Polkadots & ponderings #4

Time for another post of random thoughts. Let’s talk confessions, coffee and cardio [a bit of a stretch but running but that wouldn’t have rhymed]!

1. Confession: I got a little snap-happy on our walk at the weekend and may or may not post a few more of those pictures on the blog. That being said I also have a lot more pictures of homemade chocolate but I won’t tease you any more.

Walk

2. In an effort to celebrate National Pancake Day I dared to step on the holy grail of blog cookery and create a recipe myself. Confession: It had been at least six months [read: actually more] since I last made pancakes. Today’s savoury Peanut Cauliflower Pancakes were … a fail [they didn’t hold together] and not [they were still tasty] . They might qualify as strange but good yet I’m not sure: to share or not to share the recipe? I’ll let you decide :).

Peanut pancakes

3. Making myself laugh #1: When I heard Starbucks was going to introduce the Pumpkin Spice Latte in Germany this year [no, we didn’t have it in past ones] I got all excited. The whole blog world has been raving about it for ages after all so it has to be awesome, right?! Yet even though they released the PSL on Monday already I haven’t hurried into a Starbucks yet. Because … I’m not a coffee drinker. Not at all. And finding out the price [about 5.50 $ for a tall one!] I’m not that sure I’ll give it a try any time soon.

4. Making myself laugh #2: Call me ridiculous after reading the above but while running some errands I was approached by a Starbucks employee giving away samples and this happened:

Have you tried it? Is it good?

Come on! Would you have refused a free beverage? It’s sitting in my fridge now …

5.  Remember me talking about changing my banana buying habits to get a free copy of Despicable Me? It arrived just this week. I have yet to watch it but it will happen soon!

6. This is so.freaking.cute. And makes me want to get a dog.

7. While at my parents I was shocked 😉 to find out my mum had yet to use the Essie polish she got when visiting me a month ago. Needless to say I had to let it get some play – totally selfless sympathy, obviously ;).

Russian roulette

8. Speaking of visiting my parents: I’ll be heading down to their house again this weekend. My mini goal for the weekend is to unplug at least one day because it’s about time. Hence why my laptop won’t be traveling with me – for the first time in a while. Technology addict?! Please tell me I’m not the only one!

9. Running talk: I’m apparently not ready for fall yet or at least daylight savings still confuse me. As I mentioned recently I’m an evening workout person. Too bad that means having to run earlier in the day now … which I have yet to manage. Running in the semi-darkness? Not cool.

10. Confession: My goal of writing letters is going well – and not. Wondering why? It’s going well because I really enjoy it and can think of so many people I want to send some snail mail. The ‘not so good part’: there are too many people I want to mail. I might just turn this into an ongoing project for the months to follow – and why not, really?

Happy Friday!

Happiness inducing today: A skype chat with my brother who’s currently in Australia.

In which situations do you make yourself laugh?

To post or not to post the pancake recipe :)?

Coffee fiends: Should I try the Pumpkin Spice Latte? And did you try the Vanilla Frappuccino? Did you like it?

5 thoughts on “Polkadots & ponderings #4

  1. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Aww, I like this post! Um…sorry it’s been a while since I’ve popped in sweetie! You know how it is…always behind in my blog reading! I think you should try the PSL just to say you have. I can’t believe I used to shell out all those precious dollars on those things EVERY morning when I was in college…and those frappuccinos used to happen on a VERY regular basis! I haven’t had either one in years since they are both too sweet for my tastes now…I know, sad day.

    LOVE the manicure! For the first time in like two months, I’m actually going au naturale! I broke almost all my nails this week so I had to bite the bullet and cut them off to start over…the lack of polish is part of my mourning process! Haha!

    And hey, if the pancakes were good, I say post ’em! Maybe someone can help you think of a way to add to them to help bind them better! 😀

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    That pancake recipe sounds exactly like a similar one I made for lunch- I was craving savory!

    My Hamburg friend hates coffee too, but loves Chai Lattes. I remember being shocked at the prices at starbucks too- actually here in Australia its around $4 for the smallest size and the basic coffee- no fancy ones!

    I’d love to hear how you go unplugging- I find that its such a hard thing to do- even when you try to!

  3. Carli says:

    Ahhhh, can I please come to Germany and walk through the woods and eat homemade chocolates with you?!?! Pretty please? Honestly, I don’t get what all the rave is about with Starbuck’s pumpkin spice lattes. Don’t get me wrong; I love everything pumpkin, but I’ve just never been a fan of their lattes. I’m not a big fan of coffee in general, though, so don’t take my word for it! I think you should try it for yourself. If you do, let us know how you like it!

    P.S. You have really pretty hands! Sorry if that sounds like a weird compliment, but I just had to say it 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes! Just let me know when you’ll be over here and I’ll have the chocolate and walking boots ready :).
      I’m glad to hear I might not be missing out if I end up not trying the pumpkin spice latte after all. Still considering it but we’ll see.
      Awww, thank you! It’s not a weird compliment at all but so very sweet of you!

Leave a Reply

