Good good links #6

Happy Sunday!

With my goal of unplugging in mind I’m just quickly popping in to share some of my favourite posts of the week. I’m hopefully out and about again hiking the trails down at my parents today. See you tomorrow for a marvelous start into the week!

White flower

Good good [food for thought]

What “Clean Eating” means to me … via Khushboo’s Blog

A balanced approach to the trend of ‘clean’ eating.

Looking beyond appearance via The Big Man’s World

Looks can be deceiving and the happy-go-lucky guy next door might be struggling, too.

Dear Body … via The Healthy Maven

Great reminder not to take our bodies for granted and care for them.

Good good [advice]

How To Create A Gratitude Jar via Mind Body Green

Similar to a jar of good memories – there’s something to be thankful for in every day.

5 Natural Energy Booster via Women’s Health Mag

Much needed especially during the colder and darker seasons.

21 Cooking Tips That Will Change Your Life via Buzzfeed

#6 is one I’ve been using for ages and I swear cutting kabocha gets just that smidgen easier with it.

24 Must-Read Fitness, Health and Happiness Books for 2013 via Greatist

… and the reading list keeps getting longer. Some great picks!

A tutorial: verify your website or blog on Pinterest via Hungry Healthy Girl

Great step-by-step tutorial.

Track Fall Colour Changes Online via Mashable

Leaves changing colour are one of the most beautiful sights in nature in Autumn. These tips are just for the US but a great idea nonetheless.

Good good [laughter]

All The Weird Toys From Your Childhood via wait but why

Oh the memories … I’d have to disagree with the Legos, though. Who didn’t enjoy playing with them?

13 Problems Only Tech-Savvy People Experience via Buzzfeed*

… and now I feel better about not being a tech pro.

Gorgeous Retro Disney Princesses via Buzzfeed*

For all Disney fans out there.

27 Truths of Growing Up Without Cable via Buzzfeed*

Did I ever mention we didn’t get cable until I was about nine? I can relate to some [not all] of these for sure.

*apparently I didn’t get [buzz-]fed up with this website at all this week ;).

Good good [food]

Luxurious 7-Vegetable and “Cheese” Soup via Oh She Glows

Cheesy warming soup – yes, please!

Banana bread breakfast cupcake via Including Cake

Think single-serving banana bread in minutes. Sounds good to me.

Vegan Kabocha Indian Cornmeal Pudding via The Smart Kitchen

Another need-to-make kabocha dish with a sweet and savoury twist.

Bean & Sweet Potato Stew via The Little Honeybee

A hearty stew with a spicy kick filled with legumes and vegetables – it doesn’t get any better.

Sugar-free Salted Caramel Apple Butter via Keepin it kind

Oh.my. This takes apple butter to a whole new level of deliciousness.

 

Which posts made you think/laugh/get hungry this week? Feel free to share some links!

Did you read any of the above already? What are your thoughts?

How are you enjoying your Sunday?

8 thoughts on “Good good links #6

  1. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I love that you included that post by Arman! I’d read Khushboo’s and and Davida’s but not that one! So enlightening! I swear I can’t help but think that all guys think about is beer and sports…it seems like every guy out there can just eat whatever they want without a thought/stress in the world. It’s hard to imagine them seeing things the way we females do sometimes!

    Love the other links too! I just checked out the 21 kitchen tips when I saw it on Amanda’s blog earlier this weekend. I already knew a lot of them, but a few I’m going to have to start using! And the toys? Awesome! But I’m with you, I LOVED legos! I’m actually still a little sad that I got rid of them all those years ago! Our little secret, but I do still have my Barbie dolls! 😉

    And YES! I’ve got to make Sarah’s kabocha pudding! I also want to make Sarena’s custard! Have you seen it? http://www.thenondairyqueen.com/2013/09/roasted-kabocha-custard.html#comments

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Reading Arman’s post was some kind of wake-up moment for me, too. I’d known some guys were struggling, too, but not how diversified and well-hidden behind ‘normal’ behaviours the disorders could be. It made me think a lot.
      Your secret is well-kept with this girl having her whole Barbie collection still stored at her parents’, too :). Just imagine how many childhood memories we’d throw away if we got rid of them. No, it’s not going to happen anytime soon – unless my mum decides to …
      Thanks for reminding me of Sarena’s custard again. I even have an idea on how to veganize it and now that you mentioned it that’ll have to happen soon. Or at least once I can track down some more kabocha – not an easy task around here right now.

Leave a Reply

