Breakfast October 004

Beware of the hangry blogger

Once upon a time .. okay, a while ago – before I had even thought of starting a blog myself – I noticed several bloggers [but cannot remember which – was it you, too?] not only posting their meals for WIAW but showing the aftermath [empty plates and muffin liners], too. I’m all up for variations on What I ate Wednesday so I just had to pick up this fun [to me at least] idea that I saw at another blog quite some time ago. Not only will you see the meal as I start it but also the remainders as in: the aftermath of a hangry blogger. Let’s get from start to finish [of my meals] at this week’s party. Thanks for being a wonderful hostess once more, Jenn!

WIAW_halloween button

If you read my last WIAW you’ll know I talked about some progress I made but also noted I was still not there. One of the main struggles I have in terms of meals is breakfast. Yes, everybody’s favourite meal. Just not mine. When I wake up there have been only a few options I’ll decide between for months. Safe options that – while delicious – for the most part need to fit the criteria of holding me over for a while. Let’s just say that breakfast hasn’t been the time for changes and experimentation. Until Monday …

Breakfast October 004

Pancakes? Me? Nah, they won’t saturate or satisfy me at all ony leading to constant snacking right after breakfast: my exact thoughts before. But waking up yesterday I didn’t feel much of an appetite at all. Former [read: a year or so ago] me would have taken this as an invitation of skipping the first meal of the day altogether. Now, though, with a healthier attitude I finally decided enough was enough and to not just have breakfast like usually but try something new. Maybe it was daringness or I just couldn’t resist anymore after Heather posted another awesome looking pancake recipe. But after some veganizing and ingredient subbing action [get on board with the canned pumpkin already, Germany!] I’m glad I did. Not only did I conquer another fear meal [breakfast] and food [pancakes] but it showed me once more that many fears are needless. No, I did not suddenly turn into a fluffy pancake nor was I hungry immediately afterwards. Sorry, though, to all pancake fiends out there [as in: basically the whole blog world]: I’m still not a convert. These were nice for a change but I’ll continue my search for the perfect all-year/non-kabocha breakfast.

PancakesIn previous days suchΒ  breakfast changes [note: there were twice as many pancakes and almond butter joined the party after the camera had left the site of crime ;)] would have required cutting back at other meals and in no way trying something new for lunch, too. Sticking with this old habit, however, would have made my breakfast challenge seem incomplete. Also, I had a few cravings that I wanted to turn into a recipe. Enter twice-baked spaghetti squash with [vegan] Pepperjack cheese.

Twice-baked

Believe me I’m just doing you a favour in not showing the aftermath of lunch. The delicate squash shell was victim to some not so pretty cracking apart. Another blogger-inspired meal, by the way. Thanks to Amy for inspring me to give spaghetti squash another try. In between last week’s spaghetti squash casserole and this dish I’ve discovered a new-found appreciation of this pasta-like member of the pumpkin family.

Nothing could stop me from snacking, either. While I’ve been feeling the need for a change sometime soon, truffles have still made an appearance. Along with numerous other random nibbles, bites and – obviously – dinner. Somehow, though, I always end up losing the motivation to take pictures of every single morsel that ends up in my mouth throughout the day. Maybe sometime in the future …

Truffles

Maybe some of you feel like joining the ’empty plate’ edition next week? And does anybody happen to know who started the trend?

Questions upon questions but for now:

Happy Wednesday!

Happiness inducing today: Once more the wonderfully sunny autumn weather.

*One more note: Sorry for not keeping up with replying to your comments on my last posts. I’m currently not at my place and promise I’ll get back to them once I’m back!

Inspire me: what are your favourite chocolatey snacks? I’m not a fan of dried fruit/nut balls but any ideas aside from those would be awesome.

What is your favourite meal of the day and the best dish you had for that meal recently?

And the random question of the day [because Sunday clearly wasn’t the right time to ask]: Do you make your own nut butters? Which food processor do you use? I’ve been pondering the purchase of a Vitamix for ages and feel like it’s time for a decision.

40 thoughts on “Beware of the hangry blogger

  1. Juli says:

    I love to do my own cashew butter and hazelnut butter because they are so darn expensive. I am not doing pb because it’s quite cheap. The one I buy regularly is Rapunzels 4-nuts butter. Too good! Have you ever tried it? I use the Thermomix. It works phantastic but its’s horribly expensive!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ouch … the Thermomix seems to be even more expensive than the Vitamix!? But if it works great than I guess it’s probably worth the money though not in my budget.
      Don’t hate me but I bought the four-nut butter on special offer recently and I’m not impressed. It’s not bad but I found the peanut taste to overpower the other nuts’ flavour and won’t be buying it again.

  2. alex@vegginout says:

    Yep, I’m one of those people who favors breakfast over all meals (though I do genuinely love every meal!). πŸ™‚ I have so many favorite breakfast foods though… oatmeal with peanut butter and pretzels, greek yogurt waffles, banana pancakes… overall, I just prefer something sweet!
    My favorite chocolate snack is straight up chocolate bars. πŸ˜› Those truffles look delicious though! I obviously missed it… where’s the recipe? If they’re dorm friendly, I might just have to try them sometime!
    And I’m lazy and usually just buy nut butter. I’ve made a few homemade ones though, and they were awesome, so I should do it again! And then I can go crazy with the flavors!! πŸ˜‰

  3. Davida @The Healthy Maven says:

    Cute post. My plates usually look like a rabid animal got to them!

    I would give you a suggestion for chocolate recipes but gasp I don’t LOVE chocolate. I like it but I’m the opposite of you and will always go for dried fruit and nuts over chocolate πŸ˜‰

    Wouldn’t suggest buying a vitamix for nut butters. I don’t own one but my sister does and it’s a pain in the ass to clean. Definitely a great blender but if you’re looking to make nut butters I would recommend getting a cuisinart food processor instead. Equally as powerful and way easier to clean. Not the best for making smoothies though which is a downside.

  4. catfoodisgoodforyou says:

    I can totally relate to the pancake let down-as much as I enjoy them, they never rock my socks as much as I expect. Maybe a new recipe is needed… As for chocolate fixes, I’ve been whipping up a lot of hot chocs recently, and you can’t go wrong with a homemade cookie… Funnily I’m also in the blender market so I’m not much help! Been eyeing up Duronix brand though πŸ™‚

  5. Kaitlin says:

    I love putting a frozen banana and cocoa powder in a blender to make froyo πŸ™‚ I’ve tried to make nut butter but always seem to miss an ingredient or step as it never turns out as planned

  6. Emily says:

    Oooh…I totally remember when bloggers did that way back when! Have we really been reading blogs for that long?? Guilty. (:
    Everything looks delicious- especially those truffles!

  7. Leigha says:

    Typical blogger. Breakfast is my favorite meal! It’s pretty much always overnight oats or pb&banana toast. GREAT JOB on eating pancakes. I understand what you mean about finishing a challenge! This is the first time I’ve come to your blog, and I really like it! πŸ˜€

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Pumpkin pancakes sound good. I’d have gone that route, too, but we don’t have canned pumpkin over here and with it being a spontanous decision I couldn’t prepare any myself, either.

  8. Health, Love, and Chocolate says:

    I love seeing the aftermath of meals, such a good idea for a post! I know so may bloggers made Heather’s pancakes last week and raved about them, so I have no doubt they were amazing. And spaghetti squash is one of my currents obsessions because there are just so many options when preparing it.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Give Heather’s pancakes a try if you like the peanut + pumpkin combination. I had to sub applesauce for the pumpkin and they still turned out delicious.
      And yes, spaghetti squash is really versatile. Hope I can get my hands on another one today.

  9. Melody says:

    Hello there πŸ™‚ you should try Jamie Oliver’s basic pancake recipe he tweeted (google it its delicious!) he gave ingredients and direction in one tweet πŸ™‚ I’m thinking it might be an awesome recipe to convert you to pancake- you could use vegan milk and oh the eggs- gosh um maybe you could use flax replacement? Or if you are willing to use organic eggs (I know you do dairy sometimes) maybe try it! They are so fluffy and gorgeous and not that yours don’t look beautiful but I think they beat yours in looks too. May I ask- I’m not Trying to be mean, but what are you afraid of when you mentions these fears? What is it you are afraid of happening? I’ve never been through what you have so im just trying to understand. I also understand if this is to personal to share. Sorry for the novel just found your blog through running with spoos πŸ™‚

  10. swissfitchick says:

    That Spaghetti Squash dish looks so good! Such a great idea!
    I am in love with my eggy oats, but I never turn down the option of having pancakes. Though I need some time to cook and eat them, so I always end up making them on weekends.
    I have a Magic Bullet, but I did not dare to make nutbutter so far, I am so scared I am going to kill it!

  11. Amelia says:

    You go girl πŸ™‚ sorry they didn’t convince you in the pancake front- they look marvellous anyways. Keep trying new things gorgeous girl πŸ™‚ xo

  12. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says:

    I know I still owe you an email, and I promise to get that to you by tomorrow at the latest, but I just have to tell you now how PROUD I am of you! These are big changeS…yes with a capital S! I know how hard it is to switch things up from the routine of comfort so to see you do it for two meals in one day? It’s just flippin’ awesome! YOU’RE AWESOME! Though I will say the fact that one of those changes involve MY pancakes does kinda may make me a bit biased! πŸ˜‰

    As for the chocolate, how about making some homemade nut butter cups? Basically, just coconut oil and cocoa powder with a little sweetener poured into a mold with your favorite nut butter in the middle! I’ve been meaning to make some for a while now but keep forgetting!

    And seriously, unless you want to make smoothies and grind your own flours everyday, I say save your pennies and buy a standard food processor instead of a Vita! I’ve said for years that I’d love to have one, but I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way that’s going to happen is if it magically appears in my kitchen…for FREE! Lol

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Awwrr, you’re exaggerating but thanks in anyway. And really, could I have used any other pancake recipe than one [inspired] by the pancake queen herself to get started :)?!
      For free – you might be onto something by saying that about the Vitamix … Not like my parents would ever buy me one. I’d go with a food processor but we don’t really have the choice of brands you have in the US over here. Cuisinart seems to be the most popular but I’ve never seen it in stores though Amazon has one or two. Which do you own?

  13. Julie @ A Warrior and A Nurse says:

    I sometimes find it difficult to dive into breakfast as well. I think a great thing about making food is that it can become a bit of a hobby like painting or making music. The actual feeling of hunger is small in the morning for me, but the desire to make something that looks good to my eyes can be pretty strong. So, I start making something, then all the good smells start hitting my nose. Then I start becoming hungry and getting out of the unhealthy desire to not eat in the morning. A good breakfast really is a great start to the day, and I feel better and have more energy when I eat enough in the morning.

    As for my favorite meal of the day, it’s definitely dinner (and desert that comes after it). Mostly because I get to see my hubby then and relax with him. Honestly, a meal we both enjoy is simple: tacos, some wine, and together time. We just had a baby recently as well, so it’s hard to really keep up with crazy amounts of cooking like I used to!

Leave a Reply

