Blissfully falling into autumn

See what I did there? With a slight preference for the term ‘autumn’ when it comes to naming the season and the latter having started on Saturday I couldn’t help but choose this title. And a blissful start it was indeed.

But first things first: Happy Monday! The first Monday of the season so how much cleaner than clean could our slates be ;)?! Let’s take a look at all things marvelous from the weekend. Thank for hosting once again, Katie!

MiMM_new

Most marvelous about the past weekend was my spontaneous decision to head down to my parents’ for the first time since my sister’s wedding. Swapping the hustle-bustling grey city for the gorgeous nature and calmth of the countryside – bliss.

Fall

Sparing you the story of my less-than-pleasant train/bus journey [five instead of two and a half hours? Not cool.] the time that followed more than made up for it. First stop after my arrival: my mum’s raspberry bushes. As in: must eat all the [golden] berries. Not like I didn’t eat my fair share of red ones, either, though ;).

Raspberries

My parents were out and about dancing the day away [read: they’re avid dancers and attended a workshop]. While waiting for them I read, pottered about the house and went for a walk. As much as I enjoy my runs in the city already they can’t compare to hitting the trail in the countryside. The weather was perfect – mild temperatures, no rain – and breating in fresh country air again was truly marvelous. Once back my parents had arrived and we sat together chatting, drinking tea and planning the next day.

Candles

Taking full advantage of the fact that my siblings weren’t around and for once not sharing my parents’ attention I’d made a wish: going for a long walk/hike through the autumnal forest. If there’s one activity that I need to partake in every year around this time it’s a walk in the woods. Even though I haven’t written a fall bucket list [yet?] this would have been far on top.

walk

Being in nature lets me forget all current worries, reminiscene my childhood and simply enjoy time with my parents. Not waste a thought on what I’m wearing, what others are thinking of me or my to-do list for the next day – just be in the moment.

Autumn walk

Maybe taking inspiration from this little guy who was clearly enjoying the simply life …

beetle

Back from our walk I visited a friend of my family. Originally just meaning to deliver a present from my parents but then accepting a spontaneous invitation for a cup of tea. Skipping my planned run for it? Totally worth the great conversation and catching up. It’s these little things that made me feel anxious a while ago still and that I’m getting better at accepting. Feels so good to worry less and enjoy more.

teapot

And again one party just isn’t enough to start Monday off right. Just looking at the sheer amount of kabocha I’ve been eating the past weeks and months I simply couldn’t not join Heather’s MMAZ this week.

Meatless Mondays

While last week was about getting creative in the kitchen ourselves this week we’re supposed to show off what we’ve cooked using somebody else’s recipe. Even though I usually have a hard time choosing it was a matter of second this time. The very day after Laura had posted her Thai Peanut Kabocha and Cauliflower I had some roasting in the oven.

Sprint2the table PB vegetables

There’s a lot to say here [I’m not usually a fan of roasted vegetables; peanut flour over here isn’t even nearly as amazing as the one in the US; …] but here’s the short version: go and make this recipe! It’s strangely addictive. Just the right amount of spicyness with the cinnamon adding a subtle sweet touch rounding out the flavour. I couldn’t stop snacking until the whole batch was gone so if that isn’t an indication of how good it was … Thank you for the awesome recipe, Laura! Now if only the stores around here hadn’t conspired against me not offering kabocha anymore. Please keep your fingers crossed for me :).

 

Happiness inducing today: The whole weekend spent at my parents’. Refilling my happiness reserves all the way.

 

How did you spend the weekend?

Fall or autumn: which term do you prefer – no matter if it’s the one you use more often or not? Maybe it’s because I grew up using “autumn” but I just like the sound of it better. Either way, here’s to embracing the season of [scented!] candles, comfy wool socks handknitted by grandma [guess what I’m wearing right now?!] and curling up in bed with a good book.

If you don’t live at your parents’ anymore: how often do you see them?

19 thoughts on “Blissfully falling into autumn

  1. Emily says:

    That hike looks absolutely beautiful! Oh my goodness- I wish we had nature like that in LA. We have hikes but nothing that compares to yours. Gorgeous.

    It sounds like you had a perfect weekend. xoxox

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We don’t have nearly as awesome trails in the city, either. It’s only when I visit my parents in the countryside that I get to enjoy true nature like this.
      I hope your weekend was great, too.

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Hey buddy! I’ve grown up saying Autumn because that is what the season is referred to as here in Australia, but I actually prefer Fall!

    The countryside looks amazing- how blessed you are to have the opportunity to go there- pity about the 5 hour ride!!!!

    I try and see my mum several times a week- I have no excuses she lives 5 minutes away 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      But why do you prefer Fall :)? Autumn has such a great ring to it and instantly evokes many gorgeous pictures in my head whereas fall … not so much.
      Living right around the corner of your mum has to be great, too. Though obviously allowing her more control over your kabocha consumption ;).

  3. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    That hike!!! I wish I had access to something as beautiful as that! After 5 years of living away I moved back into my parents house. While I love them dearly, seeing them daily is a bit much. Looking forward to moving out and getting excited about seeing them!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Distance makes the heart grow fonder – as true as it’s old. I feel the same way like you: however much I love my parents we can only spend so much time seeing each other daily until we get annoyed by each other.

  4. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    I grew up in London so I am used to saying autumn…although ever since I started blogging, that has suddenly changed to “fall”! Love how fallish this whole post is! The hike looks gorgeous- nothing is more “happiness inducing” than watching the leaves change color 😀

  5. Carli says:

    What beautiful photos! There is nothing quite like a walk in the woods in the cool, autumn air…oh, how I miss the woods near my dad’s house when I am away at school!

Leave a Reply

