Gratin

From [blog] page to plate

Get out the WIAW party hats – and scarves! Fall has truly arrived and I’m no longer in denial. The upside is getting to wear one of my favourite knitted dresses again and lighting scented candles for a cozy atmosphere. And speaking of those I could totally use the onset of the season to go shopping for some more of both πŸ™‚ … But you came here for the food so food it is.

Finally another What I ate Wednesday that follows a theme [unintentionally but I like it]: Cooking the books blogs. When I set my goal of trying at least four new recipes a week I knew what was going to happen. Despite picking up several new vegan cookbooks from the library – already disregarding those I own – I didn’t have more than a glance at the recipes. Half-heartedly pondering some I might try but then … going back to the blogs. But as this means I’m still sticking with my goal which I feel is falling into good habits. Thanks for inspring some good habits, meals and lots of foodie fun, Jenn!

wiaw fall into good habits button

Yet another aspect of the blog world I enjoy are the many creative recipes right at my hand. No hours of searching that one recipe you’d meant to try – only to find it was from a book you had to return already or left at your parents’ [and keep forgetting to take back with you …]. Granted, having a bazillion blogs and even more recipes to choose from doesn’t make things easier right away. But chosing recipes based on what I have on hand and some other criteria makes it a little easier. If it was Sarah peeking into my pantry or me intuitively intuitively knowing she’d be of help: her creamy squash casserole came right in time. Actually, I made it the very day she posted the recipe. But as it was dark outside already I had to use flash [shudder] and so I naturally needed to have it again to show you a nicer picture. Obviously ;).

Sunday's version on the left, Saturday's [overexposed] on the right.

Sunday’s version on the left, Saturday’s [overexposed] on the right.

Do you remember when I said kabocha stew was my go to when being unable to decide on a new recipe? In my defense I needed to use up some ingredients like edamame that had been sitting in my freezer for … a long time. And it was good.

Kabocha Edamame Stew

With cauliflower on offer and craving for comfort food I finally tried Davida’s Cauliflower Gratin. I’d been eyeing it for a while but roasting the cauliflower required planning ahead – something I’m not that good at … As you’ll notice in the pictures I was once again not able to stick with the recipe as written. Not only did I add some bok choy on its last legs but I also subbed crunchy amaranth for the chip/breadcrumb topping as I had neither on hand. And you really can’t go wrong with some amaranth crunch.

Cauliflower gratin

Potato gratin was a classic at our house when I grew up and eating this cauliflower version brought back childhood memories. Especially since I had it with some green beans from my mum’s garden. From its short ingredient list and simple preparation you might not expect it but this dish was so rich, cheesy and just … amazing.

The reason I enjoy using other bloggers’ recipes is the chance to get in contact with the recipe creator, give feedback and let others know when I enjoyed a dish. Not something you’d be easily able to do when trying a cookbook recipe – unless it’s one written by a blogger. Because I know that – at least for myself – I’m likelier to try a dish many others are recommending. Is it just me feeling that way?

Gratin

Not trying to use this as a shameless plugin but as part of the goal was to create some recipes myself and because I like a sweet ending to WIAW posts here’s my Fig & Kabocha Casserole once more. Can you say even more puffed amaranth?! I apparently like it :).

Spoonful

Happiness inducing today: Some silver linings on the horizon of job search. Not putting too much hope into it yet but still.

What is your preferred source of recipes: cookbooks or blogs? Why?

Which is the last blog recipe you tried?

Are there any fall favourites you’re especially looking forward to? For me it’s not just the dress and candles but walks/hikes through the woods, too. Hopefully happening soon when at my parents’ again.

25 thoughts on “From [blog] page to plate

  1. Jess says:

    i am also far likelier to try a dish that’s being highly recommended! i think it’s great to get recipes from others in cyberspace with us. it really is a GREAT way to learn and hash out the details of a new recipe or style of cooking

      • Jess says:

        I agree! I often try substitutions when I just don’t feel like going back out to the store! I always feel more reassured doing this if I know others have tried it with favorable results

  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    I’m so happy you liked the gratin recipe! I grew up eating gratin as well but nowadays the cheese just kills my stomach. This has become a staple in my kitchen. Last blog recipe I made was The detoxinista’s “Cheesy” Broccoli and Quinoa Casserole. Another dairy-free alternative dish to actual cheese!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Even though I think my stomach could technically handle the cheese I still prefer the vegan way. It surprises me time and time again how amazing nutritional yeast is. The recipe you shared sounds quite delicious, too.

  3. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    How is my weiss friend going?

    I’m with you on doing the 4 new recipes a week thing- I’ve done it several times already and love trying out new things and broadening my pallets!

    I must try that cauliflower gratin- I love all things cauliflower! I prefer blogs to find recipes as you can always ask the blogger for alternatives/cooking methods etc! My most recent blogger recipe was Amy’s sweet potato pancakes- soo good!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s almost addictive to try a new one as often as possible. Actually a bit weird for me as I used to be afraid of trying new dishes and stuck to my ‘safe’ dishes.
      Who’d have guessed the last recipe you tried was for pancakes ;)?! I’m still not convinced of them – maybe you shoud come and prepare me some pancakes extraordinaire.

  4. swissfitchick says:

    Oh my Gosh, that casserole – I want it right now!! Looks so perfect!
    I ALWAYS turn to blogs for recipes. There are so MANY and I have a ton of them on my Pinterest Board to actually try. I never use a cookbook and as you, I love to give feedback to the bloggers, I know how cool it is when someone makes your recipe!
    Cross fingers for the job-thing!!
    And I just get beautiful fall images when you talk about it. I am so excited for outdoor walks when the leaves get all colorful.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Guess what? It was your comment that finally made me set up a Pinterest account today :). That’s just a way smarter option for saving recipes than the 13857494+ recipe documents on my laptop.
      Walks are one of the best outside activities in fall.

  5. Nicole @ FruitnFitness says:

    Fig and kabocha? Yes please! I have been loving kabocha since this spring and just tried fresh figs for the first time this summer, yum! Your other meals look great too! I’m so bad about bookmarking recipes and forgetting to make them.

  6. Emily says:

    I’m not going to lie, I’ve never had any form of gratin before. Crazy, I know! It just wasn’t something that my mom ever made growing up. This post totally inspires me to try it though!
    And I’m with you- I rarely ever use cookbooks. Blogs are the way to go!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Believe me: you’re missing out so give gratin a try :). Honestly, though, I’m sure there are many of your childhood classics I never had, either. It’s so interesting to see how much it differs from country to country, family to family, …

  7. Eating 4 Balance says:

    I’m totally craving some kabocha now after reading this post, and wouldn’t you know I actually went to the farmer’s market in between reading and commenting and they had some! πŸ˜€ 2 for $3. Such a good deal.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If that’s not a truly awesome deal! But please tell me that they at least weren’t large ones or I might just get jealous :). The usual price around here is somewhere from 2-3.40 $ per kilogram/two pounds.

  8. Juli says:

    Your Fig & Kabocha Casserole looks yummy! It is definitely on my to-cook list now πŸ™‚
    Since I started to eat clean and blog I don’t use cookbooks anymore. I get all my inspiration from you lovely and inspiring fellow bloggers out there. Thank so much!

Leave a Reply

