Sunday [sunny] Funday

A fresh start, a clean slate – that’s what the majority of people attributes to the beginning of a new year. Personally, I like to think the same way of Mondays, too. A whole new week with all its possibilities and changes.  What didn’t work out well or hasn’t happen last week can be made up for in the new one. With a few struggles last week and huge decision made there might actually be quite a bit of change for me this week.  As I can’t say anything for sure yet, though,  For now, though, I’ll have a look back- instead of fast forwards and share some marvelous happenings from the weekend. Thanks again to the wonderful Katie for reminding us to start the week in a happy spirit.

MiMM_new

Saturday was an all-out relaxed day I spent running errands, reading and pottering about my flat. Don’t you just like when you’re visiting a store you’re not frequenting on the regular only to happen upon a favourite item at a great price? That’s what happened for me:

Bengal Spice Tea

I’d been buying the small boxes at little less than the price I found this huge box for now. Score!

Even more marvelous than Saturday was my Sunday [Funday], though. Not only due to me wearing the eponymous Essie colour which I finally found around here a few weeks ago after assuming it wasn’t sold in Germany at all.

Essie

No, much more so because my mum took the trip down to the city I live in only so we could spend a few hours together. Few hours that passed by way too quickly yet I’m so thankful for every minute we got to spend with each other <3.

Trying to make the most of our time we started by visiting a cozy café offering vegan fare that recently opened around the corner of my place.  Unfortunately, they close pretty early on Sundays so we weren’t able to have lunch there but had tea. By recommendation of another guest, my mum also got a piece of vegan Coconut Cream Cake [akin to Raffaelo pralinés if you’ve ever had those]. Needless to say, I snagged several bites and while we agreed it was a bit too heavy for a hot summer day it still tasted amazing.

Rich, creamy, coconutty.

Rich, creamy, coconutty.

Followed up by a nice walk in the gorgeous August sun – really, though: how is it the end of August already? Can we please postpone the beginning of Fall by a few more months or at least weeks? I’m not ready yet.

 Sunday walk

More love locks.

Love locks

We even spotted a newlywed couple having their picture taken and were instantly reminded of my sister’s wedding. Hard to believe it’s been three weeks since then already. Luckily, I still had the pictures on my camera so we reminiscened  the event over lunch. So many awesome memories.

Making it a true Sunday funday we went on a little window-shopping tour after lunch. Some fun finds:

Undecided on these ones ...

Undecided on these ones …

… but how about these?

Hello Kitty Shoe

You know my obsession ;).

It’s not usual for stores to be opened on Sundays in Germany. Yet living in a city with a large central station I am “lucky” [poor employees!] to still have actual shopping possibilities on Sunday. If having another day to spend money on is a good or a bad thing … I’m undecided ;).

new bag

However, it did prove to be great yesterday. I’d been in need of a new large bag spacious enough to house my assortment of lunch boxes   and bags to the office yet also pretty enough to double as a shopping or travel bag. Three had made it onto my short list but being an indecisive person in general I was glad to have my mum’s help in making the choice. Give and receive – so I helped her decide on her first ever Essie polish after I’d been gushing about them for ages. Laquered up was beaten by Russian Roulette in the end :).

Flower

Saying goodybe at the end of the day was hard but here’s too another mum weekend [hopefully] soon!

 

Happiness inducing today: Spending the day with my mum, obviously. Having two siblings it’s nice to have her all to myself every now and then :).

 

I hope you’re all having a great start into the new week!

 

How do you like to spend mother-daughter-days [respectively mother-son-days]?

Do Mondays feel like starting with a clean slate to you, too?

What were some highlights of your weekend?

 

12 thoughts on “Sunday [sunny] Funday

  1. Emily says:

    What a perfect, perfect, perfect weekend. Oh my goodness- I’m so jealous.
    That bag is absolutely adorable!

    I’m really glad that you enjoyed yourself. You totally deserved it after the stressful few weeks you’ve had. (:

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thanks Emily, you’re too sweet!
      I’d almost given up hope of finding a bag that wasn’t just large enough but cute, too. This one fit most of my requirements so it was close to perfect [maybe my standards are too high to be met ;)].

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Sounds like a great weekend buddy! I’m so glad you mentioned rafaello praline- they are my absolute favourite chocolate ever, although its been ages since I’ve eaten one.

    By the way, is Hamburg far from you? My best friend lives there and I want to go back to visit her! She is my ‘weiss’ friend and I am her ‘shcwarze’ friend. Even though I’m not schwarze. 😉

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      It’s a pity you haven’t had any Raffaello in a long time!
      Hamburg isn’t all that far away and one of my favourite German cities. I already told you I think you should visit your friend there. Soon, preferably ;).

  3. Christine@ Apple of My Eye says:

    Ohh that flavor looks so fun an exotic! I’m usually more of a coffee person, but I do appreciate a good tea :). AHHH I’m obsessed with that essie color! I love fun and bright colors like that and it looks awesome on your nails. Work it girl!!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Bright colours are the only way to go when it comes to nail polish – or pretty much everything, really.
      If you can find the Bengal Spice tea you should really give it a try. It’s awesome.

  4. Flake And Cake says:

    I LOVE your duvet set! Is it from Ikea by any chance? I know that sounds weird but we were there yesterday and I bought a few things in that print!
    That vegan coconut cake looks absolutely delicious, I love thick frosting and often the vegan cakes I buy here don’t have it on at all, which is rubbish!
    Your new bag is so pretty too. Glad you had a fab weekend!
    p.s. I had a techno switch off this weekend but the laptop is on again so I’ll reply to your email soon 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      It is indeed and from the first time I spotted it I was obsessed. Never mind that it took me an extra trip to IKEA as they were sold out the first time I went. I’ve been owning it for quite a long time by now and it’s still my favourite.
      Bummer about both the cakes lacking in frosting [I’m not a huge cake person but if I have it frosting is the most important part] and the technology troubles. Looking forward to your mail :).

  5. makingthymeforhealth says:

    I love your positive outlook on Mondays. I need it to rub off me! I also love Essie polishes and that one is so pretty.
    That Coconut Cream cake sounds amazing too!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Looking at them like that came about from wanting a ‘fresh’ start more often than just once a month or even a year. So far I have to say the approach works pretty well :).
      Essie’s polishes are amazing. Do you have any favourites?

Leave a Reply

