[Don’t] judge me …

Happy first What I ate Wednesday of October – and: Happy belated World Vegetarian Day!

WIAW_halloween button(I hope you don’t mind me using the Halloween button, Jenn – it’s just so cute that I couldn’t resist!)

It’s no secret that there’s a lot of judgement in the world. More specifically, there’s a lot of judgement about food in the blog world. Whether people judge others for not eating healthy enough, repeating meals, eating too little or too much – we will never be able to please everyone. Actually, I can get judgemental about the way I eat, too. Feel guilty or ashamed for a certain food or the amounts of it I’ve eaten. But in the end the way I eat is just right for me – as long as I’m listening to my cravings, not cutting out any food groups purposely without medical reasons and keep an overall balance.

Without further ado here’s a [sort of] confessional-style WIAW post of my recent meals and snacks. Thanks to Jenn for hosting

[Don’t] judge me …

Kabocha

for eating kabocha for breakfast just because I felt like it. Oat bran? Yogurt bowl? Fruit? Some days nothing tickles my fancy. Nothing aside from kabocha, that is. Does that mean I’m strange? Maybe. Does it leave me feeling satisfied? Definitely. And let’s look at it that way: some people eat hash browns/potatoes for breakfast so how unsual is kabocha, really? With a side of almond butter it’s a favourite of mine. [Please note that I had way more than shown on the plate. Volume eater forever.]

There was a time when I tried to eat bread rolls with marmelade for breakfast because it’s considered ‘normal’ and that’s what I want to be. Yet just because everybody around eats it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s right for me, too. Sorry but I’d rather be satisfied than fit in with the norm. And who defines what’s ‘normal’ in anyway?

[Don’t] judge me …

Mint Chocolate Truffles

because I’m still obsessed with my fudgy black bean truffles and eating four more that very day the picture was taken [read: yesterday]. Mint chocolate chip is my current favourite variety. Just adding a little mint extract and omitting the coconut is all the magic behind these. And:

[Don’t] judge me …

Chocolate

for eating the healthy truffles and the ‘real deal’. It’s all about balance and for me that means satisfying my sweet tooth every day never denying myself a craving. Some days that results in me eating both truffles and several pieces of chocolate [while still not going overboard], some days my cravings are satisfied after just a little bit. Admittedly, though, the latter hardly happen. I’m a true chocoholic and won’t deny it.

[Don’t] judge me …

Cauliflower rice

for enjoying cauliflower couscous [side note: I know it’s usually called “rice” but I consider it to be more reminiscent of couscous]. That’s actually something I used to judge myself for thinking I shouldn’t as I’m in recovery and need to have “actual” grains all of the time. Really, though, I’m not fooling myself into believing a vegetable was just like a grain but enjoy it just for what it is: a nice fluffy side dish. If I was going out of my way just to get hold of cauliflower or bought it out-of-season for insane amounts of money I’d be a little worried. All ranting aside I obviously didn’t eat it plain – okay, it was spiced already – as is but let it shine as the perfect accompaniment …

Chickpeas in mole

to my latest creation in celebration of World Vegetarian Day [October 1st]: Chickpeas in Chocolate Mole Sauce with a surprise ingredient – no, not the chocolate. With my September goal still in mind I’ll post the recipe later this week. Not to tooth my own horn but believe me: you don’t want to miss it ;).

All of that being said I still think it’s okay to ask others you assume might be struggling with certain foods or restricting about their habits. Offering advice in a kind and careful way. In fact, others’ comments have helped me take a closer look and question my food habits, too, at times making changes for the better. Just don’t judge right away without knowing the whole story.

Judge me or don’t – it’s the way I eat and I’m happy with it. Whether you find it strange or not :).

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: Writing a letter to a very special person.

Have you experienced judgement for the way you eat?

What’s the most ‘unusual’ breakfast you’ve ever eaten? Bonus points if kabocha was included.

Are there situations when you change your eating habits to fit in with the norm?

29 thoughts on “[Don’t] judge me …

  1. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    I don’t judge you at all!!! In fact you seem to have an envious level of balance πŸ™‚ Can’t wait for that recipe and yes I agree we should rename it cauliflower cous cous.

    People seem to only judge me when I choose less than healthy foods. I can eat french fries too!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Let’s just keep calling it cous cous and others will follow :).
      Balance is actually something I’m still working on with some foods. I tend to go overboard with certain ones and my meals could be more creative. Thanks for your compliment in anyway, though!
      For me, I usually just get judged for eating my ‘special’ healthy foods like oat bran.

  2. Eating 4 Balance says:

    Last year at school there was many a day where I simply had half a squash for breakfast. Lol. One of the stranger things that I’ve eaten was an acorn squash stuffed with banana slices. I guess since now I’m eating soup for all of my meals that’s pretty strange too. πŸ™‚

    No judgement here. If I judged you then you would have the right to judge me… And that would not be good.

    Cous cous is the perfect way to describe the texture of cauliflower rice! That chocolate mole sauce looks wonderful and so rich. Looking forward to the recipe!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one eating squash for breakfast. Why not if we satisfy our cravings that way, though?!
      I wouldn’t judge you because I know your story and as I said: why judge? It’s the way you feel good so nobody has the right to criticize you for it. And soup for every meal doesn’t sound too bad – especially in fall.

  3. liftsleepeat says:

    Haha my strangest breakfast was a kabocha popcorn oat parfait – kabocha layered with overnight oats, greek yoghurt + popcorn..pretty strange to others but it seemed perfectly normal to me haha!!
    Loads of people seem to judge the food I eat and always comment on how strange it is..they’re not eating it though so why would they even feel the need to comment, its not like I would make statements about what they’re eating. Oh well!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Popcorn and kabocha oat parfait? That sounds way more creative than strange and I can only imagine the eating experience. I’m a huge fan of mixing different texture so with the creaminess of kabocha and greek yogurt, crunch of the popcorn and the oats it must have been quite a taste sensation.
      I guess people will always judge and we need to remind ourselves that for once it’s really all about us. If you enjoy whichever meal you come up with: perfect. Don’t let others’ comments limit your creativity :).

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Amy <3! It has become easier to shrug off disapproving comments since I started blogging. Knowing that there's a huge community of people supporting healthier and probably a little strange food choices helps a lot.

  4. Amanda says:

    If someone would judge me for eating chocolate, then I would rather not know that person! Life is short, eat what you want.

    My strangest thing I’ve ever eaten for breakfast? It might not be strange, but i love to eat apple pie for breakfast when I have it. I love it more cold for breakfast than warm as a dessert!

  5. Emily says:

    Judging you and your eating habits is the last thing I ever do! I envy you, actually. I wish I was able to create such delicious and creative dishes all the time.
    I do think there’s a lot of judgement in the blogging world though- not a fan of that.

    I’m the most boring breakfast person EVER. I’ve tried to change it up like other bloggers do (healthy pancakes, overnight oats, crazy yogurt/oatmeal concoctions, etc.) but I just don’t care very much about breakfast. At all. I know it’s weird but I’m perfectly content just having some fruit and a protein bar and getting on with my day!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Aw, don’t feel bad. Actually, I’m not the biggest fan of breakfast, either. That’s why I like eating kabocha: it’s basically lunch for breakfast and lunch would have to be my favourite meal of the day.
      Grabbing some fruit and a bar just shows how relaxed you are about food. I still very much need those sit-down breakfast which isn’t the most convenient habit at times.

  6. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    NEVER apologise for your food choices or what you want to do with it- its your food, your choice! LOVE the randomness of breakfast- the more random the better. I only get judged when I order healthy things or something- I never hear anyone complain when I eat a burger or pizza!

    Strangest breakfast- In japan I’d eat raw fish, soup and salad for breakfast πŸ˜‰

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Keep the fish but I’d take soup and salad for breakfast, too.
      I knew you would approve of a random breakfast especially if it involved kabocha :D. And it’s the same for me: my healthier choices get commented on while “unhealthier” choices never do. Maybe it has to do with others not being able to imagine something as “strange” as oat bran [this seriously makes people give me the looks just about every time] to taste good – and we know it does, right :)?!

  7. Laura Agar Wilson (@lauraagarwilson) says:

    I’ve definitely experienced judgement for how and what I eat, but long ago I decided not to care. We can only do best for us and when we worry too much about what others think you never get anywhere! Some one somewhere will always have an issue, but usually that says more about themselves than it does about them. I LOVE kabocha, I’m going on the hunt for some tomorrow!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      So true. The whole worrying about others opinions can take the enjoyment out of eating and it doesn’t lead anywhere. Great to hear you’re able not to give a second thought to it.
      I hope your kabocha hunt was successful!

  8. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I don’t think you should EVER have to explain the choices you when it comes to food…as long as you enjoy it and it makes you feel good! I love the kabocha for breakfast! I actually had that just the other day…dipped in Greek yogurt! Soooooo good! And as someone who doesn’t even like sweets, I have been having chocolate at LEAST once a day for the last couple of weeks…just like you said, some days I’m satisfied with just a little nibble and sometimes I need several bites and/or handfuls a day! Haha!

Leave a Reply

