despite being an all-out nut butter addict plain old peanut butter hardly ever makes an appearance in my life. Imagine my surprise when I found myself craving it for no apparent reason today. It complimented my mug brownie very well so maybe I’ll change my opinion …

PB Mug brownie

3. Hearing my new coworker voice doubt about vegan baked goods (“But … when I bake I always add eggs and butter!?”) made me actually excited. Though veganism probably isn’t as widespread around here as it is in the US it’s still rare [for me] to come across people who are still having those doubts – but a nice challenge at that. Don’t you agree it’s time for a little cookie or cake convincing here? [As if I needed another excuse to get baking  …]

4. Ever wondered which is the fastest way to dry your nails after polishing?

So schnell trocknet_SZ-MagazinBlue: When blowing on your nails. –  purple: when waving your hand – yellow(ish): when blowing on your nails and waving your hand – pink: when just waiting

5. One of the positive side effects of having to bring all my food to work with me: an excuse to buy new lunchboxes. Why, yes, I’m just a little Hello Kitty obsessed.

Hello Kitty Lunchbox

6. Speaking of eating at work [or at home at times, let’s be honest]: I need this ;). Kidding …

7. This might be a bit older already but still worth thinking about:

Have you “fallen off the wagon?”

A short but [in my opinion] important reminder of being more forgiving and making peace with yourself. Life’s too short to worry.

8.  This.is.awesome.

9.. The Minions have been making me go against my usual banana buying habits [read: organic]. Wonder why? Chiquita is having a sales promoting offering a free DVD of Despicable Me to those collecting bills accounting for a certain amount of money’s worth in Chiquita bananas. It’s probably ridiculous because the DVD itself doesn’t cost much anymore already. But who doesn’t like the feeling of getting something “for free” ;)?

And because I like bananas [almost] as much as the Minions.

10. Happy Monday! I hope all of you are having a marvelous start to the week!

MiMM_new

Happiness inducing today: Preparing one of my favourite dishes that I hadn’t had in a while  – recipe to come later this week!

What kind of lunchbox do you have?

Do you like peanut butter? If not: which nut butter is your favourite? My current one is hazelnut [still].

Any Minions fans out there?

11 thoughts on “Polkadots & ponderings #3

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Yes to using children’s lunchboxes :). Why do the manufacturers even bother producing boring ones for adults? If being grown-up means giving up Hello Kitty everything I’m not up for it .

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      I’m right there with you on the nut butter consumption and making my own would certainly save me lots of money. Not to mention the possinble flavour varieties. Sadly, though, I don’t have a food processor so it’ll stay a dream for now.

  1. Susan says:

    I am actually a pretty much strictly peanut butter gal. I’ve tried others but my inner child screams and throws a fit if I’m not rocking the peanut butter on the reg.

    Also, I have two minions on my shelf at work, flanking Papa Smurf. Yes, they are all McDonald’s Happy Meal toys. No, I didn’t eat the Happy Meals to get them. Best $1.50 a piece I’ve ever spent? Perhaps.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Never mess around with your inner child ;). And I may or may not be slightly jealous of your minions. I don’t think they’re available around here. But then again I can’t remember the last time I actually was at McDonald’s. Good to know you don’t need to buy the actual Happy Meal to get the toys, though.

  2. Maggie @ Sunnyside Up Smile says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog! 😉 Your comment was so heartfelt and super sweet.
    First off, that brownie mug cake looks like a piece of heaven itself. I love chocolate and nut butters are awesome! Second, I need that keyboard because I love to eat and work (even though I shouldn’t). Third, I LOVE MINIONS! It would be so cool to voice one of them. Despicable Me is by far the cutest movie of all time. Also, I’m nominating you for the Liebster Award. Check out my post on Thursday for more details.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, thanks, Maggie. I meant every word of what I wrote, too, so get back to my offer any time.
      I agree eating and working at the same time isn’t ideal but sadly the reality of [at least at my] office life. And that’s when one of those keyboards would be seriously handy. No more picking crumbs out of my keyboard, ahem …

Leave a Reply

