Weekends are for …

Hi and happy first Monday in October!

I wasn’t going to be that obvious and say it but … how are we one week into October already?! Didn’t we just ease into September still trying to pretend Summer had yet to end? Well, I guess it’s time to stop ignoring the signs of Fall and embrace the season with all its side actions but also lots of things to like. Some quite marvelous things indeed that I’m sure our amazing host approves of. Thanks for reminding us to start the week off with a smile, Katie!

MiMM_new

Weekends are for …

Autumn walk_October

… walks with friends on a surprisingly warm October day. Unless it’s raining cats and dogs we always meet up for a little [or a little longer] stroll outside. Soaking up the sunshine, walking and talking are the components for a perfect catch-up in my opinion.

Weekends are for …

Apple

… kitchen experiments. Trying to keep up my September goal in October, too, I’m enjoying to switch up my meals and create my own recipes. Something I previously shied away from because I was afraid of ideas turning out wrong and me wasting calories on food I didn’t enjoy. Looking back at some of my first posts I see meals created with too much fear and lacking in taste. But the more I allow myself to stop measuring every ingredient and go with the flow the better the outcome. Definitely recipes worth sharing.

Weekends are for …

Farmers' Market

… visiting the Farmers’ Market. A country bumpkin at heart still I can’t miss out on any chance to get farm-fresh produce that tastes a million times better than anything offered at supermarkets. Stocking up on fall produce and the last of summer’s bounty is a necessity whenever I have the time to go. What I especially enjoy about Farmers’ Markets is getting to know the people behind the food I eat and have a chat with them. Why yes, I’m the person who lets the vendor tell her about the whereabouts of his blueberries only to anxiously ask how long he thinks he’ll still have some for her. [Please keep your fingers crossed for another week of the best sweetest berries ever for me.]

And … weekends are for

meeting potential new roommates. My current one is about to move out at the end of the month and I had a number of candidates visit to look at the room and chat for a bit. Admittedly, I wasn’t too keen on sharing a flat anymore after my previous roommate experiences. Believe me, there would be some stories to tell … After getting to know all these sympathetic, fun and open-minded girls, though, I think I might change my mind again. If only I didn’t have such a hard time picking just one of them now … A decision I won’t get around making this week. But for now:

Happy Monday!

Happiness inducing today: My mum mailing me to say thanks for the letter I mailed her and making a fun suggestion for a little mum-and-daughter project.  A first letter-writing success :).

 

Tell me: Weekends are made for …

Do you regularly visit Farmers’ Markets? What are you must-buys?

Any ideas on how to make the decision for a roommate easier ;)? If only I had more than one spare room …

 

 

10 thoughts on “Weekends are for …

  1. Amy @ The Little Honey Bee says:

    Looks like a wonderful trip to the farmer’s market! I love that you are going to start making more of your own recipes and not worry as much… that’s so great. As for the room-mates (I have my share of roomie horror stories) can you ask which one will be the best/most willing taste tester?!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Will you believe I actually tried to somehow find out their willingness to try my baked goods ;)? In a non-creepy way, obviously. But the random mention of my fondness of baking was well received by most of them so it’s still hard to decide.

  2. Ksenija @ Health Ninja says:

    Oh I love the way you spend your weekends. Somehow I haven’t been to a farmers market in months and I miss it so much. I should definitely make some time for this soon – though I am pretty happy to go apple picking with my mom next weekend and hope that the farm also offers a variety of vegetables and other fresh produce.

  3. Lucie@FitSwissChick says:

    Your pics look beautiful! So fall-y! I LOVE farmers markets and I go whenever I can. At the moment, it’s kabocha I am looking out for – of course 🙂 But I am also thrilled that they still sell berries. Hope this does not end too soon!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Fingers crossed for both of us being able to get more berries still :). Unfortunately, I have yet to find kabocha at Farmers’ Markets around here though I really need to stock up. Obviously ;).

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Weekends definitely are for procrastinating. Don’t you start over-studying – just think of your last fried brain shenanigans. I vote for you procrastinating a bit more – though Rice Crispy Bites would be the best fried brain confusion outcome possible :).
      Oh well, I could in fact tell you that both Lidl and Aldi are further away from my apartment than the weekly Farmers’ Market. Because else I’d obviously not visit the latter ;).

  4. Emily says:

    I’m right there with you on the roommate struggles. I would LOVE to be able to live by myself but, unfortunately, that doesn’t fit into my budget right now (especially with how expensive LA is). Thankfully things aren’t horrible with my roommate…we’re just very, very different. I hope you find someone that you get along with!
    And isn’t it amazing how much more enjoyable food is when you use flavorful, real ingredients and stop stressing about calories/fat content/etc.? Not to mention, it leaves you feeling WAY more satisfied. (:

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s the same for me. Living on my own – at least in my current apartment – wouldn’t work with my budget, either. Generally I like the idea of having a roommate yet my past ones made me change my opinion slightly. But I’m optimistic this time :).

Leave a Reply

