Going for the goals [October]

Where did time go? I swear we must have skipped a few weeks or at least days because it can’t be almost mid-October already. Right …? Not to whine about the weather or winter approaching faster than we know it – at least not today. But I’d been meaning to post my goals for the month earlier today and … well. Better late than never, right?

Going for the goals

Let’s see how I did with last month’s goals first:

Get more sleep: Woops. I don’t like admitting it but: no, not really. I’ll get to the reasons and my plan to work against them in a minute.

Dry brush every day: Check! It’s all kinds of amazing and I don’t see myself give up on it again anytime soon. Not only did it help me wake up in the morning but my skin is now smoother than ever and (!) my blood circulation improved noticably. I’ve had troubles with that before and it’s a lot better already. Definitely something I can recommend and it doesn’t take much time at all.

Read at least two books: No. I tried but even though I got a pile of different books from the library none really caught my interest. Two chapters in this one, four from another – altogether I might have read a read a whole book in total but didn’t find the one. Quite disappoting when you can’t find a good one but I just started The Book Thief and that seems quite promising already.

Write surprise letters: Check! This one was my favourite. Once I’d gotten the hang of it again it was just amazing. Dare I even say it’s addictive? Fingers crossed I’ll get replies from the people I wrote. In fact, I’ve decided to keep up this goal during the months to come. My only trouble was that I didn’t even have the addresses of some people I wanted to write – and some of them might be reading this :). Let’s just say that some letters might still be on their way –Β  a few thousand miles aren’t a day’s journey.

Get more creative in the kitchen: Yes! I stopped counting but I’m rather sure I managed to try at least four new recipes a week and came up with some of my own. Another goal I want to keep up in October.

 

My goals for October

 

[Finally] get more sleep

Sheep_September

After failing on this in September I really need to make more of an effort. The key to this one will definitely be unplugging before bed. Reading blogs or writing posts late at night is not a good idea. This is going to be a huge goal so I’d be happy already if I managed to shut down the laptop earlier most nights. Baby steps ;).

Become more mindful of my snacking

As much as I enjoy snacking it has gotten out of control lately. While I can go without snacks for a while throughout the day my evenings are snackceptional in a bad way. If I was actually ‘hungry’ for a snack: okay. But more often than not I find myself munching non-stop even if I think I don’t need it. Basically, I want to eat more intuitively again.

Set up a [blogging] schedule

Not only to prevent happenings like today’s delayed goal post but for life in general, too. Ironically, having more time at the moment does not result in me getting more done – even though I’m usually a planner. Quite the opposite because there’s always still ‘tomorrow’ to get things done. I’m not happy with this and want to become more productive in all areas of life. Blogging will be one part of this in terms of spending less time doing it but keeping up a regular schedule.

Do the Photo A Day challenge.

I’m sure many of you will have heard of this before. I’ve been meaning to take part in it forever but somehow never managed to stick with it for a whole month. I’m off to a good start already and will randomly throw in a collage of pictures in my posts to keep myself accountable.

Fingers crossed for my October goals to work out better than last month’s!

Happy Friday to all of you!

Happiness inducing today: An amazing run outside.

Bloggers: How do you manage your blogging schedule? I could really use some advice on how to work out this one.

Do you have any goals for October?

Any other over-snackers? Tips of how to be more mindful?

10 thoughts on “Going for the goals [October]

  1. catfoodisgoodforyou says:

    I love the write a surprise letter goal! It’s also a great excuse to buy cute stationery πŸ˜‰ I set up a blogging schedule last week funnily enough, it’s basically all on my google cal which I sync with my phone… Boring but its nice having every ‘to do’ in one place!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      When I was a child I bought lots of stationery that went unused because I deemed it too pretty to send. These days, however, I find it pretty much impossible to find any ‘grown-up’ stationery. I’ve been on a constant search for the past two+ years and really wanted to buy some for my goal last month but – nothing. In the end I hope the receipients mind the words not the less-than-exciting paper :).

  2. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Probably not the best for giving blogging schedule advice since lately I’ve been all over the place! They say you should try to be consistent so post on the same days every week, but let’s me honest, life happens and posting regularly just isn’t an option!

    I really need to work on my sleep. Aka why am I on the computer at 5:50 AM right now when I should be sleeping? I also need to work on cutting myself some slack πŸ˜‰

    If you have any free time I certainly wouldn’t complain if you wanted to send me a surprise letter πŸ˜‰

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “Let’s be honest, life happens and posting regularly just isn’t an option” <- True. I'd really like to figure out a way to post more regularly but it might just not work [at all times].
      About the letter: I have noooo idea what you mean ;).

  3. emskiruns says:

    I’m definitely an over snacker so feel your pain there. I am trying to curb it at the moment – I have stocked my desk with healthy snacks like nuts & nakd bars and I take fruit and yogurt to work most days.
    Sheep looks super cute and snuggly πŸ™‚
    Good luck with this months goals and as I am doing a few too I will be struggling along with you. Looking forward to hearing your progress x

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks! It’s not even necessarily unhealthy snacking but generally eating too mindlessly. Most often while sitting at my laptop. Main meals are never eaten at the computer but snacks are a whole different story. I hope I’ll be able to change my habits. Good luck for you goals as well!

  4. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    Ohhhhhhhhmaaaaaaagossssssssh!!! I just opened my mail from where I was gone on vacation and I got your letter! And THEN? Then I realized I hadn’t checked my email today and got your email! And NOW? Now I’m about to tears because I love you so freaking much! Ok, so maybe I’m a little extra emotional today because I’m running on three hours of sleep (obviously you have my support with that goal…do me a favor and sleep a little more for me, would ya?), but still…I am so incredibly touched to be included on your list of surprise letters! I’ve always wanted a snail mail pen pal! Now I’m gonna have to go raid my stationary and sticker collection…maybe break out the glitter pens? Haha! But seriously, MP, you just made my day! xoxo

    As for your questions…I’m a total scatter-brained nutcase when it comes to blogging. So let ME know of any and all tips you find for making it more stream-lined! I was doing great last week, with all my pre-published posts set to go live at 5am…then I snapped back to reality and was typing all the way up to publish time Monday morning…at 6:30am! I know it’s kind of important to be consistent, but geez, life (and work…you know since I’m maybe kinda sorta blogging while on the clock) gets kind of crazy sometimes! I’m just glad I’m not planning on posting today, because I’ve been going non-stop for my entire shift until just now! I’m not usually one for setting goals (mainly because it just tends to give me one MORE thing to stress out about and try to be perfect at…I know you know what I’m talking about), but I joined this little challenge called Octoblog to help motivate me to update the ol’ blog and I have to say I’m making some good headway. Been sprucing up old posts, transferring recipes to my Recipage tab, and reorganizing things on the main page so it’s more user friendly/eye-pleasing. I probably won’t be done with all the recipe transferring by the end of the month, but my main goal is to update my “About Me” section…since I haven’t touched it in almost THREE YEARS! Oops? And finally, I totally feel you on the over-snacker thing right now. Since coming back from Cleveland, I can’t seem to get a handle on it. And now that I’m having trouble adjusting back to my zombie sleep schedule, it’s even worse! Say a little prayer (or whatever you do) my way in a few hours so hopefully I can get a solid amount of sleep today! πŸ™‚

    Ok, novel of a comment….DONE! Off to catch up on your other posts! I spy a certain savory bread pudding with my name written ALL over it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

