Would you please be so random? [Liebster award]

It’s time for a bit of randomness again with the sweet Maggie nominating me for the Liebster award. Thanks, Maggie! Though I’ve been tagged with this before I had fun answering her questions and doing my best to be seriously random here. Hope you enjoy it and are having a marvelous Monday!

liebsteraward

… and a random posts calls for random pictures [note that you agreed to this by just coming here].

Here’s how to play:

1. Thank the nominating blogger.
2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
4. Nominate 11 bloggers to answer your questions.
5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers that you nominate to answer and let all of the bloggers know that you’ve nominated them.  You cannot nominate the blogger that nominated you.

Shoes

More than one walk happened on the weekend.

11 random facts about me

  1. Tea is my favourite beverage all year round – no matter which season.
  2. There was a time when I wanted to become a kindergarten teacher and did a summer internship at my former kindergarten. It was so hard to leave again after those week yet I still chose another career path [for now – never say never …].
  3. My favourite TV series growing up was Ocean Girl. Any other fans or at least people who’ve heard of it? Any Australians, maybe?
  4. Going for a walk is my favourite way to start the day.
  5. I don’t like ketchup. Never even did as a child.
  6. I’m scared of swimming in the open sea.
  7. I’m slightly obsessed with taking pictures of flowers. Especially in my mom’s garden [proof is in the pictures].
  8. Viva la vida by Coldplay is one of the few thoughts that I know the lyrics of by heart. With most other songs I might know a few lines here and there but wouldn’t be able to sing along all the way.
  9. As much as I enjoy reading [others’] random posts I have the hardest time writing them myself. There are so many random things about every person but I find it’s hard to name them myself when being asked.
  10. I’m not only the youngest but also the shortest child in my family.
  11. Even numbers are my favourite for a reason I can’t [even] explain. Needless to say the numbers in this tag puzzle me a little. Eleven random facts? Eleven questions? Why not choose an even number?

Tea

  1. If you worked in a typical school cafeteria, how would you “healthify” the menu? Fun fact here: None of the schools I went to had an actual cafeteria as in: a place you could get a warm lunch at. All we had were older students selling candy bars, sandwiches and the likes.  From what I’ve heard about cafeterias, though, some changes I’d make to their menus would be: include whole-grain options, fruit in place of sugary desserts, a no-fried-food policy and no soft drinks. I’m all about balance so if students choose to eat unhealthily: okay. Only schools shouldn’t support this.
  2. What is your guilty pleasure? Sleeping in. As in: really sleeping in.
  3. If you could pack a suitcase to anywhere right now, what would you pack and where would you go? Perfect timing on this question as a get-away would be just the right thing at the moment. My suitcase would contain clothes for every weather and accompany me on a journey through the US finally visiting all of my blends. A girl can dream …
  4. Have you ever lived in another country? Where and for how long? I unfortunately haven’t. It’s about time, don’t you agree?
  5. What’s your least favorite household chore? Definitely bathroom duties. More specifically: cleaning the toilet and the mirror. The first because nobody likes it.  And the mirrors because I never manage to leave them behind streak-free which is frustrating. Advice is appreciated if you have any.
  6. What are your 5 must-have foods? That’s a tough one. Fruit [cheating a bit here with a food group], oat bran, nut butter, kabocha and chickpeas.
  7. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be? Not trying to pick on any parts of my body here so I’d go with being less self-critical.
  8. If you could go back to any age and relive it, which age would you choose and why? The Renaissance – for its music, art, literature. And maybe the gorgeous dresses have played in here, too …
  9. Who’s your favorite Disney princess? Do I really have to pick a favourite? Okay, I’ll go with Rapunzel.
  10. If you were forced to survive on a desert island, who would you bring with you and why? Is there any limit to the number of people? If not: my whole family – that way I’d have people to lead good conversations with, people knowledgeable of ways to survive, technically skilled people who can help build a cabin, …
  11. What is one of your biggest regrets? As a notorious overthinker I’d easily be able to come up with a large number of regrets. But I feel like constant regretting and focusing on the negatives keeps us from being happy and letting loose. Therefore I try not to let the thoughts of regret linger on for too long instead trying to see the positives. Just to play the game right, though: My latest regret would be not taking an umbrella with me on my walk earlier today. That’d have spared a pair of shoes from getting wet – I was fine wearing a trench coat. [Yet I can’t help but add that this turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Sorry I’m not sorry for the positivity :).]

Flowers_July

My questions

  1. What is one of your favourite childhood memories?
  2. Name the three most-worn items from your closet.
  3. Who’s your biggest inspiration in life?
  4. Is there any book you’ve read multiple times? If yes: which?
  5. Where is your happy place?
  6. Tea or coffee?
  7. What’s your ideal way to start the day?
  8.  What are some of the words or phrases you use most often?
  9. Are you a planner or a spontaneous person?
  10. Would you consider yourself an introvert or extrovert?
  11. Which famous person would you like to spend a day with and why?

My nominees [in alphabetical order because I had to :)]

Alex  @ Veggin’ out in the kitchen

Arman @ The big man’s world

Christine @ Apple of my Eye

Emily @ Build your bliss

Madison @ Eating for Balance

Meghan @  Clean Eats, Fast Feets

Michelle @ Peachy Palate

Olivia @ Liv lives life

Sara @ Nourish and flourish

Shannon @ Healthiful balance

 

And because I prefer even numbers I’ll go against the rules and nominate just ten ;).

Happiness inducing today: Reminders of how awesome friendships made through blogging are.

 

It’s your turn: Answer as many of my questions as you like! I’m curious to find out more about you.

17 thoughts on “Would you please be so random? [Liebster award]

  1. Emily says:

    Aww…thank you so much for nominating me! I can’t wait to put this up on my blog.
    I definitely couldn’t live without fruit either. It’s my favorite food group because there’s so much variety and there really aren’t any fruits I dislike! And going for walks is my favorite way to start the day too- there’s just something so beautiful and serene about the world in the mornings.

    xoxo

  2. livliveslife says:

    I love those shoes in the first picture. Wow.
    We seem to have a lot in common. I, too, am terrified of swimming in the open ocean. And I have the hardest time being random, too. I’m so obsessed with organization that random posts are hard for me to write. But I love reading them. I’d say you did a great job with this one!
    Thanks so much for the nomination!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Finding how much [more than we might have thought] we have in common with others is my favourite part of those random tidbits, too. It’s likely the positively ‘unstructured’ flow of thoughts that I have a hard time to let happen in those random posts, too. But it’s a fantastic and fun way to practice :).
      And thanks for the compliment on my shoes. They’re my favourites, too.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      You’re so right about the light. There have been quite a few times that I missed what’d likely have made a great picture due to wrong lighting. But also many that were made especially awesome thanks to great lighting.

  3. alex@vegginout says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I’ll definitely have to do this sometime – love your questions!
    Tea is my favorite beverage too, and I’m also obsessed with taking flower pictures. I think at least half of the pictures on my iPhone and camera are of flowers (and the other half is food, of course 😉 )!
    Oh and so jealous of your guilty pleasure. I WISH I could sleep in, but 7 is sleeping in for me. 😉

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Right now my weekday wake-up time is 7.30 but sleeping in is a necessity on the weekends. It’s a truly guilty pleasure, though, because it feels wrong waking up later than any of my neighbours :).

  4. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I will definitely do it soon 🙂 Its so great to get more of an insight into you and your awesome quirks! LOL at Ocean Girl- when I studied a semester abroad, all my German friends were obsessed with it- and ironically it is not a popular show at all here!

  5. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I really enjoyed reading all of your answers to these questions.

    Ocean Girl was (is?) available on Netflix and I thought it sounded pretty interesting. I’ve never gotten around to watching an episode though so hearing that you liked it makes me want to give it a try!

    I’m actually the opposite- I LOVE odd numbers. Something about 3s and 9s and 11s just speak to me. Haha. Weirdo… 😉 As for being the shortest though, I can completely relate! At 5’6″ I’m the shortest in my family too. My mom’s an inch or two taller and my brother and dad are about 9 or 10 inches taller 😦

    I love the Renaissance time period too. That or the Victorian era. So many pretty dresses 😀

    Thanks for nominating me 🙂 Excited to fill out your questions!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Definitely give Ocean Girl a try and let me know what you think! I highly recommend starting with the very first episodes as the last season wasn’t all that awesome anymore. But maybe it’s just me in anyway getting a first look into a show by watching a random episode :). Woops.
      We seem to have quite a bit in common – aside from your liking of odd numbers ;). Fully agreed on the Victorian era, though. Even if only for the dresses it’d have been a great age to live at :).
      Looking forward to your answers!

  6. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Aw thanks for nominating me. How very sweet of you. I’m a fruit-a-holic so we are kindred spirits.
    I fully support you listing your nominations in alphabetical order because that’s how it should be. I love to photograph flowers too (and also food but that’s kind of obvious, right?!). I hope you’re having a lovely weekend.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Why there’s yet to be a fruit-a-holics united group for bloggers is beyond me :). And listing in alphabetical order is so very necessary [though I didn’t in my latest post which I might have to make up for].
      I hope your weekend’s been marvelous so far, too!

Leave a Reply

