Back in the kitchen with lentils and cake

Overwhelmed by gratitude. Amazed by all the kind and reassuring words. That’s what I felt like reading your comments on my last post. Thank you so much!  Opening up and publishing that post wasn’t easy for me at all. The reason I did was that my blog has become such a special part of my life and with all that’s been happening I couldn’t just have kept writing as usual. I’m not sure which kind of reactions I expected but you definitely took me by surprise in the very best way. So thank you once more for not judging but encouraging me to listen to my heart.

Right now I feel like hanging in the air, not knowing what’s to happen. It’s still scary. Somewhere deep down I know quitting was the right decision but I can’t completely push aside those twinges of regret. Mostly because I truly want to work and don’t enjoy all the spare time I have at hand right now. Sorry for the rant but it’s on my mind all of the time and I can’t pretend it wasn’t affecting my mood. Nevertheless, you’ve come for the food and it’s not like I had given up happiness or eating when leaving the internship :). Here’s to another fabulous What I ate Wednesday party! Publishing this early I don’t know it yet but maybe even with Jenn’s little chickpea joining us?

WIAWbutton_1

One of the upsides – yes, still trying to see the positive in every situation – of having time off is being able to prepare and eat meals in the comfort of my own home. [that’s not to say I wouldn’t more than happily trade this for a job any time, though.]  During the weeks at the office I’d slacked a little on the kitchen creativity so I’ve dedicated some more time to experimentation the past days. One of the results was a creamy lentil and rice stew. Perfectly fall-ish despite me not being ready for fall yet.

Lentil Stew

If you read my post on Sunday you might have noticed me saying I’d tried one of the recipes I’d mentioned in my previous link-up post. Well, by now I can proudly say I even tried two. First up Jenn’s Chocolate Chip Banana Bread – turned into mini loaves as I lack a large loaf pan and minis are always cute, right? There are no inside shots as we broke – literally broke as there was no cutlery left  – into it at a friend’s apartment. I visited him the day before he moved to another city so all kitchen utensils were at his new flat already. Sorry. But it was so delicious that I already have plans on baking another batch of mini loaves as soon as possible and I’ll make sure to get some better pictures then.

Banana bread

I actually snapped the pictures shortly before rushing out the door so sorry for that!

Maybe not pretty but absolutely delicious was my second dish to cook from the list: Kabocha Squash Lentil Curry from Pinches of Yum. Follwing the recipe to a T  as well as a notorious kitchen rebel like me can and making substitutions as needed it turned out fantastic. Mine got its lovely [read: not] green hue from the fact that I never peel my kabocha. All that really matters is taste, though, and this dish was absolutely amazing on those terms. I just had to repeat it several days later again. I honestly can’t recommend Lindsay’s recipe enough. Go make it now :)!

Kabocha Lentil Curry

Ending on a sweet note: Not wanting to leave my job in grievance I happily followed the [unwritten] rule of bringing cake on the last day of my internship. Crumbly in the best way , ‘buttery’ and rich without being too heavy: vegan hazelnut cake that made my highly vegan-sceptical coworker go back for seconds. Sorry to all non-German readers for the recipe being in German. I wish I could share it with all of you.

Praktikumskuchen

Now i’m back to writing applications and taking some recipe inspiration from the bonanza of deliciousness that is WIAW. Oh, and happy Macadamia Nut day [can’t forget about those national food holidays even though they don’t apply for us over here]! I have none around so I’d appreciate you eating some more for me, too ;).

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: Catching up with a friend over coffee tea.

What’s your favourite recipe using lentils?

Is it some kind of ‘rule’ to bring cake on the last day of internships for you, too?

Have you been on any ‘food kicks’ lately? Kabocha and lentils have definitely been some of my recent ones.

15 thoughts on “Back in the kitchen with lentils and cake

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    I’ve been on an absolute pancake kick lately- trying out so many recipes! Lucky I’m a big fan of pancakes 😉

    Growing up, I ate lentils quite abit (mum coming from a russian/middle eastern background) but these days, I get stomach pains when I eat too many pulses!

    Hope things are going well for you- use this time off to relax and get things sorted before deciding what you want to do! The more you force it, the less easily it will come 🙂

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Well, then I might need to hire you as my pancake chef because – don’t sue me! – I have yet to understand their awesomeness.
      It’s a bummer you don’t stomach legumes well. They’re to me what pancakes are to you :): I just can’t get enough.

  2. Emily says:

    Ahhh I knew it! That was so smart to make the loaf into mini-loaves! I may steal that idea…or turn mine into muffins…hmm…
    My mom used to cook lentils pretty frequently when I was growing up but i tend to forget about them now that I live on my own. I need to get some!
    I’ve been on a few ‘kicks’ lately: scones, wheat thins and veggies dipped in hummus, and dry cereal. But my obsessions seem to change on a weekly basis!

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      I’m sure the recipe would work beautifully turned into muffins as well. Let me know how they turn out for you.
      Confession: I usually buy canned lentils for their handiness.
      Scones? Actually, I think I’ve never had one before but if you enjoy them a lot I might be inspired to change that :).

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      If we’re talking oatmeal or oat bran I’d have to say it’s a constant kick for me, too. Or maybe an oat obsession?
      Haha, my friends love to hate me, too. Whenever we meet at somebody’s house they can be sure I’ll bring the goodies.

  3. Brittany says:

    Just caught up on your last post, and I think you are BRAVE for quitting something that wasn’t making you happy. Sometimes we have to take risks like this to find out where we are meant to be!! I hope this decision leads to something so much better!

    These meals..and that cake..ohhh yum.

    • letsgetupandlive says:

      Thank you for the reassurance, Britt. I still catch myself regretting it every now and then but I guess that’ll stick until I’ve found a new internship. But you’re right that taking risks is a necessary part of life.

Leave a Reply

