Sunshine [award] with a chance of strangeness

Unless it’s any different in your neck of the woods I’m sure you’ve had enough rain to last you for a while these past days. So how about some sunshine times two?

Sunshine award

Not ony did Arman nominate me for the Sunshine award a while ago but Brittany did, too. Thanks to both of you! I’ll play by my own rules – when do I not ;)? – and just answer seven of each of their questions. Also, I feel like everybody has received the award yet so I won’t nominate anybody. Please feel nominated if you haven’t been yet :).

Here we go:

Which celebrity do you think epitomises a healthy body? For me, Adele is an inspiration in terms of being okay with the way you are. I’ve read several interview with her showing a healthy and relaxed approach to not fitting society’s idea of the ‘ideal’ body. As a fun fact: It wasn’t until quite a while of listening to her music that I actually saw a picture of her for the first time. She has an amazing voice so who in their right mind would care about whether she’s a size 4 or 16? And let’s face it: she looks beautiful, too.

Crunchy nut butter or smooth nut butter? Growing up crunchy [salted all-natural] peanut butter was the way to go for me. Nowadays, I’m not about stirring up trouble pieces of nuts anymore and always go with smooth. Not just by choice, though, as you won’t find any crunchy varieties aside from peanut butter around here. Welcome to Germany, nut butter-deprived country.

Note that this is not (!) these aren't the choices found at a regular store.

Note that  these are NOT the choices found at a regular but very well sorted store.

Which family member are you closest to? It might be cliché but is so true for me: my mum. I’m not sure there’s any topic I haven’t talked about to her before. She’s the first I’m calling whichever troubles I’m going through and even when she can’t help she still manages to calm me down.

What is the strangest food you have ever eaten? Ever since getting into blogging my idea of which foods to consider strange has changed a a lot. So much, in fact, that I wouldn’t consider anything I’ve eaten so far actually strange. Says the girl who – years ago – thought my mum was weird for eating cheese sandwiches with jam. Years ago, really. Now it’s likely vice versa with her shaking her head at my creations.

Do you think Blue Ivy and North West are absolutely stupid names? Oh, no, you see, they’re perfectly fine – right up there with Petal Blossom Rainbow and Fifi Trixibelle. Seriously, though: What do they think???

What was your favourite childhood TV program? Let’s see … Siebenstein (!), Löwenzahn, Die Sendung mit der Maus and all movie adaptions of Astrid Lindgren’s books. Sorry for all of these being German – aside from the last one – but for the longest time we only had four TV channels and not much of an international choice. Oh, but hey, Ocean Girl, obviously. If you have Netflix you just have to watch an episode – and let me know what you think :).

Rudi … [Source]

What is your ideal breakfast? Whatever I’m craving – as long as almond butter is included I’ll be satisfied. Okay, more specifially: Peanut mug brownies or – a current favourite – kabocha. With a side of almond butter. I wasn’t kidding

PB Mug brownie

When is your favorite time of day to work out?
If we’re talking running or other more intense workouts then the evening all the way. There was a time last year when I had to go for my runs in the middle of the day and, ouch, that didn’t sit well with me.

Do you have a go-to splurge item (specific food, clothing store, electronics, anything!)? What is it and when do you have it? My most regular splurges would have to be food. More specifically: nut butters. Going through a huge jar a week isn’t exactly the best way of sticking to a budget. However, I feel like spending money on high-quality healthy food is a way of treating yourself which I consider a way of showing self-love and important to well-being,

Almond butter

Where would you live if money were no object?
In the US. If you asked for a specific city, though, I wouldn’t be able to narrow it down. There are so many exciting places I’d like to go. Gorgeous surroundings for long walks and running would be a necessity, though,

walk

6. Who is your go-to person for advice when you’re trying to make a tough decision?
Sorry for sounding like a broken record but it’s true: my mum. I can’t think of any topic I haven’t talked about with her endlessly before. Whether big decisions or small: I can count on her supporting me with advice as good as she can.

7. What is the strangest food or fitness trend you’ve tried?


Maybe not strange but trying to cut down on grains made my stomach unhapped and turned me into a snappy bitch. Not funny. If you ever find yourself longing to be constantly tired, easily irritated and a hungry beast: go for it.

9. What is your favorite childhood memory or family tradition?
Even though I was by far not as enthusiastic about working out as a child I truly enjoyed non-formal exercise with my family. Hiking, countless bycycle tours or just going for walks. My parents have never been fans of long-distance travels so many holidays were spent within Germany. That’s why many of our vacations often consisted of activities like a three-day bike tour to Berlin. Needless to say going for a bike tour is a must almost every time I visit my family.

10. Do you follow a strict food and fitness plan or wing it?
While I sometimes think it’d be good to follow a plan in terms of fitness/running to achieve certain goals I’m finally letting go of my too strict meal plan. Life doesn’t always work out as planned, no day is like the other and following a plan does only lead me to feel restricted. As I said, though, fitness-wise I might be looking into it in the future. For now, though, I’m happy without a plan.

Sorry, I could help the minion plugin but I needed a bridge to the second part of my post – and I know for a fact Arman approves of some  #strangebutgood action, too. Sooo … Lentil Stew was on the menu [sorry about the legumes, Arman]. In fact, it was a while ago already but I didn’t manage to post it in time for last week’s link-up. Sh, don’t tell.

SBG Lentil

But not just any lentil stew …

 Banana Lentil Stew

  • 1/2 small red onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • ½ can brown lentils
  • 1/4 cup cooked wheatberries [all I had leftover]
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 medium zucchini, sliced
  • ½ cup passata/tomato sauce
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp cayenne
  • ½ banana, sliced into half-moons
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • Salt + pepper to taste
Banana Lentil Stew

Banana Lentil Stew

Sauté the onion and garlic until translucent. Add the zucchini and stir-fry for about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook until softened. Pour in the passata and add the remainder of the ingredients. Let simmer until the banana has melted into the stew. Season to taste.

It actually tastes better when reheated or at least left to sit on the stove for a while to let the flavours develop.

Now that was a long post, huh? Happy Friday!

Happiness inducing today: Receiving a very special package in the mail that I will tell you more about soon. Hint: it’s getting sweet over here on the weekend – and we’re not talking about bananas for once ;).

Feel free to answer any of the above award questions!

How large is your current and average banana stash? I’m at about seven with maybe five being the average.

17 thoughts on “Sunshine [award] with a chance of strangeness

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Yay you finally did it 😉 Damn ocean girl stop trying to make people watch it IT IS NOT GOOD. Australia is so similar to Germany, we have basic nut butters- nothing fancy! Nutella is our #1 spread here- or vegemite!

    That strangebutgood recipe- wow!

  2. Flake And Cake says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your mystery sweet package ;). By the way I am totally with you on almond butter, I bought so much in Berlin because I just adored the Bio Company selections. I splashed out for the white version and it was divine! Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    Well, I tend to hoard bananas because I love banana soft serve so much. At present I’d estimate I have around five frozen and a dozen ripening on my kitchen counter.

    I’d love to hear more about your running (how far/often, are you training for anything etc.) if you ever felt like posting about it in more detail.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, I didn’t even count the frozen bananas. It makes me feel better to know I’m not the only banana hoarder.
      Good call on the running post. I’d meant to get into this just a little more sometime soon so feel free to remind me if I forget about it again :).

  4. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    I feel like I could totally roll with banana lentil stew…I mean I do love bananas and I love lentil stew so why not?

    Also I spend an excessive amount of money on nut butters. I legitimately have a problem.

    Random fact about me: I’ve always had an infatuation with Germany. I took German in high school (none of which I remember) and was supposed to go on exchange to Germany but family stuff happened and I couldn’t go. I spent some time in Berlin a few years ago and it is hands down my favourite city in the world (at least the world I’ve explored).

    Have a great weekend 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It was the same for me: I’m a lentil and a banana fiend – why not combine the two?!
      Berlin is an awesome city and you should totally come to Germany again :).
      I hope your weekend’s going great as well!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Wow. So … you mean you really think I’ve outstranged you?! If that’s not a compliment on strangeness I don’t know what would be ;). Try it, though. Or – because I know we both aren’t good at following others’ recipes: I’m intrigued to see what I might have inspired.

Leave a Reply

