The perks of being sick with a semi-full day of eats

Life can be quite ironical. Right when I’d given up the idea of ever showing a [semi-]full day of eats it threw me an unpleasant curveball.  A little cold snuck up on me and my doctor signed me off work for a few days yesterday. I’m not exactly pleased. Not just because being sick sucks but because I’d just started working in a new company and worry about this giving them a wrong impression of me. It’s always only as bad as you make it, though, and I refuse to be a Debbie Downer.

Dear Debbie Downer. life's just as awful as you're making it.

Dear Debbie Downer. life’s just as awful as you’re making it.

So I’m trying not to worry too much [easier said than done for a notorious worry-too-much person like me] but look at the upsides for now. The latter being lots of time on my hands to read the two new books I picked up and tackle some tasks that had been on my to do-list forever.   What being [mostly] stuck at home also means is having more time to prepare and eat food and take pictures of said meals and snacks. So here’s to not a full but at least fuller overview of [the first half of] Tuesday’s eats. A semi-full What I ate Wednesday, if you will.

WIAWbutton_1

Thanks to our wonderful host for understanding every foodie’s excitement in sharing their their meals and getting inspired every Wednesday. Dankeschön, Jenn!

Right upon waking up with a sore throat I grabbed one of my latest favourite snacks – inspired by Amanda – from the fridge: frozen banana slices. Topped with almond butter that I sadly couldn’t taste because the brand I use has a very mild flavour.

frozen bananas

The problem was solved ever so slightly by switching to peanut butter – you might have caught that in my last post? – which I was able to taste just a little more than the almond butter. And I’m really starting to like it.

Alnatura PB

Shortly afterwards a mug brownie followed. They have yet to get old though once more I didn’t taste too much of its delightfulness. By this point I really missed my taste buds a lot. Can’t we be friends again already, please?

Mug cake

Necessary throat-soothing tea with a side of the newspaper accompanied breakfast. Celestial Seasonings’ Apple Cinnamon Spice is amazing.

Celestial Apple Cinnamon

When I felt my salty tooth – yes, there is such a thing in my world – constantly nagging I grabbed one of my new favourite snacks. These are a new supermarket find I bought out of curiosity last week. From what I’ve heard about Popchips [that are not available around here] these might be an equivalent. A delicious and addictive equivalent.

Snack

Even with missing taste buds I still knew that I was craving just one thing for lunch: pumpkin. More specifically: the beautifully plump Hokkaido squash I’d bought spontaneously the day before. While kabocha will always be my favourite I will never forget this first type of pumpkin I ever encountered. Its natural creaminess doesn’t require any added non-dairy milk or creamer. Just thinking about it makes me think it’ll be on the menu again today … Adding some more vegetables I turned it into a colourful and [hopefully] healing stew. Eat your vitamins and [at least some] colour of the rainbow? Check.

Hokkaido Stew

There you have it: Tuesday’s eats up until lunch. Note that I still didn’t catch every morsel that made it into my mouth. Many random bites and nibbles just happen with me forgetting to take out my camera.  Additionally, I tend to eat a lot more during the second half of the day but in between my doctor’s appointment, running some errands, making calls and curling up in bed with a book I didn’t feel like snapping any more pictures. Maybe one day 🙂 …

With the extra time on hand now I can also promise you I’ll share the amazing recipe I hinted at on Monday tomorrow. Can I get you interested in this?

Casserole

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: The kindest pharmacist ever [not just for this reason] not only handing me my medication but giving me several kinds of cough sweets candy for free, too. Childhood memories …

What do you eat when your tastebuds are missing in action?

How do you busy yourself when sick?

What was your favourite meal or snack from the past week? Not counting today’s Hokkaido stew [for the lack of properly working taste buds] I’ll go with the really awesome casserole I’ll share with you tomorrow.

26 thoughts on “The perks of being sick with a semi-full day of eats

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling the best, hun 😦 I think the thing I hate most about being sick is not being able to taste my food… But it all still looks really delicious! And I seriously haven’t been able to get enough frozen bananas lately. I think between digging into my baggie of those and eating normal ones, I probably go through about 3 a day. Ahh well, there are worse things to be addicted to 😉

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Aw, I’m so sorry you’re sick, too.
      Just what I’ve been telling myself about the frozen banana addiction :). Three a day would be a good guess for my consumption, too. You should think about marketing that idea to health magazines ;).

  2. Ksenija @ Health Ninja says:

    Hope you are better soon! It’s the German weather I tell you. The day before yesterday I felt like getting seriously sick too, but I battled it with hot tea, hot soup and chillin under the blanket. Your pumpkin lunch looks like a great cure too, hmmm makes me wanna dig right into my hokkaido 😉 but out of curiosity: where did you purchase kabocha in Germany? So far I thought it’s something you just get in the UK or states 🙂 . And what recipe do you use for your mug brownie? It looks soooo good!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      It’s a simple yet just awesome way to put that precious Hokkaido to good use, believe me.
      Kabocha is hard to find around here. Even at the Asian market I can sometimes find it at they can never be sure when they’ll get a new delivery. The best ones, though, come from my mum’s garden but it’s not looking like a good harvest this year so far :. Talk about wonky weather.

      • Ksenija @ Health Ninja says:

        How cool that your mum is growing Kabocha! Thanks for the hint with the Asian market – that and the Turkish one are usually the ones I find cheap butternut squash, but I will look out for the Kabocha now.

  3. jessielovestorun says:

    Ah! You have White Almond butter too?!! I have heard such good things about that stuff. I’m quite jealous you’ve been able to try it. How do you like it btw? Does it taste better than regular AB?

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      I’m afraid I can’t make any comparisons as I’ve never had any other kind of almond butter – this is in fact the ‘regular’ one for me. The white one’s gotten what I’d describe as a fairly mild and sweet taste. Still, I’ve been curious about the darker kind expecting it to have a deeper roasted flavour.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Salty teeth united :). Glad to know I’m not the only one.
      Eating definitely feels like wasting good food on sick taste buds. But I’ve already been able to taste a little more today so I’m hopeful it’ll be better soon.

  4. alex@vegginout says:

    I’m glad you’re looking on the positive side! I definitely worry a lot too, but I’ve found that it really doesn’t do any good! I still do find myself worrying sometimes though… Anyway, I hope you get to feeling better soon! 😀
    At least all your food looks delicious! I hate it when I can’t taste my food due to being sick. I never quite feel satisfied haha! Can’t wait for the recipe – it looks mouthwatering! 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Never satisfied – you’re hitting the nail on the head with that. That’s really [food-wise] the most annoying part of being sick. But no ranting here – it’ll be over soon for sure :). Thanks for the well wishes!

  5. Ashley says:

    Awww sorry about feeling sick! It’s never fun, especially in the summer when we’re supposed to be enjoying ourselves. I got sick a few weeks ago and eating was not enjoyable when I couldn’t taste anything. I hope you feel better soon though–and all your food looks perfect for a day of sick eats!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks, Ashley! Despite feeling bad about missing work I’ll have to admit it’s nice not having to sit in an office all day right now. So there’s an upside to being sick notwithstanding all coughing and weariness. Still, I obviously hope to be back at work soon.

  6. Emily says:

    I haven’t been feeling well all day either- it’s such a pain. ):
    I hope you’re starting to feel better though! I mean, after all of this amazing food, you must be! I can’t wait for that recipe!

  7. Jess says:

    I’ve been nursing a cold this week too. As usual, this translates to me wanting to eat primarily soup. Not that this is a terrible thing. Even in August, soup is my go-to comfort food. Hope you start feeling good soon!

  8. Eating 4 Balance says:

    Oh I hate not having taste buds! It’s like— what’s the point of even eating?! Okay, not really, but still. You might as well just each boring stuff then if you can’t even taste it anyways. Hope they come back for you soon and you start feeling a lot better!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      You’re absolutely right. While I’m trying to keep my meals [somewhat] interesting eating ‘special’ food most definitely isn’t going to happen when I’m sick. No new recipes or finally breaking into that special bar of chocolate I got.
      Thanks for the well wishes!

  9. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Cannot wait for that recipe- it looks like my favourite ratatouille!

    I’m with you on the celestial seasonings apple and cinnamon tea- that is my favourite too and I always order it in bulk from iherb! I’m fortunate my tastebuds haven’t gone MIA in a while, but several times I’ve eaten food when it has been overly hot, which made food abit less appealing in the mouth!

Leave a Reply

