Chickpeas in mole

Peas and berries the Mexican way [Chickpeas in Blueberry Chocolate Mole]

Whether Apple Pie, Kabocha Popcorn Parfait or Japanese-stye soup and fish – it’s nice to know I’m not the only one opting for less-than-usual breakfasts [at times]. Thank you for your non-judgemental comments on my last post. Here’s to breaking from the norm, eating different – and being proud of it :).

Promise is promise so I won’t keep talking about judgement but allow you to make up your own opinion about today’s recipe. It’s one for those of you enjoying Mexican cuisine – and yes, that means everybody who’s dipped a tortilla chip/carrot/… in salsa before. Maybe it’s not authentically Mexican but this dish is much better than just salsa.

Chickpea mole

With World Vegetarian Day on Tuesday I couldn’t just throw together a random meal but wanted to put more thought into it. Maybe it’s odd but while I don’t celebrate days like this hugely I like to still treat myself to something just a little more involved. As I usually cook just for myself and am not the biggest fan of leftovers most of my lunches are quick last minute decisions using what I have on hand and not involving more than one pot. But as I said: some days are exceptions to this rule.

World Vegetarian Day

Remember the surprise ingredient I was talking about? The secret to taking this from regular to special mole sauce with a fruity kick: dried blueberries. Thanks to the well-stocked stall at the Farmers’ Market I’ve finally been able to get my hands on these again and just had to include them in this dish.

Chickpeas in Blueberry Chocolate Mole

  • 1 small red onion, chopped finely
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Olive oil
  • 2 pieces dark chocolate/0.2 oz [at least 80% cocoa – I used Lindt 99%]
  • 1 tbsp dried blueberries, roughly chopped
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp chili flakes
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 200 ml (generous ¾ cup) passata/tomato sauce
  • 125 g chickpeas, drained and rinsed [½ regular can]
  1. Heat the olive oil in a small pan. Sauté the onion until translucent. Add the garlic and sauté for another minute.
  2. Add the spices and roughly chopped chocolate. Lower heat to medium and stir-fry until fragrant  Be careful not to burn the chocolate!
  3. Quickly add the tomato sauce, 1/4 cup of water and blueberries.
  4. Mix in the chickpeas and let cook on medium heat for about 20 minutes or until the sauce has thickened and all flavours have mingled.

For the “couscous”

  • 2 cups chopped cauliflower
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • ¼ tsp cumin
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  1. Process cauliflower in a food processor [or the ice crush attachment of a hand-held blender] until it resembles a couscous-like texture.
  2. Add to a pot with a little bit of water and heat through.
  3. Mix in the spices and let cook for a bit longer. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Plate the couscous and ladle the chickpea mole on top. Garnish with fresh coriander if you like it [I don’t hence why I opted against it].

Chickpeas in Blueberry Chocolate Mole

Even though the recipe has several more steps it’s still not actually laborious. The most ‘difficult’ part is waiting for the mole to cook and develop its amazing flavour – but patience is rewarded.

… and because some might find this a little strange I’m linking up with Laura, too. Happy Blogiversary!

Happiness inducing today: Enjoying a gorgeous sunny October day on a walk with a friend.

What is your favourite Mexian dish?

Have you ever made mole sauce at home? I’d be happy to hear your favourite recipes!

30 thoughts on “Peas and berries the Mexican way [Chickpeas in Blueberry Chocolate Mole]

  1. Emily says:

    Ooooh…you’re SO right! Cauliflower “rice” is much more similar to cous-cous. It’s delicious all the same though!
    My favorite mexican dishes (when I go out to eat) are definitely taco salads without the meat or vegetable fajitas! But when I’m cooking at home I’m alllll about bean & cheese burritos and quesadillas. Simple and yummy!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      But … it’s chocolate. How could that not work :D?! Actually, though, I understand how you feel but I promise it works amazingly in this recipe. Give it a try if you’re feeling adventurous.

  2. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I’ve never made a mole sauce before, but dried blueberries are my absolute favorite! So this DEFINITELY has to happen! And I was JUST telling Megan today that it’s been TOO long since I’ve had some cauliflower!! Great timing for this post…you know since I’m reading it a week later! 😉

Leave a Reply

